We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Siesta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Siesta to your Saves list
Hotel la Siesta
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Olas Altas 11 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great location, great price. The view is phenominal. Restaurant is really good as well. Beds, and bathrooms leave a little to be desired but all in all a great value. I have been coming to this hotel for a few years now and would definitely recommend it for a short stay (1 week max).

Room Tip: Top Floor, ocean view, on a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    71
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
69
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

For just $34 a night you can stay in Mazitlan, I was amazed and at the Hotel la Siesta, it was true. The room was not the Hilton but that’s not where I was at. They offered free internet, a swimming pool, shuttle bus as well as a restaurant. My room was clean but the bed and pillows needed replaced. One thing I did find that I enjoyed was the Shrimp Bucket restaurant it was great and very popular.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice location very close to the Plaza Machado and is on the Malecon. However, I stayed on the "backside" of the hotel. No window with any view (I could see the back of the building next door, and the window could not close because the TV cable wire was draped through the opening.) The closet door and the bathroom door were just one big flat 1/2" plywood board. No door handle. Bathroom looked like it was from the 1950's.

Maybe if you pay the price to stay on the ocean-view side the rooms are a little more upscale. However, I don't think I'll bother to try the place again.

The pluses were the room was cheap. The room was clean. And, you have the restaurant "The Shrimp Bucket" right next door!

Room Tip: Try the ocean-view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I just returned from 7 nights at La Siesta. It is in a good location if you like being near the old part of Mazatlan. I went swimming in the beach right across the street-although in August it was too hot during the day-everyone came to the beach around 7 pm. My only gripes are that the pillows were really awful-they need to throw them away and get new ones- they were totally lumpy. The mattress was also lumpy-I couldn't sleep on m side because it poked me. The room was huge though and it was nice and clean. It would have been nice to have a mini fridge and a larger TV but I only paid about 48 bucks the first 5 nights and about 35 the last two since that was the start of low season.
In sum, it is ok for 3-4 nights but you might want to then go to somewhere a little more comfy.

Room Tip: I had a room on the outside and it was nice to be able to see the ocean, especially during the storm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family and I stayed at the la siesta last summer and we did have a great time there ! The hotel is right on the beach with a great view of the ocean .The hotel is located in the historic district .The rooms are very clean , the shower was large and lots of hot water .The room had two double beds .Over all a great value for the money .The hotel is good for people on a budget we had a great first visit to Mazatlan staying here !!!!

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view rooms we really liked the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here in first time 2007/2008 New Years, it is the real thing as far as a Mexican hotel goes, family run, clean, good value, on the main street looking out on the ocean. It's in the center of everything.
If you're looking for 5 stars go down the street, this is Mexico!

Room Tip: The side rooms can be a little noisy at times, especially for New Years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Mazatln can be put in two catagories... those visiting for sun, booze and nightlife.. and those looking for the real Mexico. La Siesta is right on the waterfront in the old town, only 400 metres from Centro Historico and it is where we like to stay. The bus outside the door can take you to the Zona Dorada every 10 minutes for US80cents. Most visitors tend to forget that Mazatlan was here for a long time before the development of the Golden Zone , and the is a lot of Historic places to visit. Also, the staff here are great.

Room Tip: Rooms # 214 and 314 are by a long way, the best, right on the corner with two large balconies overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Siesta

Address: Blvd Olas Altas 11 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Siesta 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel la Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel
La Siesta Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Siesta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.