We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read this before booking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oceano Palace to your Saves list
Oceano Palace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Camaron Sabalo S/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
santa barbara
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Read this before booking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Upon arrival I immediately planned to change hotels as this is an older somewhat dumpy looking 2nd or3rd class place. Cheaply furnished with pink dressers,etc. Our suite had twin beds in living room and no couch. My family was ok with it and agreed to stay a couple days and try it and we came to like it for what it is. After all our room had a nice balcony overlooking the ocean.

Great location on the beach with many highly rated restaurants a very short walk away. Plenty of palapas on the beach and no shortage of chaise lounges. Drinks very inexpensive and good menu of poolside fare. The staff is great and it is clean.

So if you want a gold star resort keep looking but if you're comfortable with Mexican funky it has many good points.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    111
    72
    51
    51
See reviews for
152
131
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, Califrnia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for 6 days in Oceano Palace, It was directly on the beach, The front desk there was amazing. Always there to help, friendly and willing to chat about anything. Very helpful with directions and things to do. the room was fine, clean and had wifi. The beach was really nice, walking on the beach they had banana boating, parasailing and jet skiing for very reasonable prices. Even though it wasnt the best resort in the world if offered what we were looking for..Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calexico, EE.U.U.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our second stay here was more than expected. We had a suite it was basic, but great. The beds were super firm, a kitchenette, with a beautiful balcony. Excellent service and very good fare. has a nice beach. A very restful sleep to the sound of the waves.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Calf.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Rooms were plain and simple but provided a comfortable place to sleep with excellent ocean view. The location is fantastic. The buffet breakfast is varied and delicious with lots of authentic Mexican dishes. the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Bel L

Thank you very much for you review of you recent stay at Oceano Palace Hotel, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

look forward to see you soon

Fernando Ordaz
Manager
Oceano Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Not likely to come back. The staff was great but the bed not so much. And we had to suffer night after night of someone pulling up outside between 1 and 3 AM and blasting the stereo. Towels? It was carnival and I am sure that was part of the reason for the shortage. The pool and hot tub were cooler than the ocean...the room was either cleaned twice a day in quick succession or not at all. In conclusion, very bare bones, loud at night, with a terribly uncomfortable bed and no towels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good points: Everything was clean, locations at the beach are very nice.

Regular points: Partial view to the beach, elevator nor nice neither bad. Beds and bath are ok.

Bad points: Only 2 full-size towels were provided, i had issues with the reservation and the personal was rude when i come, they just told me that my reservation was canceled and i needed to pay twice while they investigated. Pool bar was always closed. In general seems the rooms are old and there are many visual details. I have stayed in many hotels in Mazatlan and this is really close to the worst. TV non-flat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Raymundo

I Appreciate your comments are very important to us, we will work on the points youre suggesting us.
We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again

Fernando Ordaz
Manager
Oceano Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culiacan, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Clean beds/sheets, clean bathroom. Lacking in the linens- only 2 full sizes towels are provided, no hand towels, washcloths, or bath mats. This was frustrating to me. Extra toilet paper was not provided, and roll was almost empty upon arrival. Nice balcony, quieter part of town (compared to further north) restaurants nearby, but not much shopping close to the hotel. Beautiful pool, i believe it is heated, great to swim in at night. Friendly and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: "mountain view" isn't bad, just not the ocean, faces to the parking lot/main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceano Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Palace

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo S/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceano Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 260 recently renovated rooms, studios and suites, most with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and the Mazatlan Islands Nature Reserve, Isla de Pajaros, Isla de Venados, Isla de Chivos. The rooms with street view, overlook Camaron Sabalo Avenue. All Inclusive and European Plans available. Location: Golden Zone 30 minutes away from airport, 15 minutes from downtown, 10 minutes from aquarium, and 10 minutes from golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceano Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Palace Hotel Mazatlan
Oceano Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceano Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.