We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Palace

Save Saved
You added Oceano Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceano Palace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Camaron Sabalo S/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Los Angeles, Calf.
1 review
“Great for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Rooms were plain and simple but provided a comfortable place to sleep with excellent ocean view. The location is fantastic. The buffet breakfast is varied and delicious with lots of authentic Mexican dishes. the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Bel L

Thank you very much for you review of you recent stay at Oceano Palace Hotel, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

look forward to see you soon

Fernando Ordaz
Manager
Oceano Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    105
    67
    50
    50
See reviews for
142
128
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Not likely to come back. The staff was great but the bed not so much. And we had to suffer night after night of someone pulling up outside between 1 and 3 AM and blasting the stereo. Towels? It was carnival and I am sure that was part of the reason for the shortage. The pool and hot tub were cooler than the ocean...the room was either cleaned twice a day in quick succession or not at all. In conclusion, very bare bones, loud at night, with a terribly uncomfortable bed and no towels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good points: Everything was clean, locations at the beach are very nice.

Regular points: Partial view to the beach, elevator nor nice neither bad. Beds and bath are ok.

Bad points: Only 2 full-size towels were provided, i had issues with the reservation and the personal was rude when i come, they just told me that my reservation was canceled and i needed to pay twice while they investigated. Pool bar was always closed. In general seems the rooms are old and there are many visual details. I have stayed in many hotels in Mazatlan and this is really close to the worst. TV non-flat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Raymundo

I Appreciate your comments are very important to us, we will work on the points youre suggesting us.
We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again

Fernando Ordaz
Manager
Oceano Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culiacan, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Clean beds/sheets, clean bathroom. Lacking in the linens- only 2 full sizes towels are provided, no hand towels, washcloths, or bath mats. This was frustrating to me. Extra toilet paper was not provided, and roll was almost empty upon arrival. Nice balcony, quieter part of town (compared to further north) restaurants nearby, but not much shopping close to the hotel. Beautiful pool, i believe it is heated, great to swim in at night. Friendly and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: "mountain view" isn't bad, just not the ocean, faces to the parking lot/main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Friendly staff and door man nice touch bring a dessert to our door. Our room was clean. We went from sunwing mountain view asked if we could have ocean view was no problem didn't have to pay extra glad we had ocean view only disadvantage is cant see the full sun set because of the island but still has great colours. The room is average nothing to rave about but clean had king size bed. Had supper once at restaurant was good selection of Mexican food had the pizza once was very good oven fired thin crust. Pool was clean and nice unique layout. Mixed drinks a little pricey. Would stay again.
Gym was great forget his name but was helpfull. Thanks again for a nice memory.

Room Tip: Ocean view some have kitchens I like just going out for breakfast and dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

..this hotel, Oceano Palace..nice name.. in Mazatlan.. was really large hotel with a VERY VERY NICE oceanview.. so you want to get oceanview room.!!.. with a view of the island across the water it really feels exotic and also the hotel has what you want, a gym.. friendly service at the desk.. great restaurant with fantastic food (always mexican!) and a really nice swimming pool and poolside bar.. the waiters will serve you drinks all day and you can pay them or make a tab.. its great! ..the best feature is the hotel is right by beach.. its so nice!

Room Tip: take oceanview room otherwise you will miss out on the fantastic view of the beach and islands..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo J, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Lazzy_12:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review of your recent stay at OCEANO PALACE HOTEL. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and specifically appreciated your ocean view room, our friendly staff and the service. This motivates us to keep improving our service every day, of course I am sharing this comment with our staff during our briefings. Thanks again and we hope to have you as a guest very in the near future.
Look forward to see you soon

Eduardo Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego US
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you're looking for the best-value budget hotel in Mazatlan, this is it. The service is much better than most of the overpriced hotels in Mazatlan. The pool is fine. Basically, if you're on a budget and want to get the best value for the money you spend and still be able to enjoy a very decent hotel with great service and no strings attached, you've found your next hotel destination in Mazatlan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceano Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Palace

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo S/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceano Palace 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Oceano Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Palace Hotel Mazatlan
Oceano Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceano Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.