We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation destination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan to your Saves list
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Camaron Sabalo No. 696 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011 via mobile

Amazing hotel. The Hotel Manager was awesome! The front desk team to the waiters at the pool restaurant were all wonderful. Family friendly this may be a smaller resort but definitely 5starbin my book. Two ably priced, perfect location and the pool was breath taking. All around beautiful place. Highly recommend and will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    71
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
43
71
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Wow. This place is amazing for a Holiday Inn! The rooms were great, the staff was amazing and the location - WOW. What a great view of the beach! It's walking distance from some decent restaurants and close to a lot of the larger resorts. Honestly, I can't wait to stay here again. It was that great - and inexpensive, too!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Well it was cool the 17 days there but not because of the staff and locals. Mazatlan is a wonderful place to go and my 9 year old loves it! We had a great time and are looking forward to our 4th year in a row! Cant wait!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I was very surprised this was a Holiday Inn, as it seems much more like a resort with open-air lobby, gorgeous infinity pool and swim-up bar, perfect sunset views and open-air restaurant with bar. The serving staff is excellent, and we found all staff to be friendly and bilingual. The food is way better than what you'd expect for a hotel, including fresh seafood, true Mexican options and the normal American fare all for a reasonable price. We were also very happy with the 90 bucks per night we paid and would definitely choose this option again in Mazatlan.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

We spent one week here and then a second week at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan...both RCI exchanges....we actually preferred the Holiday Inn! Much less grand a resort, fewer amenities, activities, but nicer people, balconies..get ocean front! Very clean and friendly...good beach area...we sat against the concrete wall to get away from a very cold north wind! They gave us an additional mattress to deal with the hard bed...worked great. this is a quiet resort..no pool music, activities director, etc. which we liked. Leonore PS. would have liked a news channel in English!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

The hotel its nice, with a beautiful pool, with an endless sea view.
the rooms are clean with a beautiful sea view, but thin walls, with hard beds (we like that kind of beds) and close to everything.
The wireless connection was a joke, very low speed and intermittent connection.
another joke in this hotel was the GYM, its only a room with 3 very old bikes.
about the staff well, they never try to fix any of my demands, and i did not see an effort to do it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamler, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort Jan. 1-8th and had a great time. We had an ocean view, 1 bedroom suite. No kitchen, but dorm size fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and dishes. The mattresses were hard as everyone has stated, but I we have a firm mattress at home, so I slept fine. Only bugs we saw in the suite were two small spiders. They sprayed all the units while we were there with a nontoxic pesticide as well. The hotel was spotlessly clean. Check in was a breeze, and took less than 5 minutes. No one at the hotel bothered us about timeshare talks the whole time we were there, which was fantastic! All the staff were very friendly, helpful, and courteous.The food at the restuarant was good and affordable, but we only ate breakfast and one dinner there. For wonderful food walk down the beach to Chili Peppers or Tony's on the Beach. They are in adjoining buildings. It just doesn't get any better than sitting at either of these restuarants, watching the surf, eating shrimp fahitas, and sipping on an ice cold Pacifico! Some of our other favorites was Gus Y Gus, which is within walking distance. Try the seafood platter for two. We had two meals from it. They have a fantastic band that plays just about every night for the last 12 years! Great music for us boomers! Fat Fish has a great rib, shrimp, or ribeye special for two. We had the ribs, as did everyone else we saw. We each got a side of ribs, baked potato, salad, cole slaw, and bread for 150 pesos! That is less than $7 a person! Again we took home enough for another meal. Carlos and Lucia's is a wonderful little family place directly across the street from the hotel and has wonderful Mexican/Cuban food. The fried plantain are to die for, and the Cuban coffee will wake you right up! We also tried Te Amo Lucy's in old town Mazatlan. The food was delicious and Tony is a real character! Go to the old town market for an eye opening experience. The meat market is something else! We took the bus which was 9 pesos a person. We took one of the pulmonias to Walmart to get groceries, which was 50-70 pesos each way.

The down side of our trip was that it was not as warm as we had hoped, but that couldn't be helped. It was usually in the high 70's when the sun was out., but it got chilly when it was cloudy. It was in the 50's at night, so the ocean was ice cold. The pool heater was broken when we arrived, and they were working on it all week. It was fixed the night before we left. Again, couldn't be helped. The only really annoying thing about our Mazatlan trip was the time share sharks that seemed to be everywhere! We got accosted by a women working at Walmart, and then by people working at two or three restaurants, who would actually sit down at the table with you! All in all though it was a good trip, and I'd go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Address: Camaron Sabalo No. 696 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Resort of Mazatlan is located on the beautiful beaches of Mazatlan, in front of the three islands in the golden zone, and it posses a Mexican architecture with elements of Mexico.Location is the most important for a great vacation. Our guest love our location on the beach, the gardens, the infinite pool, pool bar, and comfortable rooms that invite you to relax.The perfect vacation at Mazatlan starts with a sun set, pacific tropical breeze and beaches with warm and crystal clear water. Rest in your personal oasis of comfort after a sunny day of recreation.All our rooms offer all the comfort that our guest need, with beds incredible comfortable.Enjoy our delicious gastronomic variety and cocktails in our restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Holiday Inn Mazatlan
Mazatlan Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.