We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Machado

Plaza Machado
Calle Constitucion, Mazatlan, Mexico
669 913 22 22
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 54 attractions in Mazatlan
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: Walking, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Central plaza named for Juan Nepomuceno Machado who donated the land.
Southern California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This area of Mazatlan in itself is an education. My wife and I don't do tours, we always have a rental car. That way we can go and see what ever we want. We loved the diversity of the area, the architecture, the colors of the homes. At every street, at every turn there is a new adventure. We went places no tour bus will take you. I love to stop along the way and ask for directions (I don't speak much Spanish) - it's a lesson all of it's own. Sometimes we get lost, which is fun, but we always find our way.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    106
    19
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We headed down to the plaza for New Year's Eve and it was beautiful. Lovely place to spend time drinking wine in an outdoor cafe.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“shop til you drop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

then have a licuado...and some camarones...highly enjoyable place to shop, or just visit...close to downtown attractions

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“LOVELY STROLL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Didn't spend enough time here,benches around the square,under trees. Restaurands are on 2 sides with outdoor seating. A block from the A.Peralta Theatre.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This Plaza has become the center of Mazatlan's artist scene. Stroll the renovated neighborhood; have a drink at Edgar's bar to experience old Mexico, dine at one of the many excellent restaurants and see a performance at the theater Angela Peralta.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Machado also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Machado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Machado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Plaza Machado to your Saves list