We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place at night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Machado

Plaza Machado
Calle Constitucion, Mazatlan, Mexico
669 913 22 22
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Mazatlan City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #2 of 79 things to do in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Central plaza named for Juan Nepomuceno Machado who donated the land.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool place at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

During the day the streets of this plaza have traffic but at night they block it and restaurants put their tables out in the street. There was a couple of different bands playing and it has a look and feel you don't see everywhere in mexico. It reminded me a little bit of downtown Queretaro. The architecture of the buildings in the few blocks surrounding this plaza is cool and nice to walk around in at night

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    211
    36
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
242 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“El Corazon de Mazatlan Viejo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Heart of Old Mazatlan - with renovated historical buildings on all sides, the school of art on one end, several restaurants and bars. A great meeting place - wonderful light for photos - a great focal point from which to explore the old city.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

be transported 100 years ago by beautiful colonial architecture and outdoor cafes........such a peaceful lunch

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Matchado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Super fun! Restaurants are good and shopping is all over. Best to go on Friday or Saturdays. Enrike from El CID hotel took us here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Well Kept Secret on the Plaza.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

One of the best places we had dinner was on the Plaza Machado at the VIntage Retro Bar & Cafe
which seems to have flown under the radar screen of Trip Advisor. It is located at the other end of the block from Pedro y Lola. They serve this 100 Anos Steak FiIlet which all five of us ordered and we cleaned our plates. This entree consists of a Steak on top of a Poblano Chile in the middle of a pool of Ancho chile sauce. Next time we go-- I want to go into the kitchen and see how chef cooks this wondrous menu item. We drove down to Centro Historico just to taste this legendary dish.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Machado also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Plaza Machado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Machado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.