We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Camaron Sabalo No. 696 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Emmett, Idaho
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We only stayed one night at this hotel in Mazatlan as we were traveling to another area in Mexico, however we greatly enjoyed it! Wonderful infinity pool, part of which wrapped around a portion of the restaurant and had a swim up bar, also. Right on the beach overlooking the ocean. No hot tub, but I think it would have been too hot to sit in one. Very nice staff, although not many of them spoke very much English. Limited food selection at the restaurant and room service but what they did have was very good. Private balcony with chairs and a table was nice to sit out on in the evening, if you can handle the humidity and heat. Fridge in the room, but no microwave. Dehumidifier in room, also. Huge tiled shower was very nice. The only complaint would be that the floors did not appear to have been cleaned very well between guests as there was dirt and stains on them. I would definitely come back, though, to experience this place more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    71
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
41
71
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loysville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I am just getting around to writing a review. We stayed at this hotel in June 2011. Why write a review now. Well we just came back from a trip and we had many hotel problems, kept comparing last years trip to the one this year. So now I write to say why I loved it.

1. We started off badly, They lost our reservation, it took them an hour to find it, but once they did we never looked back.
2. Most of the staff speak excellent English, The guys at the bar were totally awesome. I'm not a drinker, so when I noticed the kids getting ice cream in the afternoon, I asked for it. Everday after that when we came down to the pool in the afternoon the bar staff asked if I wanted ice cream and remembered the exact flavor too. Awesome service.
3.The hotel does not have much of a beach, but what there is can be used for swimming. The pool is actually part of the beach. In the evenings the waves crash upon it.
4. FOOD- We love local food when we travel, so we always ate breakfast at a little place about 1/2 mile walk down the beach. However, for dinner most nights we ate in the hotel at the rest. over looking the ocean. The prices were very reasonable (cheap), and included many local dishes.
5. Safety- We felt very safe. Eventhough we were warned a head of time to watch out for scams and unsafe conditions we ventured out to shop. We took a bus to the Walmart and got a little lost. We Always felt safe at the hotel. Plan your way to the hotel from the airport before you arrive. The hotel is far away from the Airport. It will save you time, agravation, and lots of money.
6. Resorts- We wanted to travel a little. This hotel is not a BIG resort. Several are located in the same strip. We actually were advised by the hotel staff to visit one of the larger resorts to pick up travel itineraries. We went on a party boat to visit deer island with one of the resorts. Had a great time.
7. The room was awesome, Loved it. We did not have an ocean view, but stil would recommend to every traveler.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ocean are best. The others all face construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Nice hotel, close to the strip main street good place to enjoy a short vacation. I will recommend this to my friend and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed at this Holiday Inn. Prior to this visit, our complaints were few and far between. However, on this visit there were some choices made by the management that affected our enjoyment of the property.

First, the positives. The grounds are immaculately kept, and the entire pool/beach area is perfect for us. Nice big infinity pool, plenty of seating, good mix of sun and shade. The staff is outstanding. Particularly, Sebastian in the pool area and Arturo at the door. Sebastian knew all of our names and room numbers by the second time we ordered from him. Very prompt and friendly service--cannot say enough good things about him! Similarly, Arturo is quick to offer help with anything you might need, from baggage assistance to directions to restaurant recommendations!

On the negative side, the most grating issue is the beds. I have heard that mattresses are firm across Mexico, but these are truly awful. It was very difficult to stay asleep. It literally felt like sleeping on cement.

The management made some decisions that were a little iffy, in my opinion. First, one afternoon was the birthday party of one of the owners' kids. This party took up half of the pool area and lasted all afternoon. There was a very loud MC narrating games for the kids almost the entire time. It was very distracting and made us feel like intruders in the pool area.

Second, there was some tile work that needed to be done in the pool area. The management's solution to this was having a man jackhammer the tile for hours several afternoons in a row. I understand it needs to be done at some point, but it was at prime pool-hours while many people were trying to relax. The jackhammer made that difficult.

Finally, a robotics conference was happening during our stay. The hotel was very full of conference attendees, many of whom looked college-aged. These guests partied very hard, and made no attempt to refrain from yelling, slamming doors, and drunk dialing our room repeatedly at 3 AM. We had to actually disable our phone to prevent these calls. When we reported this, the staff seemed very unconcerned, and made no attempt to control the rowdy guests. Our whole party got very little sleep while the conference attendees were there.

Problems aside, we still enjoyed our stay here. I would just like to see the management take their guests' comfort into better consideration in the future.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We only spent one night at the Holiday Inn Mazatlan, but it was clean and everyone of the staff were very helpful and sincere. The pool didn't appear to be heated (a bit cool for April, but it would feel great in the heat of the late spring/summer). I like HI's when on road-trips for the family because we can do a quick load of laundry ($8USD for a large wash/dry load) and be on our way. AC worked well and is quieter than some, but not super quiet. We thought it was a appropriate value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My wife and I, both seniors and world travellers, have, for the past 20 years, enjoyed our annual, one month Mexico winter escape from Canada's brutally cold climate (Winnipeg, Canada - need I say more?)) for 20 years now. The Holiday Inn Sunspree, Mazatlan has always filled all of our needs and will, hopefully, continue to fill all of our winter vacation needs for many years to come.

The beach location is wonderful, the facilities are everything you could ask for and the staff (whom we now know personally by first names) are like family to us. The Hotel Manager, David Osuna Velaquez, is a gentleman of the highest order, who has always gone the 'extra mile' to ensure that we have a wonderful vacation every year that we visit.

Please do visit this vacation resort. I guarantee that you will not be disappointed. My wife and I recently chose this resort for our 50th Wedding Anniversary vacation. Five years ago we took our 10 children and grandchildren. What higher recommendation can I give?

Barry Hadfield, CANADA

Room Tip: Take the ocean-view rooms. All have outside balconies and are well worth the extra. If you really wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This was a beautiful holiday helped by a beautiful hotel. This is so pretty its right on the ocean front with a poolside bar right on the beach. There are some nice resturants and nice walks on the beach - this was a favorite holiday of ours.

Room Tip: Cant go wrong choosing a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Address: Camaron Sabalo No. 696 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Resort of Mazatlan is located on the beautiful beaches of Mazatlan, in front of the three islands in the golden zone, and it posses a Mexican architecture with elements of Mexico.Location is the most important for a great vacation. Our guest love our location on the beach, the gardens, the infinite pool, pool bar, and comfortable rooms that invite you to relax.The perfect vacation at Mazatlan starts with a sun set, pacific tropical breeze and beaches with warm and crystal clear water. Rest in your personal oasis of comfort after a sunny day of recreation.All our rooms offer all the comfort that our guest need, with beds incredible comfortable.Enjoy our delicious gastronomic variety and cocktails in our restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Holiday Inn Mazatlan
Mazatlan Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.