We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value in the historic part of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Siesta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Siesta to your Saves list
Hotel la Siesta
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Olas Altas 11 Centro (Downtown), Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Value in the historic part of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a third floor, ocean view, corner room on the Monday of Thanksgiving week for $41 plus the 19 percent tax. A/c, wifi, and tv included

The room was large and the balconies useful. The linen was clean and the beds comfortable. Like a couple of previous reviewers, I found the pillows inadequate (I had the same issue with the Sydney Hilton at 7x the price!) and the bathrooms look like they were built in the 60's (they WERE!). So what?

The on premesis convenience store is reasonably stocked and the legendary Shrimp Bucket restaurant serves up good food.

The lack of a secure parking garage was covered by a night watchman who kept a clise eye on my car parked directly in front of the hotel.

Viditors looking for value will love this. Those looking for a bright and shiny tourist hotel will be happier elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    78
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
74
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just remembered about staying here. Our trip was in August of 2010. Nice location, center of everything. We had a great view of the beautiful ocean. Nice and friendly staff, always clean. It was super hot, thank god for the A/C. They had free wifi, nice clean swimming pool. The only thing I didn't like was they didn't have elevators. It was a drag carrying all the luggage up and down the stairs. But overall this is a good place to stay, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great location, great price. The view is phenominal. Restaurant is really good as well. Beds, and bathrooms leave a little to be desired but all in all a great value. I have been coming to this hotel for a few years now and would definitely recommend it for a short stay (1 week max).

Room Tip: Top Floor, ocean view, on a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

For just $34 a night you can stay in Mazitlan, I was amazed and at the Hotel la Siesta, it was true. The room was not the Hilton but that’s not where I was at. They offered free internet, a swimming pool, shuttle bus as well as a restaurant. My room was clean but the bed and pillows needed replaced. One thing I did find that I enjoyed was the Shrimp Bucket restaurant it was great and very popular.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice location very close to the Plaza Machado and is on the Malecon. However, I stayed on the "backside" of the hotel. No window with any view (I could see the back of the building next door, and the window could not close because the TV cable wire was draped through the opening.) The closet door and the bathroom door were just one big flat 1/2" plywood board. No door handle. Bathroom looked like it was from the 1950's.

Maybe if you pay the price to stay on the ocean-view side the rooms are a little more upscale. However, I don't think I'll bother to try the place again.

The pluses were the room was cheap. The room was clean. And, you have the restaurant "The Shrimp Bucket" right next door!

Room Tip: Try the ocean-view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I just returned from 7 nights at La Siesta. It is in a good location if you like being near the old part of Mazatlan. I went swimming in the beach right across the street-although in August it was too hot during the day-everyone came to the beach around 7 pm. My only gripes are that the pillows were really awful-they need to throw them away and get new ones- they were totally lumpy. The mattress was also lumpy-I couldn't sleep on m side because it poked me. The room was huge though and it was nice and clean. It would have been nice to have a mini fridge and a larger TV but I only paid about 48 bucks the first 5 nights and about 35 the last two since that was the start of low season.
In sum, it is ok for 3-4 nights but you might want to then go to somewhere a little more comfy.

Room Tip: I had a room on the outside and it was nice to be able to see the ocean, especially during the storm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family and I stayed at the la siesta last summer and we did have a great time there ! The hotel is right on the beach with a great view of the ocean .The hotel is located in the historic district .The rooms are very clean , the shower was large and lots of hot water .The room had two double beds .Over all a great value for the money .The hotel is good for people on a budget we had a great first visit to Mazatlan staying here !!!!

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view rooms we really liked the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel la Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Siesta

Address: Blvd Olas Altas 11 Centro (Downtown), Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Siesta 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Siesta Hotel is located right in the Historic Centre of Mazatlan, Sinaloa, in front of the beach and the boardwalk. Our location is truly privileged, since we are near the Plaza Machado, restaurants and bars and some other icons like the Angela Peralta Theater, the Cathedral and the Pino Suarez Market. No pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel la Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel
La Siesta Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Siesta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.