We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel
Av Camaron Sabalo y Priv. Costa Azul, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Sechelt, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place and people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed there from April 20th - 27th and the place was wonderful.
All the staff really made things welcoming and pleasant and Verneen and Alfredo, the owners, were lovely. Very helpful with information and directions when needed and even invited us to a play reading with them on the last night of our stay. Our apartment was a generous size and clean. They had forewarned us in their website and during email correspondence the place is very typically Mexican so don't expect 5 star accommodations, but we felt they have undersold their space as we found it to be great. Having that kind of staff/owners is what really makes a vacation relaxing and stress free. Good job and thanks again.
Rob & Ash

Room Tip: We stayed in #19 which has windows on 3 sides so a nice view towards the beach from the living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
14
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here march 2 - 16. Been home 2 days and already miss it.. stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. it was great, with a living room and a full kitchen and a seperate bedroom. There was a couch in my room that was cursed as it MADE me take a nap every time i sat on it(lol). the staff were wonderful and fun and helpfull. i will be coming back here again. everyone here makes you feel at home, from the owner, to the staff and the other guest.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

my wife and i stayed here at the mariana in 2011 and we are going back in 2012 for 6 weeks the rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is close to everthing restaurants,clubs and shopping we plan to return as often as we can. Alfredo and verneen are terrific hosts and the staff are friendly and polite.highly recomended .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The owners Verneen and Alfredo truly make you feel like welcomed guests in their home. One evening during our stay, most of the Mariana guests went to a baseball game together--all organized by Vern. It was a really fun evening, despite the fact that many of the guests appeared to still be weary from the hotel Christmas eve party! (which we missed, but sounded riotous) The Mariana is not fancy, but it is clean and we all felt safe and well looked after. Mazatlan is a great combination of a vibrant and historical Mexican city and good beach fun in the sun.

Room Tip: Go to their web site, they are all different
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This place is awesome- super affordable, clean, and owned by an great couple(Vern & Alfredo) ready to make the stay a memorable one. We had driven down from the states and planned to stop over for a night or two, but when Vern reminded us that the Dia De Los Muertos was in a week we unpacked the van and stayed! 100 meters from the beach and with a great restaurant downstairs, the stay was great. Vern and Alfredo invited us to go to the d.d.l.m. celebration in Machado plaza, and we danced and partied all night! Great place!

Room Tip: each floor has a great patio with a grill. the top floor/roof has a killer view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

It was in a perfect location and it was 80 steps to the ocean,,, sunset from the roof top was beautiful,, and it was a very warm, caring, friendly employees. Thank you, we will return, Tina H

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward,Alaska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The Marianna Hotel is perfect for a cheaper alternative to the higher priced hotels if your looking for a longer stay or on a budget.

Vern and Alfredo are what really make this place special. They will go out of their way to make sure you have as pleasant stay as possible. For example..They rearranged a room and took out a bed I didn't need after my friend left. They called and set appointments for horseback riding, dentist, massages etc. I enjoyed several nights of playing Sequence with them and others staying there. Vern even went horseback riding with me.

The maids are awesome and I had fun trying to learn Spanish. Dora is absolutely the best and always makes sure the rooms are as clean as can be. Never saw any bugs which is a big thing for me.. no ants!

I loved the music from Gus Gus and rarely missed the fire dancers that showed up around 8pm. I had a birds-eye view and the whole rooftop patio to dance around on. I was worried about the 3 flights of stairs to the rooftop but they are smaller steps and wasn't nearly as bad as I thought they would be. I found myself using them a few times as exercise and to warm up.... Nights got very cold this year.

I stayed in 3 different rooms and overall I liked the rooftop the best.
The Fishermen's Apt was my favorite for the spaciness, the view out the window and having a separate bedroom with multiple people is a plus.
The Bungalow's thatched roof is really cool with the lights. This room would be great in warmer weather. No problem with getting lots of extra blankets.
The Beach Suite is a spacious room but not so much in the bathroom. A tall person would be ducking in the shower.

Some highlights ... The bus stops right out front. Walking distance to Mega, casino, shops and restaurants. Locked gate at night. Lots of plants, tables, chairs, loungers. Internet worked great. Feeding the birds. Great grilled steaks (Jake, their cute little dog always got the bone) very close to the beach with beautiful sunsets on the rooftop. Poncho and his huge jug of hot cocoa and other treats every morning( awesome cheesecake) and a fresh shrimp vendor on sat mornings.

Thank you Vern and Alfredo for the wonderful stay and memories.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel

Address: Av Camaron Sabalo y Priv. Costa Azul, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.