We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Luna Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Palace Hotel / Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Palace Hotel / Suites to your Saves list
Luna Palace Hotel / Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Sask, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Luna Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This has only been our 2nd time at the Luna Palace in Mazatlan. But we felt like we had been there many times. We had a one bedroom and it was very bright and clean. The maid service was excellent. Also the front staff at the desk were excellent also. If we left the hotel for the evening and we got calls as soon as we retuned they told us we had recived calls and gave us our messages. We had brunch on Sunday a couple of times and it was fine. The waiters would bring us what ever we wanted. And the price was only about $ 9.00- 10.00 canadian. The pool area very well kept up. Do not under stand why people do not like it here. Very quite and relaxing stay there. Can not find one bad thing to say about our stay at the Luna Place. Look forward to being there again next year

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe1086, General Manager at Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Dear Sask_canadaDeb
Hello!
My name is Fermìn Trucìos and Iam the General Manager for Luna Palace Hotel-
I know some time has passed since your vacation at our property , but I did not want to lose the opportunity to give you our most sincere thank you for your comments, it is a pleasure to know we did our job , fullfilled our guests expectations and they can go back home feeling good about their experience and vacation.
We are very glad you found our accomodations up to your expectations in all senses, meaning installations and service wise, there is nothing more important for us that our beloved guests.
It is great to know you are planning to come and visit us again, it will be a great honor to serve you and your family next Winter.
With Respect
Fermìn Trucìos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    68
    39
    19
    41
See reviews for
130
91
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
british columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We wish to share our great vacation with the friendly people at Luna Palace, at the desk, the housekeeper maid, the restaurant & pool bar, the maintenance crew & gardener, & the Manager, who were all so cheerful and helpful. Rooms are very comfortable with thick new mattresses, clean bathrooms and showers, well-supplied kitchenettes, with fridges & coffeemakers, etc. The balconies are very safe, (solid-sided rather than the kind our kids could climb). Large heated pool has 3 depths, safe fun for all ages. Wireless Internet & lobby telephone takes phone cards available at stores. This hotel usually quiet at night, but nightlife is certainly close by. Beachfront and area just to the north is best beach for walking, running and swimming. On the street side, it is a safe, great neighborhood, with many restaurants & cafes (some with live music), small grocery stores, money changers, laundry, and various other little shops. We hope to go back soon to visit our many Mexican Amigoes.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe1086, General Manager at Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Dear Rouw
Hello!
My name is Fermìn Trucìos and Iam the General Manager for Luna Palace Hotel.
First of all my sincere apology to answer your great review of Luna Palace at this time , since some time has passed by, but I did not want to let pass the opportunity to give you our most sincere Thank You for your comments.
On behalf of all our staff whom you mentioned on your review our most sincere gratitude for your kindness, it is always a great satisfaction to know we have served our beloved guests the way they deserve, and to know that they go home with a great experience.
Your description of Luna Palace is great, since our property has been totally remodelated ,and we do have all the services you mentioned on your review, again thank you!
Yes, Luna Palace is located in the center of most of the entertainment area in Mazatlan , known as Golden Zone and where most of the action takes place for a great vacation.
Once again our gratitude for your comments and we are looking forward to the opportunity to serve you and your family again in the near future .
With Respect
Fermìn Trucpios .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at the Luna Palace. It was a smaller older hotel, very quaint. The rooms are large and have been remodelled and continuing to be upgraded. It was a delight to have 2 bathrooms. The Service we had was wonderful. Our maid (Gloria) was excellent and she was very accomadating. She worked around our schedule and did a professional job. Thanks to Jesus and Rosario for all they did to make our stay pleasant. Despite rumors that Mazatlan isn't very safe, we felt very safe at the Luna Palace. The pool was heated which was wonderful as the ocean was colder than normal. Thank you to the staff and General Manager who made it very easy to decide to book next year for an extra week. See you in 2012.....Robert & Sonia....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe1086, Manager at Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Dear MOvrnshakr.
Hello!
My name is Fermìn Trucìos and I am the General Manager for Luna Palace .
First of all my sincere apology because some time has passed since your wonderful review, and I did not want to let more time pass before I give you our comments .
How great it is to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Luna Palace, because this means we have done our job of serving our beloved guests and they not only went home happy about their stay , but they are planning to come back and visit us again.
On behalf of all our staff our sincere Thank You for your comments, and I surely agree that Gloria , Jesus and Rosario are extremely accomodating and very service oriented people , I will give them your comments , and Iam sure they will feel very happy.
As you mentioned , Luna Palace has been totally remodelated and will always try to keep upgrading our installations , and training to make sure we satisfy our beloved guests expectations.
Thank You very much again for your comments , and we are looking forward to serve you again next year, it will be an honor.
With Respect
Fermìn Trucìos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

The rooms are clean spacious and well appointed with great ocean views. Swim up bar service wasinteresting with wonderful service at reasonable prices. Impressed by welcome refreshments while we were getting registered. Good location to wander the nearby shops and restaurants. Only negative is that the nice soft sandy beach does not extend very far out into the water before the rocks show up.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe1086, Manager at Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Dear Gerryblanchette
Hello!
My name is Fermìn Trucìos and Iam the General Manager for Luna Palace Hotel.
First of all my sincere apology for taking this time to answer your review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Luna, to find out you liked your accomodations and the beautiful ocean view to enjoy the sunsets( which I hope you had that pleasure).
Very glad to know that you enjoy our swim up bar the service and attention you receive from our staff, there is nothing more important for us than our beloved guests and make sure they are happy, and go back home feeling good about their vacation.
As you mentioned Luna Palace has a great location right in the center of the Golden Zone where most of the entertainment is happening in our town.
Sorry to hear about the situation on the beach , but above all as you experienced ,it is a a safe and quiet place to enjoy.
Once again , thank you very much for your comments, and we are looking forward to serve you again in the near future, it will be a great pleasure.
With Respect
Fermìn Trucìos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridger, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

had read so many mixed reviews before we went, but our stay was fantastic! it was very clean and the grounds well maintained. great location and beach, and the weather even cooperated. the only drawback for us was having all the dishes locked in the cupboard and a staff that could not understand us--next time we will know to ask, as they evidentally have to do "inventory" before you can use the dishes. we felt safe here and did go on a bus trip to Copala, which we would recomment everyone to do. both of us hated all the hustlers trying to get you to buy into a condo, the only negative part of the trip. people were very friendly otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe1086, Manager at Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Dear twofishys
Hello!
My name is Fermìn Trucìos and I am the General Manager of Hotel Luna Palace.
First of all my sincere apology for the time that has passed since you visited Mazatlàn and Luna Palace.
I read your review with much interest and would like to make the following comments.
It is always great to hear that your stay was fantastic , there is nothing more important for us than the satisfaction of the expectations of our beloved guests and knowing they go back home happy about their vacation.
Thank you for letting us know we have to keep working on the understanding of the English language in our staff, without a doubt one of our biggest challenges, but we are constantly working on this issue , and we are thinking we may have to have an English teacher on the premises, we still have to work on this issue, thank you for your comment.
I am very glad to know you enjoy your trip to Copala which is a Magic Town , and one of the attractions in our city.
Luna Palace as you mentioned has a great location and one of the safest beaches in Mazatlan, glad to know you enjoy your leisure time there.
Once again, thank you very much for all your comments, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you in the near future , it will be a great pleasure.
With Respect
Fermìn Trucìos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Luna Palace for 2 weeks. We had read the reviews before we booked the trip so we knew there were good and bad points but decided to take a chance. The Luna is an older hotel complex and it was being renovated while we were there and the workmen tried thier best not to inconvenience the guests. The hotel tends to cater to an older crowd at least they were when we stayed there. Many of the guests we met there had been going there for many years. Since we were there during Spring Break I kind of anticipated that there would be a bit of noise but it was very quiet and peaceful. The hell raisers were all at the Oceano Palace and El Cid.
We had a 1 bedroom suite on the third floor and while it was dated and really in need of more than a few upgrades it was clean and the king size bed was quite comfortable. We had 2 complete bathrooms with plenty of hot water everyday. The kitchen and living room were clean and servicable just very old.
The staff at the hotel were great for the most part. We had terriffic maid service each day and we tipped our maid a couple of bucks each day. Any maintenance issues we had during the day were dealt with in short order. Let's face it, if you have a complaint at 11:00 at night don't expect them to get a maintenance man out there until the next day. These people have lives too.
The pool area was very nice and keep very clean. The beach outside the hotel was the nicest on the strip. The hotel has quite a nice restaurant and we had dinner there a few times. The food was great and the service fantastic. There was a young woman promoting time share memberships like at every hotel in Mexico but she was very polite and helpful even though we were not going to buy. We chose to sit through the presentation because that's how she earned her living. We said no and stuck to our guns, it was over in 45 minutes and we walked away with a couple of nice serapes and a big bottle of Kaluha for sitting through it. It was painless and we were never bothered by them again.
We had to run the gauntlet of time share hucksters when we went out along the strip but we have to do that when we go to Las Vegas too so what's the big deal.
There were several great restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel.
Heather's - a great place for breakfast for $5.00 or less
The Place - great nachos and cold beer.
Fat Fish - great rib dinner for about $8.00.
The Breuhaus in Ceritos Point - a fabulous meal and great ambiance.

I think I would take a chance on the Luna again but I'll probably wait till they finish renovating.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torreon, Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

The only "resort" amenities this hotel has are a swimming pool and only one restaurant, which most hotels in Mazatlan have and are not named “resort”. The resorts at Mazatlan have more than two restaurants and large gardens and like relaxation areas.
Other than that, the hotel rooms are clean, but they do not change your bed clothes every day. As other reviewers recommend I tipped the maid but it did not make any difference.
I agree with the 3 stars rating but not more. They will always try to sell you time share deals for that same hotel, hopefully they are not that insistent. The sellers can easily identify potential customers because at the reception they give white bracelets to the ones that are not time share customers and blue bracelets to those that are already enrolled.
The elevator did not worked the day we checked out, and when worked it was that slow that we preferred to use the stairs. Other than that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Palace Hotel / Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Palace Hotel / Suites

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Palace Hotel / Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Palace has a reputation of excellence in service and a home-away-from-home atmosphere. Luna Palace favourite among short and long stay travellers, as it offers fully equipped kitchenettes in every suite, as well as a beach front restaurant with a la Carte service. Our 71 suites are newly renovated, and all have a private balcony with an ocean view which offers a great opportunity to share quality time with your family or on your business. Location: Golden Zone of Mazatlan 30 minutes from airport, 15 minutes from downtown, 10 from aquarium, and 10 to golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luna Palace Hotel / Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Palace Resort All Inclusive
Luna Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.