We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Flores, great vacation spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Flores Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Las Flores Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Flores Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Playa Gaviotas 212 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Abbotsford, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Las Flores, great vacation spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had a wonderful trip to Mazatlan, March 9th to 16th. We had a ocean view kitchenette stuido, it was one of the older units on the 10th floor, but very comfortable and very, very clean. The room cleaning staff were excellent. Oh the view of the ocean and the sunsets were amazing on our balcony.The whole staff at the Las Flores was amazing, from Javier in the restuarant to Martin at the front entrance. We didn't have a micro wave in our room so we asked for one and was given it right away.
The food was great and well as the drinks. My favorite was the mojitos and the nacho's with refried beans with cheese and salsa. We would go back again, we just loved it there. We have nothing bad to say about the place. The perfect place in the Golden Zone and the perfect resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    67
    28
    28
    15
See reviews for
47
67
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turtle Lake, WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Great hotel as always. We have been coming here for seven years now.

From the moment you arrive and are greeted by Martin, Antonio, and Lupe, you will feel like you are home. The wait staff in the bar and restaurant,with Eduardo, Omar, Javier, Edwin, and all of the Jesus's are just so much fun to two Norte Americano turistas.

The cleaning senoras that we have enjoyed- Conchita and Maria especially are so good and so much fun to visit with.

If you want to know about the beautiful flowers, ask Martin, the head gardener how he keeps everything so nice

No problems with Mazatlan at all. Please go and ignore the warnings about violence.

RJ-Turtle Lake, Wi

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have been to Mazatlan 3 or 4 times before and always had a great time and was a little worried about staying at a new place .Well my worries didnt last long as we were great at the entrance to Las Flores and warmly welcomed by staff .We had a extra person with us and I was worried this might be a problem but no worries the extra person paid the extra person fee which wasnt that much .The staff at Las Flores are great and make you feel at home ,the place is clean ,really clean .We ate there a couple of times and the food was good ,service great. The Las Flores is a older place but I would give up luxury anyday to be at a place that makes you feel you belong. It is with in walking distance to many shops and resturants and small sports bars not to mention Panama Bakery ummm.It was slow there this time I was there and that is mainly due to the Bad Publicity ,which is sad that the people who depend on tourist has to suffer .We do have the same problem at home but I guess its more comforting to hide in your own house that so far away .Anyway thats my opinion and I feel if you play safe you will be safe there .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

THIS IS A LONG REVIEW BUT PLEASE READ ALL OF IT. I will give the good comments first. Edwardo, wait staff around the pool area, was great. He helped make our friends birthday very special. We ordered Champagne and he then brought us a piece of cake to share to help celebrate. Second, Elsy the woman that cleaned our room most of our 28 days, did a TERRIFIC job, thanks Elsy. Conchita also cleaned at least once, I didn’t see others to get their names but all were great.
Ok, to the bad stuff! We booked our trip 7 months in advance to ensure we got the type of room we wanted. Since we were going to be in Mazatlan during Carnival, we just wanted to make sure the hotel was not full any of the nights we needed. When we checked in on Saturday, Feb. 4, we were put in room 1013. We went to the room and directly back downstairs. The room booked and PAID for was for an Oceanview, balcony and kitchenette. The room we were given had a view of the pool and no balcony. We were then told that they can’t guarantee the room type and they were full and that was the only room available but we could change on Monday. We didn’t book a Standard room; we paid for a certain room type and should have been given that initially. There are only 3 rooms on that pool side, 913, 1013 and 1113. Those are the ONLY rooms without a balcony. WHY WHY was this room given to us since we were going to be there for 28 nights. Had we not complained, we feel they would have left us there the whole time since they didn’t mention upon check-in, that this was temporary and could be moved later. Another problem, we have been in hotels in Mexico at least 15 times, we have had beds that were FIRM but this one was impossible to sleep on. It really was like cement with a thin layer of carpet over the top. The mattress looked like a normal one but it was not. We did not sleep for the two nights we were in that room because of the bed. When we mentioned this when changing rooms, they said “oh, we can get you a mattress pad”, why is it not already on the bed or offered upon check-in?
We had noticed TripAdvisor reviews, many that paid for an upgrade (King Junior Suite) they all got room 808 and that is also the one we got. First we were told there were no King Junior Suites available for our entire stay. After we complained again about the room they tried to stick us with (1013), we were told there was one available, after all and it was 808. This is a beautiful room but have to warn you, the smell after the room had been shut up for several hours was awful. Had to open slider (oh, by the way, it does not lock) and the front door to get a breeze through to air the room out. Take air freshener with you, you will need it.
All said and done, we would stay there again but would stand up for our rights more the next time and ensure we get the room we paid for. Do not take a room that ends in a 13, it will be an awful room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I found this hotel to be (yes) old, but, very clean. I wouldn't, in fact, change anything about the charm of the place. The newly updated rooms are attractive but don't have the same charm. My only complaint would be to eliminate smoking from the premises. We were two units down from smokers and could smell it in our room. This really shouldn't be allowed.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this place if you have an allergy to smoke. You might want to check with them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, Manitoba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have stayed at many of the hotels on the golden zone. The Las Flores may not be a new hotel, but its clean and the staff are very courteous.. helpful in every way. If you get a ocean side room.. your right on the ocean below. What I like most is that it has wireless internet in the rooms..something not all the smaller hotels have. Being able to communicate with home conveniently is important. The location is prime to walk to most places including Joe's Oyster Bar next door.

Room Tip: If you get ocean side... take it. The hotel is right on the ocean... surf right below you. The pel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We just returned from four weeks at the Las Flores Beach Resort (Jan 16 - Feb. 13) The hotel has various rooms depending on your needs and budget. We stayed in an ocean front older studio which was extremely clean and very adequate when you spend most of your day on the beach or exploring Mazatlan. The maid service was excellent, the bed sheets were changed frequently and the tiled floor washed every day, the maids were very friendly and although there was often a language barrier they always seemed to be able to understand if you needed anything. (Don't forget their tip which we like to leave on the pillow daily as we did not seem to get the same maid every day.) On our departure from the hotel, management showed us their updated rooms which are absolutely beautiful and I think we may indulge in one of these next year. In our opinion Las Flores has the best beach in Mazatlan and the ocean is perfect for kids to play in the water as the waves are not too rough. The restaurant and waiter service is excellent, most of them speak English and are extremely friendly and courteous. Again, don't foreget to tip, they work so hard to please you. We were served mostly by Eduardo, Jerry, Fidel and Jorge and after four weeks stay at Las Flores they seemed like old friends. I would like to mention that I left my purse on a chair on the terrace at 10.00 PM. one evening, I never missed it as my husband had a key to our room. The purse was found by the waiters and returned to my room around 12.30 AM., totally intact, including money and credit cards, many thanks to Jorge and Fidel for your honesty. These people are great and yes perhaps if they had not found the purse it may have disappeared by the morning as the chair it was left on was backed on to the beach but that would happen anywhere. Mexico is getting a raw deal from the media, We never felt threated in any way in Mazatlan. I would not frequent the border towns in Mexico but Mazatlan is no worse than any other city in Canada or the US. Give Las Flores a try, if you want posh they have it but if you are on a budget they have great accommodation for a very reasonable price. The location of this hotel is right in the Golden Zone at the front (so many restaurants) and directly on the beach at the back, what more could you ask. Every day is a day in Paradise, sun, sand, sea, sunsets and starry nights....... Give them a try, you won't be disappointed. This is our second visit to Las Flores and God willing we will be there again next year. THANK YOU LAS FLORES... WHAT A GREAT STAY!!!

Room Tip: I believe that all the rooms with a kitchen at this hotel have an ocean view. Although I have not se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Flores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Flores Beach Resort

Address: Av. Playa Gaviotas 212 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Flores Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Flores Beach Resort is located directly on the beach in the Heart of Mazatlan's Golden Zone, across from Deer Island. Las Flores Beach Resort is a family hotel on the best beach in Mazatlán! The hotel is 25 minutes from the Mazatlan International Airport (MZT). It has exactly the combination that most people are looking for, a beach location, great prices, beautiful views, experienced staff, and excellent service; The beach is beautiful and quiet and safe for swimming, with palapas and loungers on the beach, Motorized and non motorized water sports are available as well as massages ($) on the beach. There is a family pool with a waterful a and a separate area for the children. and in the other side of the hotel, there is a quiet pool area. The main restaurant, bar, gym sundry shops are at main lobby level. In the Golden Zone you will find night clubs, restaurants, airline offices, banks, cinemas, jewelry stores, handicrafts, all within walking distance from the hotel. The lobby bar " Las Rejas " will DELIGHT you with the most beautiful sunset view as it is located on the beach front. The bar offers happy Hour daily , live music and dancing every night. Enjoy your favorite drinks like a Piña colada, a traditional margarita, or a Pacifico beer from the local brewery. The restaurant Las Rejas is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well room service from 7 am to 9:30pm. The restaurant offers indoor and terrace seating wich is located on the beach front. The hotel offers FREE wi-fi access . Las Flores Beach Resort offers 43 one-bedroom suites with kitchenettes and a terrace with an ocean front view , 61 studios with kitchenettes and a terrace with and ocean view and 15 standard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Las Flores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Flores Beach Hotel Mazatlan
Las Flores Beach Mazatlan
Las Flores Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Flores Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.