We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vista Bonita y playa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa de Oro Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Costa de Oro Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo No 710 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 72 hotels in Mazatlan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Vista Bonita y playa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have never stayed at this resort before. It is a older resort in Mazatlan and I understand why they chose this spot. It is beautiful. The beach is great and even little kids can enjoy the surf as it has a very gentle slope. The pool is very nice as well.
The staff are extremely accommodating and many speak very good English. The restaurant had a great variety of entrées. But there are many other places to sample the food of Mexico around this resort.
This resort is of old style so you may need to ask for wash cloths. You may be able to ask for a hair dryer too but you may just want to pack one just in case. Our one bedroom had stovetop, micro, coffee pot, and a mini fridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    70
    40
    25
    10
See reviews for
44
43
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline, Washington, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have a timeshare unit at the Costa de Oro and you'll find me there every week 28 (around the middle of July)! I've always found it to be clean, inviting and relaxing. The staff are great, especially Juanita (6th floor of the tower). We have a little banter each year about me getting extra coffee packets (you'd think they whip the housekeeping staff if they're missing one!).

The Costa de Oro is what I'd call 'homey'. It's not plush so don't go here if that's what you're expecting. Don't get me wrong, the people are great and the food and view at Adobes are both excellent. Just don't expect a Pueblo Bonito experience here.

This year brings my first complaint. For some reason I don't appear on their reservation list. Each year they run back and forth and finally figure out what's going on and give me my key. This year was extra painful as they had rented my room. That meant NO JUANITA! I'm not saying that Olivia didn't do a wonderful job in my digs on the seventh floor ... but as I said, Juanita and I have developed a fun rapport and I found myself wandering down a flight of stairs to say hello. Costa de Oro - DON'T lose my reservation!!! I have a fixed unit and fixed week. I tell you TWICE every year that I'm coming. Guess that needs to be three times :)

Sadly, this year wasn't as busy as last year was - so my people watching was limited. This year Gay Pride was held the day I arrived instead of the day I leave (as it usually is), so I did get to watch the fun along the malecon. Tame compared to Seattle, but fun nonetheless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago while on a ball tournament. The staff were fabulous, the food was excellent, the view magnificent. There was a lot of things to do at the hotel and the staff was very willing to help you in any way they could. They were very accommodating in helping get side trips organized. It is very centrally located to walk to other hotels, restaurants and markets.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach side, overlooking the courtyard on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The pool is very clean and you have the best beach view and access. The two for one drinks at pool are good and not watered down. Lucy, pool wait-staff, is the best. She is very attentive!!! De oro is one of my fav Mzt spots!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I just came back from my first trip to Mazatlan. This Hotel is located in an excellent part of Mazatlan in the Golden Zone. If ou are in a budget and you dont mind the actual look of the room, this is a great stay, I rather spend less on a room and spend more on actual activities. I look at it this way; the room is only to sleep for a few hours, you really dont spend time there. The hotel is located infront of the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at Costa de Oro last week and I must say that it was clean, had big rooms and the staff was great. Juanita the housekeeper was VERY attentive and always greeting us with a smile. Javier and his father helped us with tour information and were very attentive upon our arrival. The view from our balcony was awesome and the sunsets were unbelievable!! Very satisified!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have been visiting the Costa de Oro for years and love this hotel. It is our home away from home. This trip we stayed on the 9th floor of the new tower and loved it. The Sunsets were georgeous and the view in the morning was breathtaking.

The pool are is beautiful and the hot tub was great too (Could have been a little hotter).

The staff is wonderful and helpful, Isabell at the front desk always goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome.

The staff at the pool are fun, energetic and work so hard to make sure you have everything you need, Gernaro and Lucy are our favorites, but they are all great.

The staff at the resturant is awesome, Santos, Rudy and Hector we are few favorites.

Everyone is so nice, wonderful place to stay. The beach vendors are great, look for Blanca for jewlery and Miguel for Dresses.

The streets of Mexico are loud at night, bring a sound machine or drown out the sounds.

Awesome place!

Room Tip: Garden View, or the Suites are all Ocean View... Request higher floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa de Oro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa de Oro Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Costa De Oro Hotel Mazatlan
Costa De Oro
Costa Del Oro
Costa De Oro Mazatlan
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No 710 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa de Oro Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Costa de Oro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa de Oro Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.