We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best "Gold Zone" place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Camaron Sabalo No. 696 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best "Gold Zone" place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This Hotel is located within the Gold Zone, where all the action is. Most Condo's in Mazatlan are in remote locations and require a car or taxi to go to shops and restaurants. This Hotel is located right on the beach with a beautiful infinity pool overlooking the Pacific. It's priced right with good food and drinks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    73
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
41
71
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We loved The Palms! The hotel is very nice and clean, with a really friendly staff. We often ate at other restaurants around Mazatlan, but the oasis restaurant on property is very good!! We loved all of the bartenders and loved just lounging out on the beach or by the pool. The hotel is also walking distance from many restaurants and shops. Overall, great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was planning on staying w/a friend at her condo and a last minute change of plans put me in the Palms Resort for 10 fabulous nights. I was by myself and felt very safe. The young staff at the reception were so accommodating considering my Spanish was horrible. Mexican eggs on the patio dinning room was less than $7.00 and Margaritas during happy hour at the pool from 4pm to 7pm were less than $3.00. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. My room had firm and soft pillows that were marked. The kitchenette had a micro wave, small fridge, coffe pot and sink w/a few dishes. Only thing missing was the wine glasses. I was able to purchase bottled drinking water at a reasonable price at the small store. During the Mazatlan Marathon the hotel filled with interesting people including a very well behaved teen group. You can walk the beach in front of the hotel for miles each direction.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 6th floor facing the ocean; it is right at palm tree level, so make sure you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I really like staying here. It used to be the Holiday Inn Sunspree. Name changed sometime in the late summer or early fall. Most of the same staff is there. They are doing some upgrading but it is not intrusive. This is not a busy hotel and that works for me. I love lying by the pool or under one of that thatched palapas (spelling) and relaxing, reading and enjoying the sea breezes. I always opt for an ocean view room. The sound of the surf is wonderful. Yes, the beds are hard as rocks but that works for me. The rooms are of good size. Stone floors do make the sound carry though. There are just two restaurants; one inside for breakfast with patio seating available and then from lunch time to around ten at night, the outdoor Oasis which is right on the beach. Perfect place to have a beverage as you watch the sunset. If you want a quiet day by the pool or beach this is the place. Oh, sure they do have the occaisional birthday party or convention, but they don't last all day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmett, Idaho
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We only stayed one night at this hotel in Mazatlan as we were traveling to another area in Mexico, however we greatly enjoyed it! Wonderful infinity pool, part of which wrapped around a portion of the restaurant and had a swim up bar, also. Right on the beach overlooking the ocean. No hot tub, but I think it would have been too hot to sit in one. Very nice staff, although not many of them spoke very much English. Limited food selection at the restaurant and room service but what they did have was very good. Private balcony with chairs and a table was nice to sit out on in the evening, if you can handle the humidity and heat. Fridge in the room, but no microwave. Dehumidifier in room, also. Huge tiled shower was very nice. The only complaint would be that the floors did not appear to have been cleaned very well between guests as there was dirt and stains on them. I would definitely come back, though, to experience this place more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loysville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I am just getting around to writing a review. We stayed at this hotel in June 2011. Why write a review now. Well we just came back from a trip and we had many hotel problems, kept comparing last years trip to the one this year. So now I write to say why I loved it.

1. We started off badly, They lost our reservation, it took them an hour to find it, but once they did we never looked back.
2. Most of the staff speak excellent English, The guys at the bar were totally awesome. I'm not a drinker, so when I noticed the kids getting ice cream in the afternoon, I asked for it. Everday after that when we came down to the pool in the afternoon the bar staff asked if I wanted ice cream and remembered the exact flavor too. Awesome service.
3.The hotel does not have much of a beach, but what there is can be used for swimming. The pool is actually part of the beach. In the evenings the waves crash upon it.
4. FOOD- We love local food when we travel, so we always ate breakfast at a little place about 1/2 mile walk down the beach. However, for dinner most nights we ate in the hotel at the rest. over looking the ocean. The prices were very reasonable (cheap), and included many local dishes.
5. Safety- We felt very safe. Eventhough we were warned a head of time to watch out for scams and unsafe conditions we ventured out to shop. We took a bus to the Walmart and got a little lost. We Always felt safe at the hotel. Plan your way to the hotel from the airport before you arrive. The hotel is far away from the Airport. It will save you time, agravation, and lots of money.
6. Resorts- We wanted to travel a little. This hotel is not a BIG resort. Several are located in the same strip. We actually were advised by the hotel staff to visit one of the larger resorts to pick up travel itineraries. We went on a party boat to visit deer island with one of the resorts. Had a great time.
7. The room was awesome, Loved it. We did not have an ocean view, but stil would recommend to every traveler.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ocean are best. The others all face construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Nice hotel, close to the strip main street good place to enjoy a short vacation. I will recommend this to my friend and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Address: Camaron Sabalo No. 696 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Resort of Mazatlan is located on the beautiful beaches of Mazatlan, in front of the three islands in the golden zone, and it posses a Mexican architecture with elements of Mexico.Location is the most important for a great vacation. Our guest love our location on the beach, the gardens, the infinite pool, pool bar, and comfortable rooms that invite you to relax.The perfect vacation at Mazatlan starts with a sun set, pacific tropical breeze and beaches with warm and crystal clear water. Rest in your personal oasis of comfort after a sunny day of recreation.All our rooms offer all the comfort that our guest need, with beds incredible comfortable.Enjoy our delicious gastronomic variety and cocktails in our restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Holiday Inn Mazatlan
Mazatlan Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.