We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, rooms could be better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Resort Mazatlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Resort Mazatlan to your Saves list
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Playa Gaviotas #100 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, rooms could be better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

In general I found this hotel VERY nice. Looks good from outside, nice reception, good location - it is located in front of a beautiful sandy beach. It has a good looking and big swimming pool and our breakfast in the hotel restaurant at the beach was just wonderful.
The rooms were somewhat disappointing, too simple, too bleak and our toilet was leaking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    39
    23
    9
    8
See reviews for
39
38
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were the only Americans at the hotel, from what we could tell. The pool was large and overlooked the beach and ocean. Its very hot and humid in July, and we didn't see the sunset because it was so far north this time of year.

The room was just so-so. We stayed in a King suite with 2 bathrooms and a "sleeper sofa." The sleeper sofa was not that. It was small and uncomfortable, and we put the cushion on the floor for my daughter to sleep. Just 1 TV in the King bedroom. No balcony, which didn't matter because it was so hot.

The room was noisy due to the A/C running all of the time.

Very close to the beach, easy to walk to the surfing area. Surfboard rental right across the street cost $25 for 1 day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

We liked the room layout and size. We did not like that we rarely had hot water. We stayed a few days in January 2012. The hotel staff tried to help find a room with working hot water, but could not find us one. Also note that the hotel had wifi in the lobby but not in the rooms. We liked the pool and the proximity to the beautiful beach. Conveient hotel location

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time in Mexico and will probably be our last. The hotel was ...okay I guess but I should have heeded other reviews. The Joe's Oyster Bar is always extremely loud and the rooms are open air so if you stay here earplugs are a MUST. The wait staff was hit or miss. I would see them fawn over their Mexican guests but it would take forever For us Americans to get waited on or get the check. I made sure to tip well from the start too hoping for the best and it didn't seem to make a difference. Because there werent any other Americans and I was a single woman with two teenaged daughters we didn't venture out much except to the beach or shopping out a little bit during the day. Constant annoying beach vendors that can't take "no"for an answer. Wish I could go home now and never come back.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed at this property and what i liked best:
1. Close to the surfing beach. it was right down the beach only short walk
2. Joes Oyster Bar: Its a great spot for a drink and dancing at night

Here are some videos:
Views from my suite: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qzG11GuaOks
Surfing: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Q0I9WGSlsg
More Surfing: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7D3IQ6WigyU
Joes Oyster Bar: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GeaGIDU7hn0

Room Tip: Get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopland, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

this resort has the potential but we struggled with the service. when I asked where we could mail a postcard the front desk just said "don't know" and walked away. We found a post office less than a block from the resort! TVs are only in Spanish - the other resorts have Spanish and English channels. the kitchen lacked things like dish soap, sponge, dishtowels, knives. the WiFi worked intermittently. Service in the restaurant was spotty - three different people would try to take your order but then forget to bring your drinks. The absolute worse thing however, is Joes Oyster Bar. It blasts disco music until 4 or 5 am every night! No matter which room you sleep in you can't get away from the noise. If you want to party stay here, otherwise go to the Riu or El Rancho up north. Housekeepers did provide good service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side away from Joes Oyster Bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

When we are in Mazatlan, one of our favourite initiatives is to walk along the Malecon. We stay in Old Town and walk north along the Malecon to the Ramada. It's our favourite morning task which allows to remain somewhat fit. We love to make our "reward" a stop at the Ramada Ocean Front Restaurant. It's always well staffed and has a great view. Early mornings are usually sparse of patrons. We recommend the coffe with Bailey's Irish Cream.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Resort Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Playa Gaviotas #100 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Resort Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Resort Hotel Mazatlan is the perfect destination for an unforgettable vacations. Located in the Zona Dorada, the hottest tourist area of Mazatlan, the hotel provides an ideal environment to enjoy the sunsets and the spectacular beaches of the Mexican Pacific coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Resort Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Resort Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.