We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Siesta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Siesta to your Saves list
Hotel la Siesta
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Olas Altas 11 Centro (Downtown), Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

1st of all, I want to thank the front desk staff for honoring my request for a specific room! Everyone at the hotel is very friendly and willing to assist in any way needed. The hotel is older, but our room, the pool area and the bathrooms by the pool were always spotless! The stairs and "hallways" could use some refurbishing, but it's not a deal breaker for us. I do wish the beds were not so hard, though. We'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    80
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
77
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

the old town, away from the touristy Zona Dorada, is our preference when visiting Mazatlan. La Siesta is an unpretentious hotel. It sits across the street from the Malecon, and has ocean-facing views with a balcony.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Cons: Beds had hairs all over, stains on sheets, mold in bathroom, the cleaning lady was pissed when we asked for the bedding to be replaced, also asked the cleaning lady on the second day for clean towels, we were told to wait until they washed the towels, and no towels for the pool. We made reservations on line for 2 rooms for up to 4 people each room with one price posted, but then they charge you extra for each person, kids under 12 charged as adults, And night crew had "security" making sure people went into assigned rooms. The shrimp bucket wasn't all that great and talk about cheap on the drinks. The boat tour they offered said all inclusive (food, drinks, with 2 activity options) ok, so the food wasn't good at all!! We picked horseback riding and the banana boat ride, the lady who offered the horse rides was rude and the ride was a total of ten min long! The banana boat ride? Well the boat pulling us stalled 8 times in the ten min ride, I could have swam faster!

Pros: The lady working on days was so nice and helpful! The beach view was amazing! Hotel is in a GREAT location!

We will for sure go back to Mazatlan, however we will NOT go back to Hotel La Siesta!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward,Alaska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I booked online a few months ahead through a travel site with a great rate. I called to verify and requested a corner ocean view room. Check in /out was quick and easy. I enjoyed it there so much I extended my stay and management honored the online rate without a problem.. great service!! Staff was very friendly.

Maid service was top notch. I liked that Martha would always knock after noon so I never had a worry about sleeping late.

The room was large with 2 beds, table, chairs, dresser, walk in closet. A wrap around balcony with 2 glass doors and lots of windows provided awesome ocean views and wonderful sunsets. Air conditioning wasn't working but I was able to get a big fan from the front desk. Combine that with the 2 balcony doors and there was plenty of ventilation.

It was very quiet during the week with nothing open late night for muchies, no stores or restaurants. Weekends has the bar action but the music wasn't overly loud.

Big shower with great pressure and plenty of hot water. I liked the extra light and view from the little shower window.

I bought a cheap cooler at Soriana and got ice daily down stairs at the little store for cold drinks. I'd be willing to pay a little more to have a small fridge.

Never made it in the pool. It seemed that with the wall most of the sun would be during the morning. The area was clean but small and had a nice, clean restroom.

Bus service was limited .. you could get a bus heading out north but none returned without going to centro and then having to pay to get on another..at least they are cheap! Taxis were much easier.

The location is really great for Carnaval if you are into partying and perfect for fireworks. I can picture famous people staying here in it's prime days. I look forward to staying here again next year for a few days for something different from the apt in the GZ.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at Hotel La Siesta for one night in May 2013. Good value option, excellent location. Quiet if you get a back room. Air-con is either on or off. Good shower and wifi connection - very comfortable bed. Very friendly and professional staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived in carnival, had been unaware of this when we were planning. The hotel is right in the middle of the carnival so we were given free passes for each night. Carnival was great but carried on until 3.30am every morning and the music was loud and impossible to get away from. We had an indoor room, as the ocean view rooms were much more expensive during carnival, but these weren't any quieter. We did get used to the noise tho as had 5 nights here! The room was dark as only windows were small and opened on to the inside of the hotel. They were clean enough despite there being so much mess for the cleaners to deal with each day after the many parties being held in the hotel. Would be a fab location outside of carnival, old town Mazatlan is much less touristy than the big hotels on the golden zone.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This is by far my favorite hotel. I have stayed at the Casa Lucille and would choose La Siesta over it. The staff is very friendly and everyone treats you like they are your friends. All the ocean view rooms are excellent with wonderful views. There is one room in particular that is the BEST. I won't divulge that info as I want to keep it a secret so it doesn't become overbooked. Ruth, the front desk lady, was very accommodating and always had a laugh and a smile. For the price and location it simply cannot be beat. It's a bit dated but they take very good care of it and their guest. I will always be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#8 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aguamarina Hotel
Aguamarina Hotel
#36 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#31 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
#25 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
3.4 mi away
Azteca Inn
Azteca Inn
#22 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
2.3 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#44 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Siesta

Address: Blvd Olas Altas 11 Centro (Downtown), Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Siesta 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Siesta Hotel is located right in the Historic Centre of Mazatlan, Sinaloa, in front of the beach and the boardwalk. Our location is truly privileged, since we are near the Plaza Machado, restaurants and bars and some other icons like the Angela Peralta Theater, the Cathedral and the Pino Suarez Market. No pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel la Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel
La Siesta Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Siesta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.