We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but totally behind the times...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Azteca Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Azteca Inn to your Saves list
Azteca Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Gaviotas 307 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but totally behind the times...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I booked a room at this hotel knowing that I had stayed there many times before with my pet dog.
I notified them that I had a pet when I made my reservation, as their advertisement on the internet said that they accepted pets. When I arrived, about 9:00 PM, they informed me that they no longer accepted pets. I told them of their advertisement and their reply was "We keep telling the owners to change it but they won't!" Needless to say, I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: go somewhere else...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    41
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
20
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belize
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had been driving all day and arrived in Mazatlan late in the evening. We had no reservation, but I had written this hotel address down because it was listed as pet friendly. When we arrived, my husband was told that they no longer allow pets, but were willing to make an exception. We were given a room on the first floor which made it very easy for us to walk our dogs. The parking area was small and full, but there was plenty of on street parking right outside the office. We were able to unload and reload our vehicle from the parking lot area before moving it to the street. The room was great for us. I was worried about it being noisy since the parking lot is right outside our room and the stairs to go up to the next levels was next to our room, but it wasn't noisy at all. I would stay here again when visiting Mazatlan.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We flew in a day earlier than our resort was booked so decided to stay at Azteca Inn. The people were VERY nice but the beds were super hard (some people like that) but I do not. The pool had a lot of green and black mold all around it. My daughter went to the pool bathroom and saw lots of dead cockroaches...I guess they do die....probably of mold. Overall the people there were incredibly nice and it was definitely ok to stay there for one night for that price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Worst hotel I've stayed at in Mexico. After reading other reviews from travelers with dogs we chose this hotel on our journey north. No idea which room the rave reviews are talking about nor the "great maid service". Knowing we had dogs we were given a room on the 3rd floor.....no elevator in this run down establishment. No grass nor gravel for dogs & beach is not accessible...unless you know how to fly overt the larger than life resort across the street. Shower was full of black water...drain was plugged....god knows what was brewing in there! Toilet ran non-stop when flushed, fan was noisy & looked like it was going to fly off the ceiling. Panes of glass were missing in the bathroom. Dogs behave much better than humans! We were kept awake until after 2am by loud party in hallway. Security was called & it was finally quiet. In the morning one of the party animals was camped out outside the door playing on his cell phone..great security! I was immediately chewed up either bed bugs or someone's fleas. We paid as much money for the dogs as ourselves. This was for the privilege of their sleeping on the floor. The shower was fixed & the towels used to clean it were left in a dirty heap on the shower floor. We were not given clean towels. We had one clean towel in the room. Save your money...do not go here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabiola a, Sales Manager at Azteca Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Azteca Inn. All your comments are welcome and thankful as they will definitely help us to be more careful about the conditions of our facilities and services.

Please accept our apologies for all the inconveniences during your stay and for not meeting your expectations in our facilities for pets.

Our main goal is to provide the best service and make you feel at home, we have addressed to the department in question the details listed on your review and will make every effort to have our rooms in their best conditions.

It was our pleasure having you as our guest during your stay in Mazatlan.

Receive our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We have been driving from SD to Mexico for twelve years and always stay at the Azteca Inn both going and returning. Over the years we have develpoed many friends and memories in the fine small hotel.
Located in the Gold Zone and only steps to the beach, as well as usually quiet (spring break or Semana Santa excluded) . The rooms are typical mexican hotel but very clean, comfortable, with great wifi and new flat screen tv's. Safe secure parking is a huge plus and get to know Freddy, the nite watchman.The pool and hot tub are great after a day of traveling as well as the small quaint bar run by Arturo. Great guy except he's a Seahawks fan!
We will always recommend and always stay at the Azteca Inn!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool area are generally quieter, although there isn't a bad room in the hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabiola a, Alejandra Inda / Gerente de Ventas at Azteca Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have been staying at the Azteca every year since 1995 and always return. The maids are great about keeping the rooms clean. The waiters at the restaurant are friendly. One of them has been working there for the past 20 years. Parking is bad in the mornings as the locals all come to eat at the restaurant.They have a security guard to watch over the parking area, and keep a chain across the entrance (after breaKfast). This is a plus since I am always on my motorcycle for these trips. The beds are hard, but so are most beds in Mexico. Ceiling fan is good for most of the time, but there is also air conditioning. The room rates are best in the off seasons. Pool area is noisy during holidays.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side are quieter , but parking is worse. I always stay on the 1st floor North sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Traveling with a pet it is not always easy to find a motel that is pet friendly. This motel is in Mazatlans gold zone. Close to beach and restaurants. We were only passing through town but would have considered staying longer. It is certainly not a "resort" but a very decent motel whether traveling with a pet or just looking for a reasonably priced motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#19 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#29 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aguamarina Hotel
Aguamarina Hotel
#36 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#44 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Express Mazatlan
City Express Mazatlan
#39 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Bonita
Playa Bonita
#46 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azteca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azteca Inn

Address: Playa Gaviotas 307 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Azteca Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Azteca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azteca Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azteca Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.