We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belmar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Belmar
Save Saved
You added Hotel Belmar to your Saves list
Ave. Olas Altas Sur #166, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Belmar has a bohemian quality to it and one can feel the history. If you require champagne, a mint under your pillow, or even dependable water pressure, go to one of the newer flashy joints in the Sábalos district and pay $200/night. The Belmar is reasonably clean and safe. $35 for a king-size bed and a balcony overlooking the surf. Unbeatable. The staff is helpfull, and the bar laid-back, with Sunday evenings featuring Bob Marley. A short walk through an increasingly gentrified American ex-pat district takes you to the center of town and the lively Pino Suárez market. Everything you need for a long stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor; around pool, saloon, and lobby; can be high-traffic and noisy, but is within easy stag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
10
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at Hotel Belmar while traveling through Mexico via motorcycle from LA on a tight budget. This was a great location (although in a busy area during the day and early evening, things appeared to shut down at 10pm and street food was difficult to find) and for only $20 for an interior room it worked for us. There was no AC but you can hear the sound of the waves crashing against the malecon and the birds that appear to have taken over the hotel chirping all night and morning. The room was huge with two full sized beds (very very firm as were the flattened pillows), no hot water, a ceiling fan, no tv, wifi only in the entry of the hotel but we could never get it to work for us, and definitely a lot of character for those who aren't too picky about a place to sleep for the night. Overall, it worked for us and our budget but if you're looking for comfort at least pick the rooms at the front of the building rather than the interior.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachland, bc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After several short stays at the Belmar, this past winter we decided to stay for five months.
We were pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is old, yes there are parts that desperately need repair, but the suites on our floor are all in good repair and very comfortable. We have a kitchen, bedroom and bathroom, which are all very serviceable.
The value is incredible, the location right in the centre of the old historic zone, across the street from the beach ris wonderful. All the surrounding buildings are so interesting, with an old world European charm to them. Convenient restaurants just outside the front entrance, the market within walking distance, as is great entertainment.
However the best part of the Belmar is the staff. From Alicia at the front desk, to the maids, to the fellows who seem to do everything, they are the most wonderful crew. As to security, we have had staff in and out of our suite on several occasions, sometimes when we could not be there and have never had any problems.
We have already reserved for next year and will return as long as we can.

Room Tip: When you reserve, ask for patio rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachland, B.C.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Realtors advertise Location! Location! Location! and the Hotel Belmar has it! It is the oldest beach hotel in Mazatlan, located in the old historic district. I'm not sure how many stars the Belmar would have, it is old, worn around the edges, and badly needs upgrading. That said, the location can't be beat, the staff are friendly and helpful, Alicia on the front desk is fabulous, and some of the rooms are really quite nice. I'd recommend the patio rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors. Ask to see some rooms before you take one and if possible you will be given a choice. And yes, the beds are hard, as it seems most beds are in Mexico. We put foam on ours. There are a number of restaurants just outside the main entrance, secure parking is available, and you are within easy walking distance of the mercado, Plazuela Machada with all it's restaurants and entertainment, and Teatro Angela Peraulta (a must see). There are long term departamentos with kitchens in various parts of the hotel. These are hard to get into as those of us who stay there long term usually return every year. The units are not great but most of us have fixed things up a little every year and are very comfortable. We have spent the last 7 winters in Hotel Belmar and at no time have had any security concerns.

Room Tip: Patio rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors are the best. The ocean rooms with balconies are older and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I love staying in historic old hotels with lots of character. This was to be our last night in Mexico before flying back to LAX. I chose this hotel for its location and history, but I didn't expect it to be in this bad of shape. Consider this place a shipwreck on the beach, it should be towed out to open water and sunk with a torpedo. The place hasn't been renovated in say 40 years and that is not an exaggeration. The furniture is old, the beds are hard, the place is very dusty and rusty, and the black and white television only received one channel. There is no need to lock your door because someone can just lean against it and it will open. Don't worry no one will break into your room because they must figure you don't have any money because you are staying here. The bathroom door didn't have a handle and it wouldn't stay closed. This hotel gets one star, but 5 stars for the price $30USD, staff, location, view from our room, ocean waves crashing while you sleep, and the evening sidewalk ambiance.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I recently visited the Belmar Hotel in Mazatlan. I had read some stories about it being a real jewel back in the 40s and 50s. It was a place where Hollywood greats hung out like John Wayne. It's also reputed to be haunted which is the reason I had to go see. We stopped by about midday and they were just opening up the bar for business. I asked the bartender about the hauntings and she told me the stories of the little girl on the second floor and apparitions that had been seen by the pool. My friends and I took a table in the shaded area in front of the hotel and ordered some beers. It's true this hotel has seen better days it's in need of paint and plaster and there was some construction going on while we were there. But you can see it had its glory days of the past. It's situated on a nice piece of beach and the art district near old town. It is a very pleasant place to sit out for an afternoon. Although we did not find any ghosts or apparitions while we were there we did have a very nice time. I understand rooms rent for about 55 pesos a night not a bad deal but I'm sure you get what you pay for. For me it was just fun to belly up to the bar were John Wayne once drank his beer. I hope to get back to visit the Belmar and I hope the renovation goes well. Thanks to the bartender who made our afternoon pleasant.

Room Tip: A good place on a budget, otherwise keep looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn Valley, Kansas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Niko is the guy that will take your bags and greet you every day with his big smiles:-) Hes OK with English but not great, he does try, tho. Alicia that works the day shift that checks u in, is awesome! She always remembers us and our names:-) The entire staff, other than the young bartender are great and very welcoming. Will continue to stay there every time that we are in Mazatlan! Clean rooms but not always hot water, sometimes its lukewarm:-( Never Hot:-( Fonda Santa Clara is great also, restaurateur is the best!

Room Tip: Rooms on ocean side r the best sleeping rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Address: Ave. Olas Altas Sur #166, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belmar is Mazatlan's original beach front hotel. Located in front of the Pacific Ocean, in the beautiful historic Olas Altas neighborhood of Mazatlan, Sinaloa. A panoramic sea view over the Pacific Ocean awaits you. With 130 spacious, luminous, comfortable rooms with TV, bath, balcony or terrace and many with air conditioning, your comfort is assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belmar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.