We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Siesta

Save Saved
You added Hotel la Siesta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel la Siesta
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Olas Altas 11 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Comox,B.C.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great vacay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We loved staying at the La Siesta..the rooms were sparse but clean,the staff were amazing and the location was the best..while in Mazatlan,venture into centro Mazatlan to find Cafe Maya for the best burritos and coffee.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    66
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
65
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vinton,Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed March 15-25th 2012. Third year in a row,great basic hotel. Great maid service,rooms were clean. The front desk staff are wonderful and helpful. You are in walking distance of the central market,great places to eat, and alot of cultural events. We always get an oceanview room expect traffic noise , it's part of Mexico. By the way, we take the public bus alot and walk to many places, at no times did we ever feel unsafe. Go to Mazatlan and stay at
the La Siesta and enjoy Mexco.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Fantastic location right on the seafront. Good restaurant attached. Ocean view rooms are terrific but if you can't get one of these...the rooms on the side on both floors have an ocean view as well and you can still see the sunsets. The pool is quiet and a sun trap. It's basic...but it didn't bother us. The rooms are clean, the showers are hot and the beds comfortable. Free internet for guests at reception, lots of knowledge about trips..(use ONCA whalewatching as he's a marine biologist and really knows his stuff). No lift...not a problem unless you are disabled.Really quirky middle section too with trees growing in the central courtyard over and above the building.

Room Tip: Ask for 213,313,228,328 if you can't afford an official ocean view room. Look around on hotel we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed here Jan/Feb 2012 for 11 nights, it is great. A very clean and friendly place with amazing views if you get a beach view room. The restaurant below is wicked for breakfast and all meals, really nice staff and a good bar. The reception staff are really helpful. It is in the old town which is so different to the Zona Dorada, much more relaxed. We booked a whale watching tour through Onca explorations which I would also recommend.
Jane & Marc UK

Room Tip: Rooms inside are quiter but no view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I was pleased to arrive at this hotel - right across from the ocean & malecon, very friendly welcome, clean room with incredible view of ocean and surrounding streets.

The day of check in was a celebration and they had a jazz band playing from 6 pm. Not bad. The Shrimp Bucket restaurant is in the centre of the hotel, open ceiling with lots of greenery - charming. Was so crowded last nite, I ate at the bar, which opens onto restaurant. Had coconut shrimp - YUM!!!

Great rate, great location, a bit tired looking, but very charming, with friendly & helpful staff!

Room Tip: for views, oceanside; otherwise ask for inner courtyard room which would be quiet if no band playing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We just returned from a couple of days in Mazatlan. We stayed at the Hotel La Siesta on Olas Altas in the old section of Mazatlan. The Hotel is rather tired and worn, but the beds & room were clean and we had an ocean front balcony. It was convenient for walking around the old section of Mazatlan and the Malecon.

Room Tip: Street side is a little noisy; but that is where you have the ocean front balconies----and the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at Hotel La Siesta from Dec 24th to Jan 1st. This is our second trip to Mazatlan and the second time we have stayed at Hotel La Siesta. We would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget or who wants to stay in/near Old Town Mazatlan. We rarely were disturbed by traffic noise and we were staying on the third floor right facing the Malecon. The beds were a little hard, but that is most places in Mexico. You so close to everything: Plaza Machado, lots of restaurants and the beach wasn't bad either. And everything is within walking distance. We would often go to the Mercado for Breakfast and then continue on from there. Also, The Schrimp Bucket was very convenient for dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Siesta

Address: Blvd Olas Altas 11 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Siesta 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel la Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel
La Siesta Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Siesta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.