We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luna Palace-Is Far from a Palace!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luna Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Dallas, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Luna Palace-Is Far from a Palace!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Luna Palace Mazatlan Aug. 21-28
Luna Palace has potential and good hearted staff but it needs some owner improvements before it can call itself a Palace! Think Comfort Suits at its best with exceptional food.
Great price! 8-Days for Under $270.00 USD. I could not pass up. So I took a chance and was modestly surprised on my over all experience. The Hotel like many in Mexico destinations boasts that they have wireless internet on the entire property. Truth is that many do not offer wireless or inet-cable in the room. This is a large drawback to guests that travel and check in with home etc…Believe me I know we come to destinations like Mazatlan to relax but in this 21st century it is now essential to have that web at our finger tips for many reasons. It’s never a good thing when guests are driven out from room comforts to access the web poolside or at a café, especially if it’s raining. This simply leaves a poor impression on the facilities. The in room phones are also behind the times and lack many features that you may be accustom to.
The rooms are large and have a kitchen and living area plus bed and balcony. The security was lax and evident by the fact that maintenance had to repair my room entry door so that it would close, and reset the safe so that I may use it. Also the balcony’s sliding door lock was not incredibly secure and could easily be jarred open. These are simple things that this property owner needs to address. An easy fix for this property to make and I do not understand how they look past these things. After the maintenance man repaired my door and safe felt a little better but still uneasy. A couple other important things to be aware of is that the kitchen utensils are locked up and inventoried so guests will have to have housekeeping unlock, count and have you sign an agreement that everything is there before you can use the items. They provide a blender, flat ware, plate ware, toaster, cooking tools, 3 pots and pans, 2-burner stove electric, coffee maker (no filters) medium size fridge (needs to be plugged in once you get into the room) and a microwave. Make sure that the pillow cases and sheets get changed day to day because I think they are taking short cuts and trying to save costs by looking past this expected service from housekeeping. Views are great from every room. Balconies are very large. There is a lot of upside in having a large suite with ocean view and at no additional cost. Sky TV worked great. Don’t expect flat screens here but at least the TV’s get a great picture and lots of channels that work. They will provide you with the remote at check in. Don’t forget to turn it in with your towel at check out.
The property has only one elevator (with no A/C) and no service elevator so if you’re in a hurry-don’t be because the workers and guests are packing the elevator and stopping at every floor. Good thing-only 8 floors and wide staircases. The pool is small but who cares because the hotel is located on an excellent beach and AWSOME SUNSETS. Take a left going down to the the beach and less than 100 yards is a restaurant that you can relax at, get a great dinner, drink and watch the sun set. The Luna Palace‘s food is above average low cost and always served hot and on time with tentative table and room service. Over all property surroundings are clean, safe and well kept up. Security on site is very visible but like any hotel/resort can be compromised.
If you want Golf or Tennis just walk down to EL Cid Resort and for $30 usd get one hour of tennis lessons with a pro. Or play golf but you do not have to be staying at El Cid to use their facilities and they always welcome guests. Best thing about the Luna Palace is the location-Advantage Luna Palace! Luna Palace is close to the New Marina (5 minutes), $10usd ride to old down town, and great beaches. And the Staff at the Luna Palace is excellent under the circumstances they are provided with.

At the end of the day….Luna Palace is a victim of what seems to be poor upper level management misappropriating its money elsewhere in less needed areas of the hotel/resort. This is evident at this property. I see that they spend a lot of resources on teams selling time shares but lack the attention to the important details of guest safety, communication and updated linens.
Additional info for those traveling to Mazatlan:


AA Customer Service,
Please take the following suggestions to your customers while traveling to Mazatlan Mexico.
1. When entering into Mazatlan airport and passing through customs; Do not throw any paper work away. Beside your Pass Port-Keep your baggage tickets, boarding pass stub, and most importantly all customs immigration forms you filled out. You will need these when you depart Mazatlan. When departing they will ask you for these things. Their explanation is all airports in Mexico have different rules and you must abide by them.
2. NOTE: If you brought a Fishing Rod that is packed in a rod holder case, pool cue or a Tennis Racket; you will not be able to bring it back on board when returning from Mazatlan. Even thou you may have brought it on board coming into the country via American Airlines. You will not be able to bring it back on board when returning from Mazatlan. If you refuse to abide by this you will risk that item being confiscated while passing through the security check point. The Mazatlan American Airlines employee at the counter explained that it would not pass security and quote:“if security takes it then they cannot help me get it back “. I would have to check it on as luggage. Additionally if you have already checked one bag then you will pay an extra fee for the Fishing Rod, pool Cue or Tennis Racket. I have traveled to several Mexican destinations such as Puerto Vallarta, Cabo etc… and NEVER encountered this.
3. Pack extra plastic bags. Because while it is forbid to bring liquids over 3oz. Policy is that all of them must fit in a quart size bag. Mazatlan Airport Security wants all liquids be in a plastic bag no matter what! That’s right they pulled all my liquid items and said these must be in a plastic bag. So I found a gallon size bag that I had by chance and threw it all in that. I could not believe it! One of the liquid items was in fact over 3oz. but the security agent did not care as long as it all was in a clear plastic bag.
4. 3-Security checks before you leave Mazatlan. You will pass through security and have your bags checks 3-separate times. Once at the airline ticket counter. Second time going to the gate. And a third and last time prior to boarding the plane.
5. Despite all experiences traveling through foreign counties securities and reading all the customs rights and duties forms, be warned that the Mazatlan Airport has the most misguided and retarded security rules.

Room Tip: Best time to visit and get low prices is when school starts Aug-Sep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    65
    37
    18
    41
See reviews for
128
88
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sask, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This has only been our 2nd time at the Luna Palace in Mazatlan. But we felt like we had been there many times. We had a one bedroom and it was very bright and clean. The maid service was excellent. Also the front staff at the desk were excellent also. If we left the hotel for the evening and we got calls as soon as we retuned they told us we had recived calls and gave us our messages. We had brunch on Sunday a couple of times and it was fine. The waiters would bring us what ever we wanted. And the price was only about $ 9.00- 10.00 canadian. The pool area very well kept up. Do not under stand why people do not like it here. Very quite and relaxing stay there. Can not find one bad thing to say about our stay at the Luna Place. Look forward to being there again next year

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe1086, General Manager at Luna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Dear Sask_canadaDeb
Hello!
My name is Fermìn Trucìos and Iam the General Manager for Luna Palace Hotel-
I know some time has passed since your vacation at our property , but I did not want to lose the opportunity to give you our most sincere thank you for your comments, it is a pleasure to know we did our job , fullfilled our guests expectations and they can go back home feeling good about their experience and vacation.
We are very glad you found our accomodations up to your expectations in all senses, meaning installations and service wise, there is nothing more important for us that our beloved guests.
It is great to know you are planning to come and visit us again, it will be a great honor to serve you and your family next Winter.
With Respect
Fermìn Trucìos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We wish to share our great vacation with the friendly people at Luna Palace, at the desk, the housekeeper maid, the restaurant & pool bar, the maintenance crew & gardener, & the Manager, who were all so cheerful and helpful. Rooms are very comfortable with thick new mattresses, clean bathrooms and showers, well-supplied kitchenettes, with fridges & coffeemakers, etc. The balconies are very safe, (solid-sided rather than the kind our kids could climb). Large heated pool has 3 depths, safe fun for all ages. Wireless Internet & lobby telephone takes phone cards available at stores. This hotel usually quiet at night, but nightlife is certainly close by. Beachfront and area just to the north is best beach for walking, running and swimming. On the street side, it is a safe, great neighborhood, with many restaurants & cafes (some with live music), small grocery stores, money changers, laundry, and various other little shops. We hope to go back soon to visit our many Mexican Amigoes.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe1086, General Manager at Luna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Dear Rouw
Hello!
My name is Fermìn Trucìos and Iam the General Manager for Luna Palace Hotel.
First of all my sincere apology to answer your great review of Luna Palace at this time , since some time has passed by, but I did not want to let pass the opportunity to give you our most sincere Thank You for your comments.
On behalf of all our staff whom you mentioned on your review our most sincere gratitude for your kindness, it is always a great satisfaction to know we have served our beloved guests the way they deserve, and to know that they go home with a great experience.
Your description of Luna Palace is great, since our property has been totally remodelated ,and we do have all the services you mentioned on your review, again thank you!
Yes, Luna Palace is located in the center of most of the entertainment area in Mazatlan , known as Golden Zone and where most of the action takes place for a great vacation.
Once again our gratitude for your comments and we are looking forward to the opportunity to serve you and your family again in the near future .
With Respect
Fermìn Trucpios .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at the Luna Palace. It was a smaller older hotel, very quaint. The rooms are large and have been remodelled and continuing to be upgraded. It was a delight to have 2 bathrooms. The Service we had was wonderful. Our maid (Gloria) was excellent and she was very accomadating. She worked around our schedule and did a professional job. Thanks to Jesus and Rosario for all they did to make our stay pleasant. Despite rumors that Mazatlan isn't very safe, we felt very safe at the Luna Palace. The pool was heated which was wonderful as the ocean was colder than normal. Thank you to the staff and General Manager who made it very easy to decide to book next year for an extra week. See you in 2012.....Robert & Sonia....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe1086, Manager at Luna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Dear MOvrnshakr.
Hello!
My name is Fermìn Trucìos and I am the General Manager for Luna Palace .
First of all my sincere apology because some time has passed since your wonderful review, and I did not want to let more time pass before I give you our comments .
How great it is to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Luna Palace, because this means we have done our job of serving our beloved guests and they not only went home happy about their stay , but they are planning to come back and visit us again.
On behalf of all our staff our sincere Thank You for your comments, and I surely agree that Gloria , Jesus and Rosario are extremely accomodating and very service oriented people , I will give them your comments , and Iam sure they will feel very happy.
As you mentioned , Luna Palace has been totally remodelated and will always try to keep upgrading our installations , and training to make sure we satisfy our beloved guests expectations.
Thank You very much again for your comments , and we are looking forward to serve you again next year, it will be an honor.
With Respect
Fermìn Trucìos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

The rooms are clean spacious and well appointed with great ocean views. Swim up bar service wasinteresting with wonderful service at reasonable prices. Impressed by welcome refreshments while we were getting registered. Good location to wander the nearby shops and restaurants. Only negative is that the nice soft sandy beach does not extend very far out into the water before the rocks show up.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe1086, Manager at Luna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Dear Gerryblanchette
Hello!
My name is Fermìn Trucìos and Iam the General Manager for Luna Palace Hotel.
First of all my sincere apology for taking this time to answer your review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Luna, to find out you liked your accomodations and the beautiful ocean view to enjoy the sunsets( which I hope you had that pleasure).
Very glad to know that you enjoy our swim up bar the service and attention you receive from our staff, there is nothing more important for us than our beloved guests and make sure they are happy, and go back home feeling good about their vacation.
As you mentioned Luna Palace has a great location right in the center of the Golden Zone where most of the entertainment is happening in our town.
Sorry to hear about the situation on the beach , but above all as you experienced ,it is a a safe and quiet place to enjoy.
Once again , thank you very much for your comments, and we are looking forward to serve you again in the near future, it will be a great pleasure.
With Respect
Fermìn Trucìos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridger, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

had read so many mixed reviews before we went, but our stay was fantastic! it was very clean and the grounds well maintained. great location and beach, and the weather even cooperated. the only drawback for us was having all the dishes locked in the cupboard and a staff that could not understand us--next time we will know to ask, as they evidentally have to do "inventory" before you can use the dishes. we felt safe here and did go on a bus trip to Copala, which we would recomment everyone to do. both of us hated all the hustlers trying to get you to buy into a condo, the only negative part of the trip. people were very friendly otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe1086, Manager at Luna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Dear twofishys
Hello!
My name is Fermìn Trucìos and I am the General Manager of Hotel Luna Palace.
First of all my sincere apology for the time that has passed since you visited Mazatlàn and Luna Palace.
I read your review with much interest and would like to make the following comments.
It is always great to hear that your stay was fantastic , there is nothing more important for us than the satisfaction of the expectations of our beloved guests and knowing they go back home happy about their vacation.
Thank you for letting us know we have to keep working on the understanding of the English language in our staff, without a doubt one of our biggest challenges, but we are constantly working on this issue , and we are thinking we may have to have an English teacher on the premises, we still have to work on this issue, thank you for your comment.
I am very glad to know you enjoy your trip to Copala which is a Magic Town , and one of the attractions in our city.
Luna Palace as you mentioned has a great location and one of the safest beaches in Mazatlan, glad to know you enjoy your leisure time there.
Once again, thank you very much for all your comments, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you in the near future , it will be a great pleasure.
With Respect
Fermìn Trucìos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Luna Palace for 2 weeks. We had read the reviews before we booked the trip so we knew there were good and bad points but decided to take a chance. The Luna is an older hotel complex and it was being renovated while we were there and the workmen tried thier best not to inconvenience the guests. The hotel tends to cater to an older crowd at least they were when we stayed there. Many of the guests we met there had been going there for many years. Since we were there during Spring Break I kind of anticipated that there would be a bit of noise but it was very quiet and peaceful. The hell raisers were all at the Oceano Palace and El Cid.
We had a 1 bedroom suite on the third floor and while it was dated and really in need of more than a few upgrades it was clean and the king size bed was quite comfortable. We had 2 complete bathrooms with plenty of hot water everyday. The kitchen and living room were clean and servicable just very old.
The staff at the hotel were great for the most part. We had terriffic maid service each day and we tipped our maid a couple of bucks each day. Any maintenance issues we had during the day were dealt with in short order. Let's face it, if you have a complaint at 11:00 at night don't expect them to get a maintenance man out there until the next day. These people have lives too.
The pool area was very nice and keep very clean. The beach outside the hotel was the nicest on the strip. The hotel has quite a nice restaurant and we had dinner there a few times. The food was great and the service fantastic. There was a young woman promoting time share memberships like at every hotel in Mexico but she was very polite and helpful even though we were not going to buy. We chose to sit through the presentation because that's how she earned her living. We said no and stuck to our guns, it was over in 45 minutes and we walked away with a couple of nice serapes and a big bottle of Kaluha for sitting through it. It was painless and we were never bothered by them again.
We had to run the gauntlet of time share hucksters when we went out along the strip but we have to do that when we go to Las Vegas too so what's the big deal.
There were several great restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel.
Heather's - a great place for breakfast for $5.00 or less
The Place - great nachos and cold beer.
Fat Fish - great rib dinner for about $8.00.
The Breuhaus in Ceritos Point - a fabulous meal and great ambiance.

I think I would take a chance on the Luna again but I'll probably wait till they finish renovating.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Palace Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Palace Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Luna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Palace Resort All Inclusive
Luna Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.