We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place , Good Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa de Oro Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Costa de Oro Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo No 710 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
St Cloud Mn.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place , Good Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel was where we stayed for one week. It was a time share apartment in the old tower on the 10th floor . It was clean and had all we needed for our week . The staff at the hotel was most accommodating . They were all so helpful . The on site resturant had very good food , fast service with very hot temperture wise food . It was more expensive that out on the streets , but well worth a few meals there. The pool area is great with access to the beach area . This helps to keep all sales people down on the beach . It has great views and plenty of seating . If your going to the pool for Happy Hour , I suggest getting there a bit early . We found the public bathrooms by the pool to be clean , but the ones more up front by the lobby needing to be cleaned more often. The elevators are very small and not for the claustrophobic. They never failed , but we prayed hard that they would not. The grounds are well kept . Only complaint was the noise form a bar across the street . It was so loud at night it was very distracting until about 1:00 am .One other slight inconvience is that there was only one TV in the bedroom and none in the living room or kitchen. There were only 2 American channels Fox out of New York and CNN.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a view . The old Tower offers the best views . Look at room before acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    86
    54
    30
    14
See reviews for
69
56
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emerson, Manitoba
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Costa is years old now and not a 5 Start rating... but its still excels in what many places don't offer.. SERVICE with a smile.. and happy your staying with them. Unlike some other hotels who discriminate against hosting my Mexican friends.... the Costa doesnt mind if friends join you around the pool for happy hour. The pool bar waiters are veterans and work their tails off and know your drink as soon as you walk in the pool area. The view is gorgeous off the west facing balconies.. Nice beach access. Has small shops in the hotel.. bank across the street.. restaurants all close. Why stay miles away and have to pulmonia everywhere. Its modestly priced and worth checking out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed in a suite with a kitchenette. Even though we didn't cook anything is was nice to have a table and a refrigerator and a coffee maker. The view from the balconly was breathtaking. I liked the decor of the premise but I did not explore the whole property. The staff was exceptionally polite and helpful. Only one complaint. I saw a roach on a towel in the room. I don't know if it was alive, but it wasn't moving. I swatted it anyway. Only complaint.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite with kitchenette was very spacious and comfortable with a dynamite view. I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

From the moment we stepped into the airport we enjoyed our trip to Mazatlan. Javier from the Costa de Oro and Prono tours greeted us and was attentive throughout our stay. He suggested a time share presentation at the El Cid, Which gave us 3 free tours and an evening at a Mexican Fiesta. Time share presentation was not pushy. The Stone Island Tour was my favourite! The room was basic, but clean, comfortable and we had a lovely view of the ocean from our balcony. The staff were attentive, and we lacked for nothing. We liked the daily happy hour by the pool, the restaurant, spa, and easy access to the ocean. Next time I will book through RCI and stay in the spacious tower rooms. I looked at the other hotels nearby, but the atmosphere at the Costa de Oro really sets it apart from the nicer hotels. I will definitely return there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view room, # 360 or 460, best views. If using time share, ask for ocean view. The hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I, along with friends and family sometimes, have been coming to Mexico since 1986. This time we went to Mazatlan, Mexico with friends and stayed in the timeshare area of Costa De Oro from the end of August thru early September 2012. It was very quiet, not tourist season but it was very enjoyable and relaxing. All the staff was very attentive to our needs, from the front desk clerks, the maids, the wait staff to the bartenders. We didn't want for anything. It was hard to leave at the end of the week but we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: We like the older timeshare area right on the beach - 5th or 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is our third trip to Mazatlan and our first stay in Costa De Oro, it was amazing. All the staff was super nice and friendly. Our room was really clean and unlike other people who have commented, we didn't see one single cockroach. The beds were comfortable and I'd definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: Our suite (Suite Paola) on the 6th floor with oceanview was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Costa de Oro was the first place we stayed when we started going to Mazatlan in 1999. We had such a great time, we bought a timeshare here, although lately we have been donating it to charity auctions for their use since we like to stay at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay.

Costa de Oro is in the heart of the Golden Zone, where all the action is and consequently so is the noise. The timeshare units, while very nice, are directly across the street from Gus Gus and they do like to play their loud music late into the night which makes it hard for us to sleep.

I don't remember the beds being very comfortable [they are very hard] but for some that isn't a problem. We have generally enjoyed our stays at Costa in the past and have great memories.

Areas we enjoyed: being within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We liked the swimming pool and being able to order food & drinks at the pool. The view of the ocean from our balcony was perfect.

Areas we didn't enjoy so much: relentless beach vendors, relentless Costa staff trying to get you to attend a timeshare presentation. The on site restaurant, not so good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#8 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#15 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Flores Beach Resort
Las Flores Beach Resort
#39 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#31 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mision Mazatlan
Hotel Mision Mazatlan
#40 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
#29 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa de Oro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa de Oro Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No 710 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa de Oro Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Costa de Oro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa De Oro Hotel Mazatlan
Costa Del Oro
Costa De Oro Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa de Oro Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.