We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but be prepared” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Las Moras

Hacienda Las Moras
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Las Moras
Save
You added Hacienda Las Moras to your Saves list
Carretera a La Noria Km 9, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Danville, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful but be prepared”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We went to Hacienda Las Moras as part of the cruise we took. Most reviews looked really good and it was a beautiful place. The reason I am writing this review is that while it was beautiful, there were also some issues people should be aware of before going.

From the ship it is a 45 minute ride into the Sierra Madre mountain foothills. Some of the trip is on bumpy dirt roads. Not a big deal but it could be scary if it's raining. Once there the grounds are stunning and the hotel sits by itself in the hills. The reason I am writing this review is that once there, you can not get back to the ship until the tour leaves. It is VERY isolated.

We took a lot of pictures and arrived at the pool to see everyone on the tour staring into the water. It was flourescent green with 3 inches of slimy green algae all over the steps, sides , and bottom (although the bottom was not visible through the green). It was July in Mexico and therefore HOT. We realized we would not be able to swim and this really made everyone very unhappy because the pool in the pictures was not in good condition at all.

We were told to sit in the outdoor hilltop area for lunch which was very pretty. The lunch was fine although only 1 drink was included. The pool being how it was it got very hot and many more drinks had to be purchased to try to keep cool. After a while we went into the open air living room (also beautiful) to get out of the blistering sun. I looked up and saw that the cords for the fans were hanging from the ceiling but all the ceiling fans had been removed. The air that day was absolutely still and we began sweating profusely. There was nowhere to go to get away from the heat. We heard loud splashing as one man ( an ex special forces member he later told us) dove into the pool because he couldn't stand it anymore. When he surfaced and people called him brave he stated, "I've seen worse in the Mekong Delta-there were bodies in that water". Okay that tells you something! We finally and gratefully boarded the bus back.

Our guide asked us allto fill out a comment card and was astonished that ever single one rated the hacienda a 2 out of 5.

That night when the excursion desk opened we saw all of our fellow tour people in line to complain. Turns out the hacienda people, seeing our comment cards, had called ahead to say there had been a "windstorm" the night before and that there were leaves in the pool. They flat out lied. There were no leaves and wind doesn't bring 3 inches of algae overnight. Luckily I had pictures and showed them to the desk people. They refunded 1/2 of everyone's $.

To sum it all up... would I go there again? Only if I were assured that the pool was properly maintained and the fans were back and working. Seems to me, in reading the other reviews, that Las Moras suffers from a lack of consistency. Las Moras people-your hacienda is beautiful but you need to show the pride of ownership to make it a consistently sought after destination. People who are not used to the heat (although we are from california) need to be able to cool down.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lorton, VA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

We booked a horseback riding excursion through our Princess Cruise on the Sapphire Princess in November 2009. The Hacienda was beautifully maintained and the staff were incredibly nice. After the 40 minute bus trip from the dock in Mazatlan, we headed down a long dirt road that shelters the Hacienda from the outside world. We stopped at the little chapel that overlooks the Hacienda in order to take pictures. You wouldn't think there'd be much to photograph, but the wildness of the mountains and cactus were spectacular. When we arrived at the main house we were able to make a short rest stop before saddling up. The horses were well-mannered and in good health; the trails were also well-maintained. While "regulations" prohibited us from more than trail "walking" it was a nice long hour or more of riding. After riding, we had a fantastic lunch on the veranda. Again, I can't say enough about how great the staff were in serving and just being down-right pleasant. Following lunch we dipped in the pool and relaxed in the sun.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We spend our winters in Mazatlan, and go out to Hacienda Las Moras every week or two. It is a gorgeous place with very attentive staff, and a very tranquil atmosphere. Previous posts complaining about animal treatment are either very outdated or patently false. I would recommend this beautiful spot to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

when my family and i stayed at las moras. It was wonderful. my children loved it and so did the other familys. the animals were great fun, the staff had a great personality, and spoke english well so it was easy for us to talk to them, the view is great from any angel, and the food was really good traditional food with great taste. everyone i have talked to has enjoyed there stay. i recommend it to any one who enjoys the outdoors, and if u don't theres always the pool/bar.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

I highly recommend a visit to this enchanting place. Take a trip back in time to an impeccably restored agave ranch. The staff was excellent, the food great, swimming pool was refreshing and the horse-back riding fun. If you have time, have a massage..the best!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

We took two different groups of people up to Las Moras for lunch. Both groups loved it! It is beautiful , the staff was very attentive and treated us royally and the food was great! We plan to go back and spend a night or two there.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

While we were not guests at this hotel, we did spend the better part of a day and we loved it.
The grounds were gorgeous and well kept. The peacocks were such a pleasant surprise !!
The pool area was immaculate. The lunch served to our tour group was delicious and presented nicely. Everyone was friendly and anxious for us to enjoy ourselves.

I was thinking what a beautiful place this would be for a wedding.......
I would never have imagined such a delightful place would be in such a rural area.....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Las Moras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Las Moras

Address: Carretera a La Noria Km 9, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hacienda Las Moras Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Las Moras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.