We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for nice week. Thanks for a nice memory” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oceano Palace to your Saves list
Oceano Palace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Camaron Sabalo S/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thanks for nice week. Thanks for a nice memory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Friendly staff and door man nice touch bring a dessert to our door. Our room was clean. We went from sunwing mountain view asked if we could have ocean view was no problem didn't have to pay extra glad we had ocean view only disadvantage is cant see the full sun set because of the island but still has great colours. The room is average nothing to rave about but clean had king size bed. Had supper once at restaurant was good selection of Mexican food had the pizza once was very good oven fired thin crust. Pool was clean and nice unique layout. Mixed drinks a little pricey. Would stay again.
Gym was great forget his name but was helpfull. Thanks again for a nice memory.

Room Tip: Ocean view some have kitchens I like just going out for breakfast and dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    113
    73
    53
    53
See reviews for
158
135
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

..this hotel, Oceano Palace..nice name.. in Mazatlan.. was really large hotel with a VERY VERY NICE oceanview.. so you want to get oceanview room.!!.. with a view of the island across the water it really feels exotic and also the hotel has what you want, a gym.. friendly service at the desk.. great restaurant with fantastic food (always mexican!) and a really nice swimming pool and poolside bar.. the waiters will serve you drinks all day and you can pay them or make a tab.. its great! ..the best feature is the hotel is right by beach.. its so nice!

Room Tip: take oceanview room otherwise you will miss out on the fantastic view of the beach and islands..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo J, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Lazzy_12:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review of your recent stay at OCEANO PALACE HOTEL. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and specifically appreciated your ocean view room, our friendly staff and the service. This motivates us to keep improving our service every day, of course I am sharing this comment with our staff during our briefings. Thanks again and we hope to have you as a guest very in the near future.
Look forward to see you soon

Eduardo Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego US
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you're looking for the best-value budget hotel in Mazatlan, this is it. The service is much better than most of the overpriced hotels in Mazatlan. The pool is fine. Basically, if you're on a budget and want to get the best value for the money you spend and still be able to enjoy a very decent hotel with great service and no strings attached, you've found your next hotel destination in Mazatlan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Pros:
- great value for price
- Ocean view rooms are amazing
- staff very friendly, amazing people
- on the beach, steps to Ocean
- close walk to restaurants and shopping
- clean, no bugs, nice beds, comfortable
- balconies with Oceanview rooms clean, and spacious. Amazing vistas.
- front desk staff so helpful.
- Tony, travel agent - amazing service!

Cons:
- mountain view room? Gross. We begged for upgrade.
- we arrived at busy time, too many kids. Not hotels fault.
- hard to get drinks by pool. Need more attention here. Opportunity to make $$$ lost.

Room Tip: Request ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I travelled here for valentine's day Feb 14th 2012. It was our first time in Mazatlan, and my parents were staying at the RV park about 2 blocks down the road. It was the first time we did not go 'all inclusive', so I kind of knew what I was getting into. ( no fridge, no microwave etc etc etc, no booze in the room)

First off, I want to say I booked the trip over orbitz for sure cheap (i think 300$ for two people for 7 days?) I was kind of concerned as a traveller because I wasn't sure if when we arrived if everything would be in order as normally we buy a package.

They greeted us, and were super friendly, great english and no problems!

I had flown with a few connectors, and they lost my luggage, but Alaska airlines were wonderful and they had driven it to the hotel the next morning- and they kept it behind the desk check in for us as we went for a walk in the morning. Excellent Customer service! They were just as happy for me, as I was to see my bag!

The hotel was CLEAN, super marble, shiny, clean. My room, like all rooms in mexico kind of smell "musty" but that has nothing to do with the hotel, it's called humidity. It was also Feburary, and they had had some rain. But the rooms, the sheets smelt like bleach (good sign) and the king bed was HUGE. it had a beautiful mountain view, and honestly no complaints.

I will however mention that the windows, DO open, but have no bars, so technically if you have kids---do not let them near the windows. Again, nothing to do with the hotel, just no mexican 'law' i guess :)

But yeah, seriously the BESt beaches we have ever been to. Better than Peurto Vallarta, and Cabo for sure. You can walk and walk and walk and walk. All the restaurants are cheap cheap cheap (2.60$CAD for breakfast at Tony's!) and My husband and I walked from the hotel all the way down the malacon, and then took one of the little taxi's back.

We did eat one morning at the 13$ breakfast buffett, it was perfect food for what we wanted.. tastey, clean and yummy.

We did eat late night there, but I wasn't overly impressed it was just kinda 'blah' but again it was late late and the kitchen was closing, so it's all good.

As for the hotel, my husband used the gym, we loved the pool, it was clean, my sheets were changed everyday, we loved it for what we did in Maz,

Would go back in a heart beat.


PS: I took a foldable "cooler" bag, and brought it with us, went to the OXXO (7-11ish) and bought ice, and then just went and bought stuff and kept it in there! Worked like a charm!

so we had fruit, and yougurt, cheese, snacks and everything it was awesome! Just keep it discreet as you're not really supposed to have it i guess, but no one said anything to us :)

Oh and the showers are hot like normal :)

I will include some pictures!

Room Tip: We actually perfered our mountain view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Oceano Palace. The views from our room were stunning, the beach and pool were very pleasant, and there are a dozen good restaurants in short walking distance. The staff were courteous, pleasant and helpful. The public spaces in the hotel were newly-renovated and well-maintained. Rooms were spacious but a little worn; balcony doors did not close properly, slatted windows wouldn't close and rattled in the wind, the shower was missing one of the glass doors. Beds are a little firmer than we would prefer. Small kitchenettes and a mid-sized fridge allowed us to make breakfast and store leftovers. The hotel was quite busy with private parties, a wedding and a Quinceañera party; perhaps because we stayed there between Christmas and New Year's.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are noisier, particularly on lower floors. South side rooms are quieter. North...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChulaVista, Ca.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We really enjoyed the hotel. The service was always friendly and responsive. We were surprised that we did enjoy the food, breakfast and lunch at the hotel. They did a wonderful job of preparing the fish that was caught on our fishing trip. We were there for a week and met so many guests that had been going back for years.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceano Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Palace

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo S/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceano Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 260 recently renovated rooms, studios and suites, most with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and the Mazatlan Islands Nature Reserve, Isla de Pajaros, Isla de Venados, Isla de Chivos. The rooms with street view, overlook Camaron Sabalo Avenue. All Inclusive and European Plans available. Location: Golden Zone 30 minutes away from airport, 15 minutes from downtown, 10 minutes from aquarium, and 10 minutes from golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceano Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Palace Hotel Mazatlan
Oceano Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceano Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.