We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the bus ride” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Cerritos

Playa Cerritos
Mazatlan, Mexico
Update attraction details
Ranked #15 of 54 attractions in Mazatlan
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This beach, with grass growing atop its dunes, is quiet and undeveloped.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the bus ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

There are a few stores, vendors and restaurants here. We found it was cheaper here for little gifts. We always come here so we can go to the Last Drop and we always order the same thing. Pizza. It's thin crust and awesome. Take a ride, it's worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Playa Cerritos is a good 15 min walk from the Riu resort which I stayed at. So my friend and I would walk here to excercise off all the food we had at the resort. This place has a cool coffee shop and souvenier stores. If you walk to the end of the block youll find fisherman bringing their fresh pick of the day. I had some fresh oysters here...amazingly fresh. Cant wait to go back!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beatiful beach, walk for miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We loved this beach. Not much to do apart from enjoy the sun, sand and waves, or search for seashells. Soft sand, intense sun. Lovely.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“World Class Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spend about 5 months each year on this beach. It is a wide sandy uncrowded beach and one of Mexico's best kept secrets. A few years ago it won an award for the cleanest beach in Mexico. Popular with the local Mexicans on Sundays and holidays but still not crowded. Stay late and enjoy the sunset.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for the RV crowd.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Playa Cerritos was the destination we walked to from our resort at Emerald Bay. The value was in the journey not the destination. Nice deserted beach with birds and tidal pools to enjoy. Lots of debris, typical of deserted beaches of course, which is the result of our throw away mentality but overall an enjoyable walk. The beach at Cerritos though has the usual assortment of seafood restaurants. If you want a laugh, look at the deck construction under the beach front places. It will make you think twice about your table selection. For another treat, walk down to the water, turn left and look for the fishing boats. Don Rafael, a local fisherman will probably approach you to sell you some fresh seafood. If you have a barbeque, get some lobster and grill em up for a great meal. So except for those living in the RV park, there are better places to be.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Cerritos also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Playa Cerritos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Cerritos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.