We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torres Mazatlan Resort

Save Saved
You added Torres Mazatlan Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Torres Mazatlan Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Av. Sabalto Cerritos Esq. Lopez Portillo, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My fiancé and I returned from Mazatlan recently and we are already itching to go back! Torres was a b-e-a-uuutiful place! The rooms are gorgeous and the grounds are amazing. The staff is extremely friendly. Our bartender, Ricardo, was one of our favorites.
There are plenty of activities to do there, as well as on the beach. We para sailed right off the beach from Torres. If you see the parasails and want to give it a go, ask for Luis...he's the best! He also took us deep sea fishing!
We felt very safe, but it was driving to and from the airport that was a little intimidating...but even then, it's a somewhat quick ride.
We stayed in Building A which was right on the beach. Our room was 403A, and I swear to you, our view was breathtaking. My fiancé even said that it looked like something out of a Corona commercial lol. If you want a view, try to get building A. The only thing about being soooo close to the ocean was that the waves crashing on the beach were pretty loud, but it didn't bother us....we actually found it quite soothing.
The crowd is a bit older (we are in our mid to late twenties) but all the guests are so polite and kind. It's very easy to make friends there. I mean, how could you not want to be in a fantastic mood everyday when you're staying in a beautiful resort?!
Like a lot of the other reviewers said, the beds are hard as rock, but it definitely wasn't going to ruin my trip.
All in all, I could not recommend this place anymore! Will be returning!

Room Tip: 403A has an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    63
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
48
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We just returned from a week with our three young (ages 5-10) grandchildren at Torres Mazatlan. This resort is amazing. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay happy. The grounds are very clean.
Most importantly...................We don't know why people are afraid to go to Mazatlan. We never felt in the least bit unsafe. We were never out by ourselves late at night, but we wouldnt do that anywhere. I am so sorry that Mazatlan is getting this bum rap. We would go again and again and take our grandchildren and never worry about it. If you are afraid of Mazatlan..............then this resort is for you. It is gated and the only people you encounter is the staff and other guests. Do yourself a favor.............go to Mexico!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I went for are 21st anniversary.We loved it!!! Everyone was very nice we met a lot of people that we can call friends.We felt completely safe and next time we will bring are children.The restaurant and bar were fantastic.I truly have nothing to complain about the trip at all.My biggest tip would be to find a driver (plumonia) SP?That will take you around to site see.We had the same guy everyday cause we liked him and he took us to all the local places cause Im not into tourist stuff.Also a must see is The cathedral the only tourist place we went too it was breathtaking.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor I'm not sure what tower it was but It was but we were happy.Id love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

we spent 5 days/4 nights at this resort, on the 4th floor in tower D, and it was wonderful..the staff was especially friendly, the buildings and grounds clean, and the area beautiful...we had a one bedroom, but chose to sleep on the pull down murphy bed which was fine...then we could listen to the waves with the sliding doors open all night...all tiled and spacious...the double pool was nice and warm with a slide, and an occasional volleyball net...a jacuzzi nestled in the foliage is relaxing...the plants are gorgeous, and there are many activities everyday....the 2/day happy hr, one evening had a thank-you evening with free tecate, margaritas, and dacquires, aling with a mariachi band....the la palapa restaurant had some fine fresh seafood...we ate there everyday...one day we bought fresh shrimp from a man right on the beach in front, and made a huge salad....the hospitality is amazing and both guests and staff very friendly...we walked down the beach many times, and to the marina...it's easy to take a bus or taxi to old town or the seawall....we loved it here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Six of us came to Torres Mazatlan upon the reprsentations that our rooms would have WiFi...we could take a week away only if we could stay in touch once or twice a day. But no wifi in the rooms. Extremely weak signal, with frequent drops. After trying different areas like the balcony, standing by windows, standing outside our room, we could not get a decent signal or stay connected. Finally, literally sat outside the general managers office and we could get this signal..two bars, but more consistent. It is a shame management would advertise WiFi in the rooms when there really is not. We would have chosen another place to stay.

Grounds are nice, staff is friendly and you can drink the water. But if Wifi is important to you, you should look elsewhere.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I spent Valentine's Week at Torres. What a change from the February weather at home in Oregon! We loved seeing the iguanas around the pool basking in the sunshine -- we did some basking of our own.

Their La Palapa restaurant served some delicious food at a pretty good value for being right on the beach. I'm a vegetarian and even with that limit, I had lots of variety of food; my wife and our friends enjoyed a wider variety of their food. We enjoyed the musical entertainers, including Mundo Sanchez, Sergio Avila, and Rafael Rodriquez. [We bought a CD from each of these performers]. Our friends ordered an Irish Coffee one evening. The preparation of the drink was entertainment of its own -- liquid fire! My wife particularly enjoyed their fruit/yogurt/granola parfait, having that two different times in the course of the week.

We had a fourth story room and could see the beach and the pool from our balcony. The staff was very friendly. I got to the point of saying Hola! to almost everybody! :-)

The only ding that I'd give the resort is that the bed sheets weren't quite the right size for the mattress, so they'd slip off.

Joy and I are already looking forward to another trip south of the border!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at Torres Mazatlan Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and review. Our La Palapa Restaurant is a gem we are very proud of. We hope to have you stay with us again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Relaxing, extremely friendly, clean - but with a few bugs... this is the tropics.

As a general statement they try to get to know you by face / name. Your picture is taken when you get there and is placed in the employees meeting area. It make you feel good when they tend to know who you are.

I agree with some of the reviews - the beds are on the harder side; but then I'm sure the same complaint would be seen if they were too soft, no they don't have sleep-number beds.

The restaurant and waiters are great - they cooked some shrimp someone gave us for free plus they threw in chips/salsa.

Sitting under the palapas watching the waves is so very relaxing - gives you time to think...or not. We are already planning another trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torres Mazatlan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torres Mazatlan Resort

Address: Av. Sabalto Cerritos Esq. Lopez Portillo, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty lodging in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Torres Mazatlan Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Torres Mazatlan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torres Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torres Mazatlan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.