We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun in Mazatlan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Pelayo Pacific Beach Hotel Mazatlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Don Pelayo Pacific Beach Hotel Mazatlan to your Saves list
Don Pelayo Pacific Beach Hotel Mazatlan
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue del Mar 1111, Mazatlan 1088, Mexico (Formerly Howard Johnson Don Pelayo Mazatlan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
bridgeton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great fun in Mazatlan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2006

I wasn't expecting much when we went to this hotel, knowing that it is one of our cheaper options for the area, but the view was great, we were on road away from the beach and could see the ocean from our balcony. I went with 2 friends and we just took the VW golf-cart cars to the discotec or shopping. With any hotel I suggest that you tip the help and are friendly with the staff. Everything was good and they had a nice little shop down below with sunscreen film and shot glasses. Just in case anyone forgot these items. This was a good trip and I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable stay at a cheap price!

Stayed October 2002
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    7
    11
    5
See reviews for
14
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2006

This is a the low end of the 'tourist' class hotel range. Our first room was decorated in skid-row motif. It was old and worn out. Had little ants in the bathroom. Smelled as only I could imagine an old crack house. But, after some debate and two room changes, we got a much improved, newer room, but not one I would pay to stay in again. There is something wrong with the sewer ventilation system, as it always reeked.
The pool is not bad, but it is on the back side of the hotel, and is in the shade most of the day. Makes for an icy-cold swim, but I like that.
The exercise room is a joke. Most of the equipment is broken, and there is old room junk - including a badly soiled mattress - in the corner of the room.
The bar is old mexico and the locals are very nice. There is always happy hour, probably to make the room more palatable.
The staff is very nice, especially the doormen.
The location is great if you want to have easy access to old town and the golden zone, too. We really liked the old-mexico feel of old town, and plan on staying down there at the La Siesta or the Freeman when we return.
The price is great for this property, but for a few bucks more you can do much better.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2005

This hotel is a nice hotel. Sure I wouldn't recommend it if you planned on spending a lot of time in your hotel but for sleeping and getting ready and your on a budget it works. I went to the pool a couple of times but it doesn't smell great beacause of the swamp behind it. Rather go to the other hotels anyway. It isn't directly on the ocean, it is right across the street, great view and a close walk to all the other hotels. We never had a problem in the hotel, they don't speak the best english but enough that we needed. Overall our time in Mazatlan was great and by staying here it was cheap too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2004

We had a bad experience here that ruined our vacation. Theives entered our room and stole all our cash. We had just arrived and didn't have a chance to convert our money into pesos. The front desk people seemed to not be able to communicate in English very well either. Heads up travelers. avoid this Howard Johnson hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2002

My friend and I both had reservations to stay at the Don Playo and they were lost when we got their. Also DO NOT EXCHANGE YOUR MONEY HERE!! They work on a 9 to 1 ratio. Small shacks across the golden zone have a much better ratio. The best we found was a 9.90 ratio. Also do not stay on the 10th or the 3rd floors wich are the sweets in the regular rooms. Both floors have small walk out ledges that make it easier to climb from room to room out side just look at a picture. With the 3rd floor not only does it have ledges but a building next door is right at the same level for easy acces. I recomend staying anywhere between the 10th and 3rd floor. The rest of the trip was very pleasant. The staff was very nice to us. They were all very helpful they also gave us a better rate and a better room then what we originaly had.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2002

Man, the Howard Johnson Don Pelayo Mazatlan is the best hotel ever. I think that anyone considering staying there should just shut up and sign. Don't be nervous, everyone knows that thieves in Mazatlan are afraid of roaches and possums. They also have great accomodations for lovers of the new "Handsy-Handsy" craze.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2002

The first night we arrived at the Howard Johnson Don Pelayo in Mazatlan our room was burgarized... while we were in the room sleeping!! We lost $480 cash American, 2 pair of tennis shoes, a watch, sun glasses and an electric razor. The hotel's 2nd floor looks out over a shed roof that the thieves use to just walk right up to room windows. The hotel desk relocated us up to the 4th floor...but then continued to rent the 2nd floor out even though there were other rooms available. They continued to put there new guests in harms way. We made it a point to call each new check-in on the 2nd floor to watch out. I feel the whole thing is a set-up. They never called the police either!! We didn't either because they kept saying they would make it right for us with their insurance company. On the last day there, their offer was...if we filed a false police report and claim the TV, microwave, coffee pot were stolen too then they'd give us our cash loses back. This hotel should be avoided. They're crooks. I contacted the Howard Johnson franchise headquarters and they seemed truely upset and told me they'd be getting back with me in 15 days. Stay tuned.......

Was this review helpful? Yes 71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Pelayo Pacific Beach Hotel Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Pelayo Pacific Beach Hotel Mazatlan

Address: Avenue del Mar 1111, Mazatlan 1088, Mexico (Formerly Howard Johnson Don Pelayo Mazatlan)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Don Pelayo Pacific Beach Hotel Mazatlan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Don Pelayo Pacific Beach Hotel Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Don Pelayo Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Howard Johnson Mazatlan
Mazatlan Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Pelayo Pacific Beach Hotel Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.