We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Camaron Sabalo No. 696 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We booked a coupla nights here before moving in to our time share for the week. It was clean, updated, right on the beach, and a great place to start our vacation.
We took a ocean view room, a bit more money but well worth it.
they have internet access, hot muffins & coffee in the morning. A resturant on site, and a cheerful staff.
I would gladly stay here for longer than the two days that we did stay. Right in the heart of the gold zone. Easy to get around.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    73
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
40
70
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

we just spent two weeks there and really loved the friendly service and great staff. Sitting at the palapa bar, enjoying fresh guacamole and great margaritas while enjoying spectacular sunsets- it doesn't get much better. The location is great- you can take a pulmonia any where you want to go for a few dollars .

Room Tip: Book ocean view, they have nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very clean. The staff was amazing. The restaurant had wonderful food and service and a reasonable price. The views were awesome. The only complaint is the beds are very hard but from what we understand that is normal in Mexico. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I just spent 4 nights at this hotel and it was really nice. It's situated at the very northern end of the Golden Zone, so you get a lot less tourist traffic (and noise) while still being close enough to walk to several great restaurants. There isn't much in the way of bars very close, but a gokart-like "pulmonia" taxi is always right out front to take you on a short trip to Old Town, the Malecon, or just down the road to the Golden Zone clubs, if that's your thing. Just negotiate your price before you get in- at the time of this article, it was $60-80 pesos ($5-7 USD) to get to old town or Lost Cerritos (Playa Bruja) on the other end of town, and much cheaper for the Malecon or Golden Zone clubs.
The hotel is as nice as any other resort around there- clean, safe, etc. The hallways are tile, though, so all the kids waking up at 6 were pretty loud coming and going to the pool (not that the hotel has any control over that).
Do yourself a favor and eat at Carlos & Lucia's directly across the street from the hotel. Their Mexican & Cuban cuisine is the best food I had in town, and they're extremely warm and friendly. Carlos or his cousin Marty will definitely tell you where to go for surf, fun, etc.

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean view on at least the 4th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This is a great place to stay! Safe, clean, great food and staff!!! The room was wonderful!

Wonderful pool and great views.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel was just run of the mill. Nothing particularly wrong apart from the beds, oh my goodness the mattresses are beyond hard. Very uncomfortable.

The meals I had there were good and very good value.

If you get a really cheap deal it is very much worth a visit. Not suitable for business

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, CANADA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We loved everything about the hotel ! Food, service, entertainment, pool - all good !

Only complaint the beds are hard as rocks.

Room Tip: all the rooms have an ocean view - wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Address: Camaron Sabalo No. 696 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Resort of Mazatlan is located on the beautiful beaches of Mazatlan, in front of the three islands in the golden zone, and it posses a Mexican architecture with elements of Mexico.Location is the most important for a great vacation. Our guest love our location on the beach, the gardens, the infinite pool, pool bar, and comfortable rooms that invite you to relax.The perfect vacation at Mazatlan starts with a sun set, pacific tropical breeze and beaches with warm and crystal clear water. Rest in your personal oasis of comfort after a sunny day of recreation.All our rooms offer all the comfort that our guest need, with beds incredible comfortable.Enjoy our delicious gastronomic variety and cocktails in our restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Holiday Inn Mazatlan
Mazatlan Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.