We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the staff is so friendly and the service is number one.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Flores Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Las Flores Beach Resort to your Saves list
Las Flores Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Playa Gaviotas 212 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Kamloops, Bc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“the staff is so friendly and the service is number one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

All services we experienced at the Las Flores hotel were the best. The room, a junior suite, was cleaned thoroughly everyday. This suite was perfect for us as we had a beautiful view of the ocean and sunrise/ sunsets from our balcony. The gentle sound of the ocean at night lulled us to sleep...truly a paradise. The beach is the best for swimming.

The location is perfect, close to other hotels, businesses, restaurants, bus service and only a few minutes to historic Mazaltan. There was nothing we did not like about this hotel. We would highly recommend it to those wanting to visit Mazatlan.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    69
    28
    28
    15
See reviews for
50
67
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mn
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Hada great week at this hotel. Stayed on the 7th floor which had 2 double beds, balcony and kitchenette. Kitchenette had everything you need including stovetop, fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. Beautiful view off the balcony but you had to dart the pigeons.. who would come over if you had any food at all out there.

Room itself was nothing special. However, the service was fantastic. We asked for extra blankets and they were there in 5minutes. Asked for clean up after a pigeon got in the room and crapped all over, again up in 5 minutes (hint, keep your balcony shut all the way). When we got there we were given a $30 voucher for drinks in the lounge..which was a nice surprise. Loung was nice.... nothing happening at night but a good place to go for happy hour. Free popcorn, peanuts, some days live music or karaoke. Only ate at the restaurant once for lunch, we ordered a kilo of peel/eat shrimp with a bucket of 6 small pacifico's for about $22 which is WAY too much for 2 people to eat. The location of this hotel is the best thing. It is in th center of everything. We only took a pulmonia once; we had walked to La Machado, and took the pulmonia back. Otherwise you can walk everywhere. Felt safe at all times, I would definitely come back. As far as value,we got a fantastic deal. We planned on staying at the Azteca but paid maybe $30 more per person for the entire week to stay right here on the beach. And with the $30 voucher, that make it even less. No problems at all.... only fun and sun.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at Las Flores! Although we were only on the second floor, we still had a beautiful view of the ocean! The staff is friendly, and I thoroughly enjoyed eating breakfast every morning outside and looking at the ocean, absolutley stunning and beautiful! I did not enjoe the lunches as much as the breakfasts, so would go elsewhere for lunch and dinner. I found the pool to be quite cold, so unless they have heated it up a little, prepare for the shock! Like many others have mentioned, the location is perfect, within walking distance of almost everything you need, and is right along the beach! The beds are quite firm, but I found them to be comfortable and slept extremely well. I for sure would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hotel has the best beach area in Mazatlan, hands down. I ran along the malecon and the beach several days and I must say, no other hotel has a better beach are than this one. It has an awesome island right in front where you can kayak or sail across. The room had a nice size balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. It was always clean, and the staff was courteous (unlike the Pueblo Bonito employees who stand out for being extremely obnoxious). The food at the restaurant was also great (especially the ceviches and the machaca).
Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

We recently flew down to Mazatlan courtesy of Westjet Vacations with seven nights at the Last Flores Beach Resort.

By the time our airport transfer deposited us at the front door of the Las Flores, it was 8:20 pm. Check-in was smooth but when our luggage attendant opened the door to our home for the next seven days, we were quite underwhelmed, to put it very mildly. The “ocean front studio with kitchenette” room in 1113 did not look anything like the picture we saw on the Las Flores website. No balcony, not the best view, and incredibly small.

I don’t think we lingered for more than ten minutes before going downstairs to inquire about a possible room change. Unfortunately, it was the tail end of the Mazatlan Marathon that weekend and the hotel was essentially booked up. And since we didn’t know whether or not we wanted to stay in the same class of room or upgrade to a suite for an additional $25 per night, the front desk folks told us to wait until the next day, when we would have our pick of rooms.

After having breakfast at Las Flores’ restaurant the next morning (not cheap but not overly expensive), we decided to upgrade to a suite. For an extra $150, given how cheap our package was to begin with, it was not a major decision to be roomy and comfortable for the remainder of our stay. The front desk folks said that we could have a look at a renovated suite and then decide. The minute the door to room 703 was opened for us, we had instantly made up our minds. (The room is exactly like the one pictured on their website as the “deluxe suite with kitchenette” or what others call a “master suite”.) Even our bellman – who asked us on the way up in the elevator what room we were currently in – assured us that we’d like this new room. So as quickly as possible, we went back up to 1113, packed out and moved downstairs.

The suite was such an improvement that for the rest of our stay, we were quite tolerant of any other issues, like the fact that the wireless internet signal (which was actually decent in 1113) was good only in the hallway right inside our door, that the water in the kitchen and bathroom sinks literally took minutes to get hot, and that the air conditioner was loud but did not deliver any coolness. (There were also minor things like the kitchen knife being duller than dull and that until I went to the Mega store and bought myself a bright yellow facecloth, we weren’t given any with our other towels.) This being December, we really didn’t need the air conditioner anyway, because the nights cooled off substantially after sundown at 6:00 pm.

[A 360 degree view of our category of suite is available on the Las Flores website, http://www.lasflores.com.mx/grooms_en.php. A more detailed version of this review is available on our blog at http://boromach.blogspot.com/]

For those wondering what they need to pack for personal amenities, even room 1113 had a hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. Personal toiletries in both rooms included just soap and shampoo; nothing else (no shower cap, no body lotion). In 703, we had a clock radio; there wasn’t one in 1113. There is no ice to be had anywhere, so plan to make your own if you need any. Every floor has a tap from which purified water can be drawn. We drank from it with no problems for the last three days of our stay after our bottled water ran out.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Las Flores Beach Resort and would definitely recommend it – as long as you don’t end up in a room like 1113 when you’re expecting something more. The location is excellent and you probably won’t find many other hotels that are in closer proximity to the beach. The place is clean and the staff are competent and friendly. Most important of all, you’re within walking distance of virtually everything you need. Not only did we walk several times to the Mega to get groceries, we even managed to do a beach walk all the way down to the Mercado Centro one day (although we skipped the trek back and took the bus).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

The other reviews are misleading - there's nothing particularly outstanding, nor particularly bad, about this hotel. It's just your average adequate Mexican beach hotel. The restaurant is not "inexpensive" and there are cheaper places to eat in the neighborhood. When booking, make sure you specify you want a room with the balcony facing the ocean since the rooms facing the street cost the same and have no balconies.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

If your're looking for a quaint very friendly hotel this is the place to stay in Mazatlan. It is right in the middle of the Golden zone. Most rooms have well supplied kitchenettes, are very clean and comfortable. The maids are the best and as for hotel staff they were wonderful, warm and friendly. They really do make this a great hotel. I can't wait to go back again and as the staff make you feel like family. The beach is fabulous and the water warm.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Flores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Flores Beach Resort

Address: Av. Playa Gaviotas 212 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Flores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Flores Beach Resort is located directly on the beach in the Heart of Mazatlan's Golden Zone, across from Deer Island. Las Flores Beach Resort is a family hotel on the best beach in Mazatlán! The hotel is 25 minutes from the Mazatlan International Airport (MZT). It has exactly the combination that most people are looking for, a beach location, great prices, beautiful views, experienced staff, and excellent service; The beach is beautiful and quiet and safe for swimming, with palapas and loungers on the beach, Motorized and non motorized water sports are available as well as massages ($) on the beach. There is a family pool with a waterful a and a separate area for the children. and in the other side of the hotel, there is a quiet pool area. The main restaurant, bar, gym sundry shops are at main lobby level. In the Golden Zone you will find night clubs, restaurants, airline offices, banks, cinemas, jewelry stores, handicrafts, all within walking distance from the hotel. The lobby bar " Las Rejas " will DELIGHT you with the most beautiful sunset view as it is located on the beach front. The bar offers happy Hour daily , live music and dancing every night. Enjoy your favorite drinks like a Piña colada, a traditional margarita, or a Pacifico beer from the local brewery. The restaurant Las Rejas is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well room service from 7 am to 9:30pm. The restaurant offers indoor and terrace seating wich is located on the beach front. The hotel offers FREE wi-fi access . Las Flores Beach Resort offers 43 one-bedroom suites with kitchenettes and a terrace with an ocean front view , 61 studios with kitchenettes and a terrace with and ocean view and 15 standard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Las Flores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Flores Beach Hotel Mazatlan
Las Flores Beach Mazatlan
Las Flores Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Flores Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.