We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa de Oro” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costa de Oro Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Costa de Oro Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo No 710 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Saint Michael
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Costa de Oro”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had a fairly good time there this year. As usual the staff from top to bottom is what makes this place go and keeps people coming back. Management doesn't seem to want to spend any money to bring the place up to date. The pool, which is beautiful, was so cold you could not stand it. They have a heater, but are too cheap to use it. This drives a lot of people away. Will I go back, yes I will. I will go back to see my second family, the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    74
    41
    26
    11
See reviews for
50
44
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We love the Costa de Oro, we visit every year, once again this year, the pool is FREEZING cold, the ocean is warmer than the pool. We expressed concerns to the Management and it is the same old story, something is broken, need a new boiler, etc. Hard to believe when we have had family here for 6 weeks and it has been the same the entire time. The waiters are terrific and we love them, they are our 2nd family, that is why we keep coming back. Rooms need to be updated, our main concern is the pool. They need to advertise dinner specials better and the activities director sits in the internet office all day, and you NEVER see any of the activities they advertise happening. The Front Desk people are terrific!

Room Tip: Mazatlan is a busy noisy city, sound travels, bring a sound machine to drown out the noise and to gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks from Jan 29- Feb 12. During that time there was a Mexican holiday so the place was really hopping for a few days.. It was so nice to be surrounded by the locals enjoying their families and having fun in the sun! The staff here are wonderful and so hard working.. from front desk to the bartender!! We thoroughly enjoyed their margaritas on the rocks!! We watched as many return visitors arrived and were welcomed with huge hugs from all the staff!
The downsides for us was the bar noise at night (good ol' Gus Gus) and the mark your territory at the pool game. We aren't pool dwellers so it wasn't a huge deal, but when folks mark chairs by the ocean and leave them vacant for most of the day... well, it's dumb.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed in in 2011 for a week - we were on the second floor next to the rock formation in the pool. Our room was fine but definitely showed signs of wear and tear. However we were not here for the room.

The pool was okay - the water was clean, but it got very crowded in the afternoon and swimming became impossible. There were lots of sunloungers but these were quickly snapped up in the morning, so it became a bit of a challenge to find two loungers together with shade. The bar staff were reasonably attentive and would make sure that your drinks were not running low, but we witnessed infighting between the staff over who would be our server for the day.

The outdoor pool was always lively, and there were too few seats and tables here, so if you're planning a lunch in the shade, start early to get a seat. The food menu was uninspired (cheeseburgers, nachos, pizza, fries, etc.) but we made do. We only tried the hotel restaurant once and the service was slow and we wanted more variety.

A typical day for us, was to get up early, head to the coffee shop just up the street and buy a breakfast sandwich each and drinks, return to the room to eat our bagged breakfast. Then to the pool to grab a lounger and a spot by the water. Start drinking as soon as the bar opens (it was fun to waatch the staff get prepared for the day with big blocks of ice being rolled around). By 11:00, we'd be ready for some shade and lunch, and we would often relinquish our loungers at that point. After an afternoon at the bar and a few dips in the pool, we'd reture to our room to cool down in the a/c environment. By early evening we'd walk through the gauntlet of timeshare sellers in the lobby and stroll the main street (souvenir shops a-plenty, and food stalls everywhere) and pick out a restaurant for dinner. Sometimes we'd get a little taxi cart if we went far enough.

It was nice having the beach so close, but it was overrun with people all day and many would come off the beach to use the hotel facilities, and there seemed little effort by the hotel to control this.

We did not spend a lot to come here, and we got what we paid for. It was a good holiday, but if you like to be pampered in an all-inclusive resort, this would not be the place for you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a suite with 2 double beds and 2 couches that serve as beds...it's an older place & the amenities are pretty basic--we had a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee pot, 2 burner range, and all the dishes, pots, and pans needed. It can be a little noisy at times but if you shut the windows, it stays pretty quiet. There are several markets in the area & lots of restaurants & bars with live music. It's the kind of place that you feel comfortable walking to your room in your swimsuit. Staff at the hotel & in the bars/restaurants/stores are super friendly. The wifi in the rooms is sold as a card per device & we paid 150 pesos for a week. It was sometimes a little spotty & slow but we didn't go to Mazatlan for that, it was fine for facebook updates, etc. You can pick up free wifi in the lobby that is much faster & more dependable if you need it for something. Recommend the Roots Cafe next door for food, drinks, and live music---bacon wrapped shrimp is fabulous. There are a couple of stores accessible from the hallway in the hotel which makes things easy---bought some vanilla from Omar in El Cine to take home for a friend. Don't be daunted by the police going up & down the street; they are there to watch---I felt very safe in Mazatlan; visited a lot of local places & had a lot of fun.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We paid the $15 each for internet in our room. Not... faded in and out at will. Took forever just to get mail, forget about staying in touch with Skype or FaceTime. Beds are old, pillows older, taps leak. It's not keeping up with what's needed by today's traveler. Certainly not a place to invest in. Staff are good but need to upgrade menu to something more health aware. Bring your ear plugs because the noise off the street can be a bit much.

Room Tip: I changed rooms to get better internet, didn't help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have been to this resort many times. We love it. There is not a lot for kids to do but they do have art projects and other little classes everyday but we don't go on vacation as a family to get rid of the kids all day! The pool is average size but too crowded. The rooms are nice we have stayed in the almost all the room types they have to offer and haven't run into problems outside of an elevator out of service for a couple days but that happens at the hilton too :).

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa de Oro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa de Oro Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No 710 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa de Oro Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Costa de Oro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa De Oro Hotel Mazatlan
Costa Del Oro
Costa De Oro Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa de Oro Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.