We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seaside Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Quijote Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Quijote Inn to your Saves list
El Quijote Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n | esq. con Tiburon, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 77 Hotels in Mazatlan
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Seaside Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We didn't stay here, so know nothing about the rooms, but we did spend a very pleasant afternoon on the beautiful--and largely deserted--beach, right in front of the restaurant, which was happy to serve us cervezas in the sand. We did get up off our chairs long enough to have lunch in the restaurant, where the service was slow...but the coconut shrimp were terrific. Not only is the beach large, but it is also (mostly) free from the frequent vendors of all items large and small. Hard to imagine a more relaxing place to read and relax.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyBMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Torrance, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Although the location and price is good, the hotel is old and run down. We rented a two room suite at ground level. The first room had broken plumbing. We moved to another room and the stove did not work nor did the hot water in the shower. They had one bar of soap and one shampoo for four people! We stayed one night because we were tired of traveling and left the next day. The pool & Jacuzzis were cold. The food and service in the restaurant were terrible. The bartender was pre-occupied with his phone and girlfriend. Overall this place lacks management and maintenance. Costa De Pro is just down the street and is far superior for the same cost. Call on the phone for a cheaper rate then the internet.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mazatlan hotels

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

I run a Tour Company called www.vpvacations.com and if you want a cheap air and hotel or just hotel rates give me a call. Quijote is a very nice hotel but DO NOT USE your credit card at this hotels restaurant as they are using their credit card machine to get your CC info to make duplicate cards to make charges. I Had 12 of my customer get their CC info take in April and now my information on my AMX card last week

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cancunman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

This is a small, boutique hotel, nice restaurant, right on the beach. Been going for years. Just a warning: they rent out the hotel for both American and Mexican spring break college students WITHOUT security at night to keep things sane. All night they drank beer, parties, screamed, and played music. The Mexican students came the day before we left, thank goodness, since the next morning all the hallways were covered with sand, the elevator was broken and there were no less than 1,000 beer cans on the grounds. Insane. If you didn't know, Mexicans know how to party until daylight. Not so great if you prefer to sleep at night. So, nice place but avoid at all costs during the 3 weeks of Spring Break.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinPMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Beach, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

We have been staying here on vacations for more than 20 years. Great staff, extremely helpful. The beds are very comfortable (they did used to have the concrete slab with a mattress on top, but no more) and the rooms are typical hacienda type, which I find charmingly Mexican. Who wants to stay in Mexico in a standard room that looks like any American hotel? A pool, three hot tubs, and the beach is down the steps ( 5 or 6) to the sand. We could do without the new restaurant, mainly because it doesn't offer Mexican food, except for their Sunday buffet. The old restaurant was miles better! However, it just gives us more reason to visit the many restaurants nearby. Great place!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank balimports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

My Husabnd and I and another couple went to Mexico for the first time, and it was to Mazatlan. We stayed at the El Quijote Inn. Somewhat fearful, what with a strange language and money, we checked in. The price was right, the rooms are nice a big, full kitchen with basics. I must say that the beds are about as soft as rocks, but you learn to live with that. The staff were lovely and the service was pretty fast for Mexican standards. We enjoyed ourselves enough that we are going back again, this time for almost a month, and taking a good many friends with us. Salud

Helpful?
4 Thank wee_skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the mountains in the rocky state
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

We exchanged our two-bedroom timeshare for this one. As with many vacations to an unfamiliar place, there were good points, and not so good points.
On the plus side, the location is lovely, right on the beach. The suite with master bedroom and another adjoining room were large enough, and there was a Murphy bed in the living area. The staff was competant and spoke English if needed.
The restaurant was good, with a happy "hour" from 12-6 PM.
On the minus side - this place is OLD. Many things were not up to U.S. standards, such as the furniture. The beds are rock-hard, since there is just a mattress on top of a concrete foundation. The dishwasher did not work, and there was not a single light that you could read by at night. We were glad that the A/C worked well.
About the area in general - there are no supermarkets within walking distance, just convenience stores, and nowhere to pick up prepared food to eat in. We ate out every meal, and the restaurants were reasonably priced. It was low season, and some shops were closed. We were the only Americans in the hotel, everyone else being nationals. We felt especially conspicuous every time we walked down the street, as we were pursued by aggressive timeshare sellers.

  • Liked — the beach location
  • Disliked — the lack of any luxury features; bare-bones facilities
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank browningse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.3 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#12 of 77 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#6 of 77 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#4 of 77 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mision Mazatlan
Mision Mazatlan
#36 of 77 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#43 of 77 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Posada Freeman Zona Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Quijote Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Quijote Inn

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n | esq. con Tiburon, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 77 Hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Quijote Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, Quijote Inn is located in one of Mazatlan best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your El Quijote Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Quijote Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing