We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Machado

Plaza Machado
Calle Constitucion, Mazatlan, Mexico
669 913 22 22
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$30*
and up
Mazatlan City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #3 of 86 things to do in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Central plaza named for Juan Nepomuceno Machado who donated the land.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This area of Mazatlan in itself is an education. My wife and I don't do tours, we always have a rental car. That way we can go and see what ever we want. We loved the diversity of the area, the architecture, the colors of the homes. At every street, at every turn there is a new adventure. We went places no tour bus will take you. I love to stop along the way and ask for directions (I don't speak much Spanish) - it's a lesson all of it's own. Sometimes we get lost, which is fun, but we always find our way.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HubieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We headed down to the plaza for New Year's Eve and it was beautiful. Lovely place to spend time drinking wine in an outdoor cafe.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“shop til you drop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

then have a licuado...and some camarones...highly enjoyable place to shop, or just visit...close to downtown attractions

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“LOVELY STROLL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Didn't spend enough time here,benches around the square,under trees. Restaurands are on 2 sides with outdoor seating. A block from the A.Peralta Theatre.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sunwalker2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
154 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This Plaza has become the center of Mazatlan's artist scene. Stroll the renovated neighborhood; have a drink at Edgar's bar to experience old Mexico, dine at one of the many excellent restaurants and see a performance at the theater Angela Peralta.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank soloman9993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Machado also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Machado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing