We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan to your Saves list
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Camaron Sabalo No. 696 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I traveled in the "off" season, so the hotel was no where full; which is the way I like it. Check in is easy. I had asked for a non-smoking room but got one anyway. I stayed in that room the first night but requested a different room the next day. It was given without question. Much better. Third floor with a balcony overlooking the pool and the beach. The sound of the surf is so relaxing. The maid service was good and they did not interrupt you if you were in the room. The pool is sparkling clean and spacious. There was a kids birthday party Saturday afternoon and they "took over" much of the pool and patio area. The party was over before dark, so there was no noise into the evening. As most people know, the hotel beds in Mexico are hard, but I did not mind at all. The showers are spacious. Checking out was quick. Just be sure to check all the items on your bill. They dinged me for a bottle of water which I did not consume. Removed with no question asked.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    72
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
44
71
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Superior service, clean property, very safe. Would recommend staying here -- especially for Value! Pool bar service was exceptional and food was good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

My husband and I took advantage of an incredible seat sale by westjet and phoned the hotel directly to book our room. We chose oceanview with balcony and it is totally worth it. The beds are very hard and next time around I will just pack my bed in a bag. I guess I am a bit of a princess. Value was great. We used a pulmonia right infront of the hotel to take us to Mega where we stocked up on booze and breakfast supplies. The buses will also get you to the store and downtown. The hotel does offer breakfast but we really enjoyed making our own and taking in the beautiful view from the balcony while having coffee. The pool is wonderful. We did not use the swim up bar as we had our supply in our fridge. The safe in the room was big enough for laptop, camera, money and passports. The shower was huge and hot water was always available. Internet worked fine and we were able to talk to our family back home via skype. There are so many restaurants in the area that we explored and are very glad that we did not look for an all-inclusive and be limited to their food choices.
Little tip
We went on several timeshare presentations and as a gift you receive cash. That took care of all of our expenses... entertainment, food and transportation as well as gifts. The presentations were informative the free breakfast was good. We got picked up at 8 a.m and were back at the hotel by 11 a.m. with cash or certificates in our pocket.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

This is hotel was very nice. The Staff were all very friendly. Awesome views of the Ocean, very nicely landscaped. I enjoyed breakfast in the morning outside with a wonderful view.
The food very good, overall great experience. Can't wait to go back again!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We booked our stay at the Holiday Inn based on the reviews in TripAdvisor. As other reviewers have stated, the beds are firm, as per most Mexican hotels. The location of the hotel is very good; it is on the beach and on a section of the strip with easy access to restaurants but not in the middle of the 'action'. The pool area is lovely and the staff are all very friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately, our stay coincided with a convention at the hotel. Most of the delegates appeared to be under the age of 25 and they were relentless in their partying. Our first set of rooms were located at the top of the stairs on the second floor. All through the night until 5:30am in the morning we could hear the boisterous revellers whooping it up as they left to hit the town and returned from their partying. The next morning we asked to be moved to different rooms. The staff moved us to another set of ocean view rooms away from the stairs. That evening a large group partied all night by the volleyball court on the hotel grounds, doing their best to drown out the crashing surf. We understand that it's hard to control people slamming their doors or talking loudly in the hallways, but something should have been done to shut down a loud party going on within the hotel grounds that runs all through the evening and into the morning.
The hotel is nice, and is a great value, but sleepless nights make it very hard to recommend this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City Ut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

After a stay at another highly rated resort (forget resting by the pool - it was busy with hourly scheduled activities from water aerobics to sports), we discovered a laid back, non- high rise resort at Holiday Inn on Cameron Sabalo with the warmest, most helpful staff one could hope for. We've now stayed here four years in a row with an oceanside room (the only acceptable choice); sounds and view are spectacular. True, the beds are hard except in the studio units where they are too soft. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept, the pool is great. The ocean is warm and accessible just down the beach. It is a destination resort for Mexican vacationers as well so you feel more like you are in Mexico. There is good reason this hotel rates higher on this site than other "high-end" resorts.
This year the IT staff went out of the way to help us with a laptop connectivity problem including bringing in outside assistance.
It's a short bus or pulmonia ride to the Centro Historico district and Playa Olas Altos. These areas are colorful and charming with great restaurants and shops. On weekend nights the restaurants around Plazuela Machado spill into the streets, the square is filled with people and it's a great experience to be in Mexico. Day trips to Copala, El Quilite, Teacapan are a real treat.
We love visiting the Holiday Inn and Mazatlan.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Very nice and clean hotel in a very good location. The room, pool, and beach were all great. The only negative we found was the bed, the floor would be much less firm.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Address: Camaron Sabalo No. 696 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Resort of Mazatlan is located on the beautiful beaches of Mazatlan, in front of the three islands in the golden zone, and it posses a Mexican architecture with elements of Mexico.Location is the most important for a great vacation. Our guest love our location on the beach, the gardens, the infinite pool, pool bar, and comfortable rooms that invite you to relax.The perfect vacation at Mazatlan starts with a sun set, pacific tropical breeze and beaches with warm and crystal clear water. Rest in your personal oasis of comfort after a sunny day of recreation.All our rooms offer all the comfort that our guest need, with beds incredible comfortable.Enjoy our delicious gastronomic variety and cocktails in our restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Elvoline ltd, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Holiday Inn Mazatlan
Mazatlan Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.