We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What I Expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Las Flores Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Las Flores Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Flores Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Playa Gaviotas 212 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Edwardsville, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I chose the Las Flores because of location in the Golden Zone. From the outside it looks ok and seems to be kept quite well. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The room was fairly clean but the tile on the walls was shabby at best and the dresser for clothes barely worked and was no less than 30 years old and small. The bathroom shower was tile and no tub. It had old jealousy windows and you just didn't feel like it was clean. The television only had spanish channels so unless you had the internet you had no news or information available to you. They have two lovely pools but both are not heated so they are to cold to get in. The hot tub is ok I guess if you can use it because it is always filled with little kids. The room is far from sunny and airy, you need the lights on to make it feel bright. I could deal with the place if the pools were heated and you could watch tv at night. The beds are harder than sleeping on a park bench. Believe me I am not picky and always looking for value. I only ask for bed that is halfway comfortable, tv with english speaking channels and warm water in the pool. Teh beds consist of a matterss on a slav of concrete with no box spring. I love Mazatlan but if Las Flores expects return customers they need to seriously look at what they have to offer. There are way to many better places for $10 more per night. I am pretty darn honest with my reviews and I am not stretching this review in anyway. I always read the negative reviews 1st and I had a feeling I may be disappointed. This place makes Motel 6 look like the Hilton

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    67
    27
    29
    14
See reviews for
43
65
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Sure, there's a "spa" and a "pool", but temper your expectations. This is a decent hotel, with a bar and kitchen that you'll dine at once, and has two pools, one of which is perpetually in the shade, and hundreds of kids flocking about thanks to the very good deals... but is still a nice place nonetheless. Our beds were definitely Mexican (I live here) - rock-hard with a wisp of a pillow. Everything was clean. No heating/AC, so keep that in mind - but the nights were cool and days were warm, so we never had problems. The restaurant was fine. Breakfast was good, and we once ordered the $299 peso shrimp/beer combo they advertise - a great deal if you don't mind peeling your own shrimp. Anyway, good for the price considering the rest of the options in the area. But if you're looking for a resort to US standards, try the Pueblo Bonito. Or, if you're looking for something centrally located and off the tourist path, try Old Mazatlan downtown, which is much more quaint and has great food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youbou, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

fantastic ocean view kitchenette, just as I booked. what a view...WOW! Older hotel but full of character in the ceiling of our room (all the brickwork!!!) This resort was within walking distance of the Camaron Sabalo (main drag in the Golden Zone IE: the tourist zone...tons of vendors) We ate elsewhere so cannot review the bar/lounge or the restaurant areas. However, the live music on Friday & Saturday was great .......so typical of Mazatlan!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed on the top floor, fantastic view from our balcony! Older hotel, but had everything we needed, full kitchenette, on the beach, close to shops... Nice, helpful staff. Great price. We'll stay at Las Flores again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed at Las Flores in March. The hotel is older (but is well kept and clean). So, expect the hotel to be of the era it was designed and built. We had an ocean front kitchenette -great view of the ocean and the beach. The staff were all great and accommodating. The food at the hotel restaurant was average -nothing spectacular. But, the food served around town was pretty darn good. Previously I was reluctant to eat Mexican steak, but had the best t-bone ever in a local eatery.

First time to Mazatlan for my wife and I despite the rumors of violence (between cartels). There is a large patrolling military presence in the way of what I understood to be marine convoys. Or, troops of soldiers riding shotgun on the backs of military trucks and vehicles. At first this was a little alarming as it makes you wonder if there's something about to go down. You get used to it and appreciate what is going on and that these people are doing a good job. In Canada and USA there is plenty of crime that is not selective. That is, in Mexico, the crime is mostly (not always) between the cartels. Unfortunately, sometime innocent people get caught in the crossfire. This happens in Canada and USA too. Worse though, is that in Canada or USA it's often some lunatic that decides to open up on a crowd of innocents. Enough about the violence.

We thoroughly enjoyed Mazatlan. It is a wonderful city. The malecon is second to none for it's fantastic expanse. It bridges a distance all the way from the Golden Zone to El Centro capturing a beautiful view of the seascape. The Golden Zone is a great mix of hard working locals. There is everything you would ever need from great food to your basic needs available. For example, in the Golden Zone an embroidered tee-shirt costs you $20.00, you can get the same in El Centro for $5.00.

We befriended a local pulmonia driver and arranged a private tour with him to the surrounding areas. What a fantastic trip! We drove to the colonial town of Concordia where we enjoyed a beverage at the saloon with the locals, and Copala where we enjoyed a tasty meal followed by the best banana-coconut cream pie in the world. Along the way we visited brick, furniture, bread and pastry, and tile makers.

The weather and people of Mazatlan are great. The weather tended to be wonderfully warm during the day and perfectly cool in the evening during this time of year. The people, a little cautious at first, but very friendly once you open up to them.

The four star rating we gave is based on this resort being a budget friendly hotel and that it is clean and well located. Overall a great trip, we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Las Flores is an older but well kept resort. It is a more-than-reasonable accomodation especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife, two kids (10 & 14) and I stayed here May 20-26. Everything was pretty much perfect. Although we arrived around 1:30 or 2:00, well before check in time, Patricia at the front desk got us in our room shortly after we arrived. Elmiña, the maid who cleaned our room, did an excellent job. The wifi worked fine.The two pools were great and the beach was wonderful. All the staff were helpful and friendly. My wife thought the beds were too hard but me and the kids thought they were just fine. We ate at the hotel restaurant twice and both times the food and service were great. My only complaint was that during the last two days of our stay a stale cigarette smell, like that of an ashtray, was coming through the AC vent. That was a very minor thing though, so five stars for Las Flores!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta, canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Mexican staff are great as would be expected. The hotel facilities were badly designed to start with and have not been well maintained since. The public spaces have very low ceilings thus are very noisy. The bedrooms are cramped and poorly furnished. The ensuite washrooms are were poorly built and are badly maintained. At least 6 flushes to clear one toilet.

Room Tip: Just stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
#31 of 75 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#22 of 75 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#20 of 75 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Coral Island Hotel and Spa
Coral Island Hotel and Spa
#29 of 75 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
3.9 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#3 of 75 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Charming, Beach...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 75 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Flores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Flores Beach Resort

Address: Av. Playa Gaviotas 212 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Flores Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Flores Beach Resort is located directly on the beach in the Heart of Mazatlan's Golden Zone, across from Deer Island. Las Flores Beach Resort is a family hotel on the best beach in Mazatlán! The hotel is 25 minutes from the Mazatlan International Airport (MZT). It has exactly the combination that most people are looking for, a beach location, great prices, beautiful views, experienced staff, and excellent service; The beach is beautiful and quiet and safe for swimming, with palapas and loungers on the beach, Motorized and non motorized water sports are available as well as massages ($) on the beach. There is a family pool with a waterful a and a separate area for the children. and in the other side of the hotel, there is a quiet pool area. The main restaurant, bar, gym sundry shops are at main lobby level. In the Golden Zone you will find night clubs, restaurants, airline offices, banks, cinemas, jewelry stores, handicrafts, all within walking distance from the hotel. The lobby bar " Las Rejas " will DELIGHT you with the most beautiful sunset view as it is located on the beach front. The bar offers happy Hour daily , live music and dancing every night. Enjoy your favorite drinks like a Piña colada, a traditional margarita, or a Pacifico beer from the local brewery. The restaurant Las Rejas is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well room service from 7 am to 9:30pm. The restaurant offers indoor and terrace seating wich is located on the beach front. The hotel offers FREE wi-fi access . Las Flores Beach Resort offers 43 one-bedroom suites with kitchenettes and a terrace with an ocean front view , 61 studios with kitchenettes and a terrace with and ocean view and 15 standard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Las Flores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Flores Beach Hotel Mazatlan
Las Flores Beach Mazatlan
Las Flores Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Flores Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.