We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa de Oro Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Costa de Oro Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo No 710 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Port Alberni, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked 2 weeks here for our honeymoon and loved it! We were there for Mexican Holy Week and Mazatlans Bike week so there was always lots of great entertainment on the beach as well as in the streets! We had an ocean front studio suite with full kitchen. We fell asleep listening to the waves crash right under our balcony on the 3rd floor. The location is fantastic and the service in every department was 5 star! There was nothing fancy about the room but it was clean and had everything we needed. We felt so at home and were treated like family the entire stay. I would recommend this property to anyone who is going to Mazatlan and not looking for a high end room with crisp white linens.
A special thank you to our housekeeper Rosario and our waiter Louis!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite Iris which was in the building closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    83
    48
    27
    14
See reviews for
61
53
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torreon, Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on April 17 to the 18th and we were very pleased. We originally reserved for two double rooms and when we arrived they offered a master suite with two rooms, kitchen and a living room. It's definitely not a new hotel but the price is very reasonable, We paid 4,400 pesos for 2 nights which was very reasonable for what we got. The swimming pool is nice and the beach is good, the location is convenient if you want to go to a restaurant or night clubs.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My kids and I had such a fun holiday at the Costa de Oro. We are seasoned travellers and don't go for fancy- we like authentic travel experiences and we loved the Costa de Oro! The staff were helpful, friendly and kind and we were surrounded by the fun and laughter of Mexican families vacationing during there "Spring Break". We loved the location- the beach was beautiful, our room had a gorgeous view and balcony and it is close to everything. The suite was well equipped and the room was always clean. The food in the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced and the wait staff was great - hola to Hector! If you want a quiet, tranquil vacation, this is not your place! If you want fun, fantastic views, super location and a very family friendly hotel, this is it!
The only thing I would recommend that the hotel could immediately improve on are the towels and a fresh coat of paint!

Room Tip: Go for the one bedroom suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was Referred to this beach hotel by a friend and was very pleased with our stay. This very Mexican style hotel is located in an excellent area with great beach access. The entire staff was very helpful and friendly. Very nice pool and beach bar. I plan to stay there again on my way north in May.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been here twice. the rooms could definitely use some upgrading but the food and hospitality is awesome. Their shrimp is amazing! I like it there cuz you have the pool which is nice but also the beach. Hector and Lucy are awesome! Their WiFi is not so great in the roo.s but it is better in the lobby.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great week at Costa de Oro! You can tell that the staff are interested in making sure that all of your needs are met. This is not a fancy hotel, but it is comfortable and clean.
The food is good and the service is excellent. Ask Hector to do some bar tricks for you.

Looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Stayed here for one night. The staff seems friendly, and the location is amazing. However, the room we stayed in was not all that great. It had a smell of humidity from within. And the beds aren't the most comfortable. Also, even though you have to pay for wireless internet, the connection was pretty sloppy and I had problems going online when I was in my room. It's a give-and-take kinda deal. You have to be realistic with certain expectations if you want to save some bucks when staying at this beach front hotel. That's the sad tradeoff...

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa de Oro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa de Oro Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No 710 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa de Oro Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Costa de Oro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa De Oro Hotel Mazatlan
Costa Del Oro
Costa De Oro Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa de Oro Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.