We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great older hotel in zona historico- comfortable,friendly- a treasure for the price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Siesta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel la Siesta to your Saves list
Hotel la Siesta
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Olas Altas 11 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Manitoban
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great older hotel in zona historico- comfortable,friendly- a treasure for the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

This would be a Disney theme hotel where one would pay extra if it were maketed as "boutique"! Spending two weeks here was super--clean rooms, no problems, super Mario (and others) at the desk to help with suggestions on city features, great security, card keys,ShrimpBucket and Olas Altos steak house next door, corner c-store, clean pool, walking distance to mercado and plaza Marchado and super street vendor food on the Malecon at the cliff diver site at the "big flag pole". Free safe deposit box and 24 hr internet computer in lobby and wifi (which we did not use) and water cooler on second floor are other features we appreciated. Buy a phone card for long dist and calls out from the room are only 30 p which is super. And and and the green "tourist malecon "bus will whisk you right out to the zona dorada and shopping centres - Gran plaza and Mega easily, great maid service, always hot water , well lit rooms, great balconiesand a good variety of tv channels are other features of this hotel and location. Super for the money !!! Thanks for the great treatment to Mario and staff and to Brenda for the mexican advice and the location of the best Locos Papas in the whole city!! Cliff and Shirley - Canada

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    67
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
67
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
union city,ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

This place was great. Its not a perfect hotel but for the price you really cant beat it. Great location beautiful veiw from our balcony in the ocean side rooms which is a must, dont bother with the garden rooms. We had so much fun at the beach across the street and the resturant thats connects to the hotel and the little bar a few doors down was great. It is on a busy street but its great for enjoying a beer o the balcony and people watch. The only down side in our stay was the morning we left, the water went out for a half hour or so and when turned back on came out black and had to be ran for a few minutes before safe to use .It was kinda gross but hay it was only 40 a night and your in mexico. Overall fun place. I would definetly stay again

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

This hotel is awesome for people who want to be in the Historical Center of Mazatlan where you can walk to restuarants, markets and Art Galleries. Although the beach lacks the amenities of the Golden Zone the beach in front of the hotel was fantastic to swim and boogie board. There is also a sea wall pool which is very safe to swim in. There are no vendors here either!! The front desk staff is helpful and friendly. The hotel was clean and the beds comfy. Can't go wrong for the price. it's also oceanfront with balconies. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

The Hotel Siesta is located at the Olas Altas beach area. When we arrived, we were greeted by Oscar at the front desk. He explained to us some of the activities we could do while in Mazatlan. However, we were tired upon our arrival and he understood that we did not have to sign up for anything, although we did, at that time. Check-in went smoothly. We did most of our hotel business with Mario and he sure was very friendly and saved us money on some of the tours, El Shrimp Bucket, the Mambo Cafe and Señor Frog's Restaurant. He really had a "go the extra mile" attitude with us and he was funny.

The rooms are clean and well-kept. It is a budget hotel so, there were not a lot of amenities such as, a hair dryer, sample lotions, mouthwash, etc. They did have soap and shampoo. The shampoo was in a plastic packet that was really hard to open. We did not request an ocean-view but our room #312 had a partial view of the ocean and we could see the beautiful sunsets.

They do have internet access in the hotel lobby that is free of charge and so are the safety deposit boxes unless you lose the key, then you have to pay for it. There is the courtyard area but, we did not use it because there was a "timeshare lady" that would be there waiting for the guests to pass by to promote the properties.

This was the only dislike I had about the hotel. We politely informed Brenda (the timeshare lady) that we did not really have an interest but, she kept on trying to get us on board with whatever promotions she had every time we would pass by. Eventually, she stopped though.

The area has quite a bit to do and I wish we could have stayed longer to see more of the town and the attractions. I really thought Mazatlan was economical and would recommend Hotel La Siesta to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

A small budget hotel in a fantastic beachfront location, in the historic center of Mazatlan. The most beautiful sunsets can be seen from the oceanfront balconies. A very simple room which is kept very clean by the wonderful staff. The front desk staff are as equally helpful, and always smiling. There is also a small store in the corner of the hotel which is great for snacks and cool drinks. If I could change anything about the room I would like to see small refrigerators added for convenience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALGARY, AB
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

First time to Mazatlan. We got a great deal on a place out of town for 4 days but were planning 10 so we looked at the options. No Golden Zone for us- please! A couple of times I ran across La Siesta listings and wondered, but the price and location sold us -along with the abundance of good reviews on TripAdvisor.
BINGO! Perfect location, perfect price, a short walk to everything we wanted except the baseball stadium and that was a reasonable pulmanetto trip. (If you're a baseball fan this is also a deal - 2 tix, real food, beer and we barely broke the second $20 bill!)
The staff were great, even when the hot water failed for a day; the wi-fi didn't reach the rooms but a beer or coffee in the courtyard and I was set; the new pool is nice and not crowded; the small balcony was just fine for the coffee/morning paper/people watching; in spite of the comments about noise, we never noticed it too early or late - in fact, the first morning there was NONE!.. the road was blocked off and we had roadside seats for the Mazatlan Marathon.
We had to be tourists a bit and the fellows at the front desk were eager to arrange a couple of tours... and less than the street price. No laundry facilities, but they have a contractor who does it for about a dollar a kilo, cleaned, folded, sorted.
Take all the good of the other reviews and add this one.. but please- don't tell anyone else or we'll never get space.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

I’ve stayed at the La Siesta a number of times over the past few years and have found it to be a excellent value. I can’t say enough good things about the people that are employed here, they keep the place spotless and have always been friendly.
The hotel has two types of rooms, Garden and Ocean view. I strongly urge anyone booking this hotel to pay the few extra bucks for the Ocean view rooms. The view alone is well worth the money. The beds are a bit firm but this is typical of Mexico and I found it a non issue.

I always ask for a 3rd floor room to minimize the street noise. On the weekends there’s usually a lot of activity on the Malecon. As someone who enjoys people watching I view this as a positive. In my 8 visits I’ve only been woken up once by the outside activity and it was a medical emergency across the street.

I consider this hotel to have one of the best locations in Mazatlan. Close to everything except time share salespeople. You can find restaurants to fit any budget within walking distance. There is an ATM on the premises and a bank (with ATM) within two blocks. Transportation is also very convenient, busses, taxis and pulmonias (an open air taxi) are always passing by right out front.

I’m pleased with the hotel itself but feel it’s the staff that makes this a special place. I’ve only experienced one issue while traveling to Mazatlan and that was a trucker strike on the day I was leaving. The front desk informed all the guests who were leaving that day that we needed to leave as soon as possible. They also arranged transportation to the airport, combining me with another couple to offset the sudden spike in prices (I actually paid less than usual). In all fairness to the cab driver, it took him twice as long to get us to the airport and probably longer than that to get back.

I’ve been offered some pretty good hotel prices around town but will continue to stay at the La Siesta for the reasons listed above.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Siesta

Address: Blvd Olas Altas 11 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Siesta 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel la Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel
La Siesta Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Siesta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.