We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Performances are award winning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Machado

Plaza Machado
Calle Constitucion, Mazatlan, Mexico
669 913 22 22
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 54 attractions in Mazatlan
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: Walking, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Central plaza named for Juan Nepomuceno Machado who donated the land.
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Performances are award winning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We will go see any performance offered during our time in Mazatlan. The acoustics are amazing and prices more than reasonable for any performance! We don't speak fluent Spanish and yet can follow each performance!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    111
    19
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“for dinner in mazatlan, a must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

get a table outside, any of the restaurants will do. this is a must-see in mazatlan. food ranges from mexican to american, and there are occasionally shows, but it's just good for people-watching.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“friendly, pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We always cruise thru this area for a quick drink at least. We enjoy the atmosphere and the friendly people. Many building have been restored so it is interesting to walk to area to view them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This area of Mazatlan in itself is an education. My wife and I don't do tours, we always have a rental car. That way we can go and see what ever we want. We loved the diversity of the area, the architecture, the colors of the homes. At every street, at every turn there is a new adventure. We went places no tour bus will take you. I love to stop along the way and ask for directions (I don't speak much Spanish) - it's a lesson all of it's own. Sometimes we get lost, which is fun, but we always find our way.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We headed down to the plaza for New Year's Eve and it was beautiful. Lovely place to spend time drinking wine in an outdoor cafe.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Machado also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Machado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Machado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.