We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location very poor service and rooms not too clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Emporio Mazatlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Emporio Mazatlan to your Saves list
Emporio Mazatlan
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Camaron Sabalo No. 51 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
el paso
1 review
“Great location very poor service and rooms not too clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Seriously do they have a shortage in towels???? The room rate should cover the shortage.a family of 4 needs 4 towels so why such a big fuss in getting 4 towels. Not to say trying to get 4 pool towels! I had to carry( from room to pool) the 4 wet towels used the nite before to get 4 new ones. This hotel has so much potential but the GM is not doing much about it! What a shame!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revenue M, Director General at Emporio Mazatlan, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about the troubles you went through during your stay.

Our commitment is to serve all our guests and provide the most satisfying accomodations for you to enjoy your trip.

We hope sincerily to see you again as our guest soon,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    52
    35
    21
    21
See reviews for
37
33
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

You will not be in the room much if you are a true traveler. The place was pretty nice. It was an expensive room. We wanted the ocean view but it was way over priced as well.

The breakfast was great! The dinner and happy hour was fairly cheap. Nice staff in the kitchen.

Would I stay here again? Maybe.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revenue M, Director General at Emporio Mazatlan, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
we want to thank you for all your comments, we are happy to read that you enjoy your stay with us,

we hope to see you again as our guest soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The place was bad from the start, very overpriced, average to ugly room, slow service. The did not clean the room until we called and it was around 4pm. Too much noise, very bad parking and valet service, overall you pay too much for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revenue M, Director General at Emporio Mazatlan, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
we appreciate your taking the time to share your comments with us, we regret all inconveniences during your stay and we want to tell you we have taken appropriate action in each of the points that you mentioned.

we hope you give us the opportunity to see you again as our guest in the next future.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have come to the emporia on multiple occasions...the only thing I have to say is that they have a hot water problem. Taking a shower with a constant water temperature is impossible...if someone else in the hotel uses hot or cold water (not sure what the issue is) the water temp jumps drastically.,..EVEN with this problem i love the staff, the rooms are comfortable and clean, the location on the private beach with their pool and great restaurant on the beach makes it one of my favorite hotels in mazatlan.

Room Tip: they have better king size beds available but if you´re traveling solo there´s no need to get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revenue M, Director General at Emporio Mazatlan, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
All the Emporio Staff want to thank you for choosing us for your vacation and we regret the inconvenience you had during your stay with us as. We are working in the water pressure to avoid inconveniences to our guests.

On the other hand thank you very much for your comments about the staff, rooms and of course for being one of your favorite hotels, we hope to see you soon in this your house to keep serving like you and your family deserve,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Now I am not one to complain but this hotel is one I would not recommend. It was an overall poor experience. It was our honeymoon and I made contact with Emporio reservations and we were still given a room with 2 double beds. Also I booked through Iprefer which is suppose to give you a room upgrade. The front desk bluntly said if you want an upgrade you have to pay. Finally after into 3 days of my 7 day trip trying I explain my situation I was giving an upgrade. The pool side bar rarely had a bartender and we were asked once during our trip if we wanted a drink. We gave up and went to a near by store and get beer. I could go on and on. There were two good things about this hotel, the restaurant and the beach. There are many other hotels in this area, do not pick this one.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revenue M, Director General at Emporio Mazatlan, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We want to apologize for all the inconveniences during ypur stay,

we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in a near future,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My hubby and I stayed at this hotel for four days on our first trip to Mexico. The Private beach was the highlight of the trip and their restaurant right on the beach front was really good. The food ( we only ate breakfast there) was great. The staff was very helpful and nice. The rooms and pools were clean and well maintained. The only complaint is the difficulty to control the shower water temperature especially at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revenue M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Emporio Mazatlan, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
we want to thank you for all your comments, we are happy to read that you enjoy your stay with us, we are working to be better everyday.

we hope to see you again as our guest soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel Emporio is in the "Golden Zone" which is a great area especially if you aren't driving. The staff was AMAZING! They were very friendly and helpful. It's a beautiful and very clean hotel! Although the room was a bit small, we weren't in the room much as we were out on the beach and touring. The beds were comfortable and we had a great view of the beach and pools. There were only two small problems. One was the air turned off one night, but it was a fluke and didn't happen again. I informed the front desk and they took care of it. The other one was I was taking a siesta and had the do not disturb on the door and the housekeeper knocked to ask if we needed more towels. It was ok because I needed to get up and hadn't set an alarm.

The hotel has a fantastic restaurant with a breakfast buffet at a great price! It has an omelet station and a waffle/pancake station. Our service was generally great, with one exception, but it was still ok.

I loved that there was a small private, elevated beach area with cabanas. It was great to lay on the chairs and have a view of the beach.

Room Tip: I would recommend splurging for the junior suites or end units as you'll get more of the fresh a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revenue M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Emporio Mazatlan, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
All the staff want to thank you for your time and your comments, we are happy to hear your really enjoy your vacations with us and we hope to see again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emporio Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo No. 51 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Emporio Mazatlan 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With architecture in the contemporary style, the hotel offers a stunning view of the Pacific Ocean and the ideal atmosphere for enjoying a relaxing break in its refurbished facilities. You can also enjoy a wide variety of gastronomic delights, in particular our seafood specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Emporio Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Emporio Hotel Mazatlan
Emporio Resort Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emporio Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.