We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place at night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Machado

Plaza Machado
Calle Constitucion, Mazatlan, Mexico
669 913 22 22
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Mazatlan City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #1 of 44 Attractions in Mazatlan
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Walking, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Central plaza named for Juan Nepomuceno Machado who donated the land.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool place at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

During the day the streets of this plaza have traffic but at night they block it and restaurants put their tables out in the street. There was a couple of different bands playing and it has a look and feel you don't see everywhere in mexico. It reminded me a little bit of downtown Queretaro. The architecture of the buildings in the few blocks surrounding this plaza is cool and nice to walk around in at night

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    131
    22
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“El Corazon de Mazatlan Viejo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Heart of Old Mazatlan - with renovated historical buildings on all sides, the school of art on one end, several restaurants and bars. A great meeting place - wonderful light for photos - a great focal point from which to explore the old city.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

be transported 100 years ago by beautiful colonial architecture and outdoor cafes........such a peaceful lunch

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Matchado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Super fun! Restaurants are good and shopping is all over. Best to go on Friday or Saturdays. Enrike from El CID hotel took us here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Well Kept Secret on the Plaza.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

One of the best places we had dinner was on the Plaza Machado at the VIntage Retro Bar & Cafe
which seems to have flown under the radar screen of Trip Advisor. It is located at the other end of the block from Pedro y Lola. They serve this 100 Anos Steak FiIlet which all five of us ordered and we cleaned our plates. This entree consists of a Steak on top of a Poblano Chile in the middle of a pool of Ancho chile sauce. Next time we go-- I want to go into the kitchen and see how chef cooks this wondrous menu item. We drove down to Centro Historico just to taste this legendary dish.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Machado also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Machado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Machado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.