We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BELIEVE the hype!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Siesta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Siesta to your Saves list
Hotel la Siesta
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Olas Altas 11 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“BELIEVE the hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Everything positive that can be said about Hotel La Siesta has pretty much already been said by other traveler's reviews posted on here. And all the praise and hype is well worth it!

My wife and I spent a week in Mazatlán for her birthday (February 28 - March 6) and we had the opportunity to stay at a variety of hotels. We stayed at Hotel La Siesta first, then Hotel Playa Mazatlán, and finally Hotel Lerma. The price ranged from expensive (Hotel Playa Mazatlán), moderate (Hotel La Siesta), and cheap (Hotel Lerma). All three hotels were great and we liked all three for different reasons. Not all three hotels will appeal to all types of travelers, but since we are not choosy or picky or snooty, it's not hard to please us, it just depends on what we are trying to accomplish by staying at a particular place or hotel.

In the case of La Siesta, we wanted a moderately priced hotel near the malecón, viejo Mazatlán and the historic district and also to be near the beach. Hotel La Siesta & Hotel Belmar were the two hotels that fit that description, and after mulling it over we decided to go with La Siesta, mainly because it had a well designed website that listed the price, showed current photos of the place and above all you could reserve your room ahead of time. While in Mazatlán we saw Hotel Belmar and it also appeared to be a nice, quiet place to stay. Maybe next time we'll give that one a try. Its "old-world" charm was appealing to us.

Hotel La Siesta is a good value and lots of tourist stay there, it's right in front the beach (Playa Olas Altas) and the malecón and right around the corner from the historic zone in old Mazatlán. The Shrimp Bucket restaurant right below Hotel La Siesta was very convenient and came in handy many days for breakfast. We never got a chance to eat dinner there, but their breakfast was good and the service was good. Great ocean and malecón views, people watching, especially watching the sunrise over a cup of coffee! I'm sure watching the sunset at the Shrimp Bucket would be awesome too, but there are so many great spots in Mazatlán from where you can accomplish this. La Siesta has a nice pool and comfy courtyard where you can hang out. Just make sure it's a hot day before you jump in that pool, because it's kind of chilly. Near the pool area they have another nice open courtyard where you can use your laptop, drink coffee or read the paper. Free internet is also provided on a single computer. I used it just about everyday and never had a problem with sharing it with the other guests. We paid $33 for a patio view room. We initially wanted an ocean view room but they were all booked, but this ended up working out fine since we didn't spend much time in our room. We opted instead to spend our time lazing about on the actual beach. Ocean view from your room is alright, but ocean view up close and personal is BETTER!

We only had one complaint with Hotel La Siesta, there was an annoying guy in the lobby constantly trying to sell us time shares and get us to go to some resort in the Golden Zone and the staff didn't seem to mind him being there. I don't know if he was sanctioned by the actual hotel, but he claimed to work for La Siesta and said the resort he was trying to get us to go to was their "sister hotel." He used La Siesta's phone several times so I guess they must have been cool with him.

We met a lot of repeat travelers who always stay at Hotel La Siesta while visiting Mazatlán, so that says something right there. It's a great place to stay and won't cost you an arm and a leg.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    71
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
69
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

La Siesta was a great place to stay. Ocean view rooms with balconies provide nonstop entertainment of people-watching along the malecon (seafront promenade). Sunset viewing everyday. Rooms were comfortable, clean, and well maintained and staff were friendy and helpful. Internet in lobby, wireless too but not all rooms (signal strength). Room 314 on the corner is huge but all ocean view rooms are breezy and roomy enough. Great place for exercise or sightseeing walks along the seafront. You can walk for miles. Small convenience store downstairs. Shrimp Bucket restaurant on main floor, good, busy, friendly. Small pool area but swimmable (and surfable) beach just across the street. Safety deposit in lobby but we had no problem with anything going missing. Felt safe. Old Mazatlan is wonderful to walk around. It is being renovated and renewed, lots to see. Restaurants along the seafront and lots in Machada Square (5 min from hotel) and in streets around from Mexican, to pizza, to greek and deli-type. The main tourist area - Golden Zone is about a 5-6 mile walk north with beaches all along. Bus costs 9 pesos (90cents) for a/c bus or 6.5 pesos for older bus, or about 4$ for a taxi ride. Golden Zone packed with bars, shops, hotels but too busy, noisy and commercial for us. We liked the more interesting old town. Stone island beaches a few minutes away are fabulous too. Will definitely return. A coffeemaker in the room would have made it perfect for us! Highly recommend this hotel (but not if you want an all-inclusive, resort type holiday).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Before I departed I read the reviews. Exceptional value for the money. Great location. I had a beach front room and it was wonderful. If you are looking for a bargain I highly recommend the hotel. If you want 4 star then go spend more money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

I love the Hotel La Siesta because it really gives me the 'mexico' feel. It is very personal and clean. I've enjoyed my stay there both times I've had the pleasure of staying. I recommend it to anyone and everyone I talk to. The location is also ideal. It is in Old Mazatlan so you are blocks away from plazas, the cathedral, and the downtown. Not to mention right across the street from the ocean....if you have an ocean side room like I did, you hear the soothing sound of the ocean all night...even if your windows are closed. I miss that so much!

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

I stayed at La Siesta for a week with my 13 year old son and we were both totally happy with our room and the service we received at La Siesta, The room was simple but very clean. We didn't have a beach view room which I think would have been even nicer and only $10 more a night... but hey we are cheapos!!... and didn't end up spending that much time in our room anyway. The pool at La Siesta is small but nice and for some reason we were the only ones who swam in it during our stay, the water in the pool was fairly chili which was refreshing on those hot afternoons, it's also nice to lay out in the sun around the pool which many quests did do . The location of La Siesta is a big bonus, with the malecon right out front, many buses pass right out front also and there are lots of restuarants just a stone's throw from La Siesta. (try La Cuerva del Leon for dinner and the Loonie Bean for coffee) The staff at La Siesta are very helpful and the gents at the front desk spoke English. Lastly there is free wireless and a free computer in the lobby for quests. To some it up La Siesta is a great deal for the money but some people will not like the fact that it is an older building in the "Old Town" part of Mazatlan but if you are a bargain lover do not hesitate to book you stay ay La Siesta.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trempealeau, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

No need to repeat what everyone else is saying: This is a no-frills hotel in a great location at a bargain price. What's the catch? There really is none, unless you consider no Kleenex or hand towels a deal breaker. This is an old building and could use a little sprucing up, but my room was perfectly clean, with air-conditioning that worked well, and a clean bathroom with a powerful shower. Beds are of Motel 6 quality. The free wi-fi worked perfectly in my room, and my iPhone rarely had trouble picking up the signal. Loved the ocean-view balcony, although facing the busy street is a double-edged sword - there is some traffic noise, and light sleepers might consider a room in the back of the hotel. Unless you came to Mexico to eat at a TGI Friday's, skip the Shrimp Bucket restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed for 7 nights in the ocean front rooms on the 2nd floor,Basic rooms clean but in need of make over. Bathroom is good size but bad smells were coming out of shower floor drains in both rooms we had booked.Staff was always friendly and helpful,good meals and service in the Shrimp Bucket. Noise from the street makes sleeping at night a bit of a challange. Great sunset views each night.Good value for the money just be prepared for the night noise. I read the other reviews about the noise and it was much louder tham I was expecting.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Siesta

Address: Blvd Olas Altas 11 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Siesta 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel la Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel
La Siesta Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Siesta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.