We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel to your Saves list
Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Av Camaron Sabalo y Priv. Costa Azul, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here march 2 - 16. Been home 2 days and already miss it.. stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. it was great, with a living room and a full kitchen and a seperate bedroom. There was a couch in my room that was cursed as it MADE me take a nap every time i sat on it(lol). the staff were wonderful and fun and helpfull. i will be coming back here again. everyone here makes you feel at home, from the owner, to the staff and the other guest.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
21
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

my wife and i stayed here at the mariana in 2011 and we are going back in 2012 for 6 weeks the rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is close to everthing restaurants,clubs and shopping we plan to return as often as we can. Alfredo and verneen are terrific hosts and the staff are friendly and polite.highly recomended .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The owners Verneen and Alfredo truly make you feel like welcomed guests in their home. One evening during our stay, most of the Mariana guests went to a baseball game together--all organized by Vern. It was a really fun evening, despite the fact that many of the guests appeared to still be weary from the hotel Christmas eve party! (which we missed, but sounded riotous) The Mariana is not fancy, but it is clean and we all felt safe and well looked after. Mazatlan is a great combination of a vibrant and historical Mexican city and good beach fun in the sun.

Room Tip: Go to their web site, they are all different
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This place is awesome- super affordable, clean, and owned by an great couple(Vern & Alfredo) ready to make the stay a memorable one. We had driven down from the states and planned to stop over for a night or two, but when Vern reminded us that the Dia De Los Muertos was in a week we unpacked the van and stayed! 100 meters from the beach and with a great restaurant downstairs, the stay was great. Vern and Alfredo invited us to go to the d.d.l.m. celebration in Machado plaza, and we danced and partied all night! Great place!

Room Tip: each floor has a great patio with a grill. the top floor/roof has a killer view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

It was in a perfect location and it was 80 steps to the ocean,,, sunset from the roof top was beautiful,, and it was a very warm, caring, friendly employees. Thank you, we will return, Tina H

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward,Alaska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The Marianna Hotel is perfect for a cheaper alternative to the higher priced hotels if your looking for a longer stay or on a budget.

Vern and Alfredo are what really make this place special. They will go out of their way to make sure you have as pleasant stay as possible. For example..They rearranged a room and took out a bed I didn't need after my friend left. They called and set appointments for horseback riding, dentist, massages etc. I enjoyed several nights of playing Sequence with them and others staying there. Vern even went horseback riding with me.

The maids are awesome and I had fun trying to learn Spanish. Dora is absolutely the best and always makes sure the rooms are as clean as can be. Never saw any bugs which is a big thing for me.. no ants!

I loved the music from Gus Gus and rarely missed the fire dancers that showed up around 8pm. I had a birds-eye view and the whole rooftop patio to dance around on. I was worried about the 3 flights of stairs to the rooftop but they are smaller steps and wasn't nearly as bad as I thought they would be. I found myself using them a few times as exercise and to warm up.... Nights got very cold this year.

I stayed in 3 different rooms and overall I liked the rooftop the best.
The Fishermen's Apt was my favorite for the spaciness, the view out the window and having a separate bedroom with multiple people is a plus.
The Bungalow's thatched roof is really cool with the lights. This room would be great in warmer weather. No problem with getting lots of extra blankets.
The Beach Suite is a spacious room but not so much in the bathroom. A tall person would be ducking in the shower.

Some highlights ... The bus stops right out front. Walking distance to Mega, casino, shops and restaurants. Locked gate at night. Lots of plants, tables, chairs, loungers. Internet worked great. Feeding the birds. Great grilled steaks (Jake, their cute little dog always got the bone) very close to the beach with beautiful sunsets on the rooftop. Poncho and his huge jug of hot cocoa and other treats every morning( awesome cheesecake) and a fresh shrimp vendor on sat mornings.

Thank you Vern and Alfredo for the wonderful stay and memories.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

On our previous Mexican vacations we have stayed at 4-5 star all inclusive type hotels. This trip we wanted something more adventurous and cultural.

The owners are husband and wife. Alfredo was raised in Mazatlan and his wife Verneen is Canadian. The fact that they are both so knowledgable of the area and speak both spanish and english was such an asset to making our trip amazing. We told them we wanted a more cultural vacation so they recommended a few excursions which we did and really enjoyed. One of our favorites was a trip to a small town called Veranos. It was about 1 hour from Mazatlan but we went through 7 or 8 small towns to get there, which really gave us the flavour of the Mexican culture. We went ziplining and river kayaking down an amazing scenic winding river. The day ended with a Mexican meal which included a boiling cheese and mushroom lava pot dish. On our drive back we saw a ring tailed Lemur and an Armidillo! That had to be one of our most memorable days.

Our room was clean and had a kitchenette (fridge, stove, oven) which we really liked because we were able to cook our own breakfasts and then get on with our day. They also have toasters and microwaves available (no charge) if you ask. We had clean sheets, towels and washed floors daily. They have these wonderful balconies on each level with tables and chairs so we would sit out and have our morning coffee and breakfast. Alot of times we were joined by other guests staying in the hotel which some have now become our friends.

The location of the hotel is very convenient in the "Golden Zone" so there are lots of restaurants, shops, taxi's etc. It is on the beach side of the road however it's not right on the beach but about a 4 minute walk from the beach. We felt very safe in the hotel as they have a gate they lock every night. The guests all get a key to the gate if they come in late. The area itself we felt very safe as well. It is in a tourist area and there is local and federal police presence everywhere.

It's hard to think of things we like least because the experience we had really overshadowed any little problems. If you are looking for a five star all inclusive this hotel with all the comforts of home, this is not for you. The hotel is about 45 years old and though you often get hot showers sometimes you don't (not cold but warm). Our room did not have a bathtub and I'm not sure if any of the rooms did. There is no pool however there is a hotel next door, Costa D Ore that has a pool that you can use. There is also a bar across the street called Gus Gus which at times has very loud music. When we were there they didn't have the music loud every night and I think they had it shut down by around 11pm to midnight depending on the crowd there. I usually bring earplugs when I go to places but there is an overhead fan in each bedroom which not only kept us cool, it droned out the music so I never had to use my earplugs once. Being in the Golden Zone you are acosted by alot of "timeshare" people. They are more annoying then anything but we would just tell them we weren't interested and kept walking.

My husband and I both felt like this was one of our top memorable vacations and I believe it had a lot to do with us staying at the Mariana. Thank you Verneen and Alfredo, we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#28 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#8 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
#27 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#2 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Express Mazatlan
City Express Mazatlan
#38 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#30 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel

Address: Av Camaron Sabalo y Priv. Costa Azul, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.