We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Camaron Sabalo No. 696 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed here for two weeks. Had a room with large balcony over looking the ocean. Just fantastic views and sunsets. Was very quite with no large noise bands. Beds great , large rooms and very clean! Great staff. Front desk can be somewhat snobish at times,but they improved as time went on. Great safe in room, ask for it to be part of room cost. Our room had a fridge and free coffee. Water is safe and can be used. Meals are all rite, Enjoyed the Char Broiled Hamburger. The Hotel restaurant is only available for breakfest and the other is open late on the Beach with great service and meduim Prices. We eat there occasiallly but mostlly at the Panama mile down the street on the rite side. The pools were niece and not ever crowded. Always chairs avaiable . The grounds and pools are rite on the beach and taken care of on a regular basis. Tipped the boy in morning who racked the sand by the beach as this was a hard job. The Hotel Bellman are extremely friendly and helpful at all times. The hotel is owned by a American from the Dakata's and has his own place next door. Its just a great place to stay. Can't even compare to Hawwii , due to on the beach price and scenerly location. The Beach is great especially in the Morning when tide is in. You can walk for miles. Look for Sea Glass, to collect. Buses rite in front of hotel and they stop for you any where, just put your hand up. Bus price 40cents or 60cents on Air Conditioned bus. Sablo Centro bus will take you directly to downtown and back and a wonderful view of the ocean on the way. Also take the bus north to the end only 10 minutes to see the new Rui Hotel, unbelievable! Happy hour is 4 to 8. Drinks 2.00.. When we return this is the place to stay. By the way drinks and food are also served at the Pools making this a almost 4 star.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    71
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
41
71
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

If you want hot water for your shower in the morning, you need to get up early... If you want a cool room in the afternoon sun you might need to give the thermostat a little smack here & there... If you want a chair on the beach you'll have to claim it early... A bit disappointed that we reserved an ocean-view room with a king size bed and had to wait almost an hour for it when we got here, and then found out that it was one of only a few WITHOUT a balcony and the window only opens about 4 inches.. Our room otherwise was very nice with plenty of drawer & closet space, a decent kitchenette with mini fridge & microwave. The bed is hard but comfortable, the view is spectacular, and is just a short walk on the beach from our favorite place for breakfast, Chile's Pepper. Try the #7!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Initially I had concerns about the "hard beds" which others had referred to. We normally sleep on pillow tops at home and I thought I'd be tossing and turning but that just wasn't so. Yes, they are firm mattresses but I slept like a baby.

We are headed to the Centro Historico tomorrow and really enjoyed our 3 nights at the Holiday Inn Sunspree. We would absolutely return but would not recommend upgrading to the "breakfast included" option (ie. sausages are actually weiners). On the other hand, the evenings at the ocean side Oasis Bar, with $ 2 CA mega size Mango Margaratis, Garlic Mahi Mahi while listening to a local spanish guitarist/vocals was amazing. We would definitely return here!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitoba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

Hotel was very clean, staff was wonderful, very helpful. Location was close to shopping and lots of places to eat. View from room, fantastic...Infinity Pool was a very nice touch, you could look out from the pool onto the beach

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Canada, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

The Holiday Inn Sunspress is truly a hotel to experience! The rooms are incredibly clean, large, and we would recommend that you upgrade (or select) oceanview with a balcony. The grounds lead you immediately to the sandy beach and surf. The pools are clear, clean and refreshing. BUT do not eat at the Lapalapa Del Mar across the street. The manager there seems to "pad" your bill, and when you question it, he calls your waiter over, and demands that you pay these extra unknown charges (in front of seated guests) or he says he will take it our of your servers salary/tips. Terrible experience. Try Carlos and Lucia's about 1 1/2 blocks south. It is family owned, great prices, great service and great food!
The horizon pool is exquisite and the sunsets unforgettable.
Have a wonderful time! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn and loved every minute of it. This was our 2nd trip to Mazatlan, the first time we stayed at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay and were put off by the timeshare hassle as well as the unfriendly staff.
The Holiday Inn was extremely clean, the staff nice, and the hotel very quiet at night. We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. Our only complaint would be that the beds are very hard, besides that little inconvenience, it is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Hotel is in a super location with friendly staff, nice rooms, good food and priced right. Nobody bothered you for timeshares like many other resorts in the area. Would stay here again!!! Only complaint are the hard beds.....

  • Liked — Location, Price and No Pushy Timeshare Salespeople
  • Disliked — Beds were way too hard
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Address: Camaron Sabalo No. 696 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Resort of Mazatlan is located on the beautiful beaches of Mazatlan, in front of the three islands in the golden zone, and it posses a Mexican architecture with elements of Mexico.Location is the most important for a great vacation. Our guest love our location on the beach, the gardens, the infinite pool, pool bar, and comfortable rooms that invite you to relax.The perfect vacation at Mazatlan starts with a sun set, pacific tropical breeze and beaches with warm and crystal clear water. Rest in your personal oasis of comfort after a sunny day of recreation.All our rooms offer all the comfort that our guest need, with beds incredible comfortable.Enjoy our delicious gastronomic variety and cocktails in our restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Holiday Inn Mazatlan
Mazatlan Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.