We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Machado

Plaza Machado
Calle Constitucion, Mazatlan, Mexico
669 913 22 22
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 54 attractions in Mazatlan
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: Walking, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Central plaza named for Juan Nepomuceno Machado who donated the land.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Old world experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The weekend nights are alive with people & music. During the week there are fewer people and no vendors, but the restaurants are still good! A recent Saturday there was a large movie screen set-up with movies playing and a crowd of people sitting in the park watching films in Spanish while others walked around looking at what vendors had for sale. There are plenty of park benches placed around the plaza. The crowd ranges from small children to the elderly. I've never been harrassed or felt threatened by any of the teenagers hanging out. Plenty of pulmonias and taxis hanging around to catch a ride home--even at 1am. The restaurants around the plaza have tables (and fans) outside for you to enjoy drinks and dinner while you listen to the music and people-watch. I've eaten at most of the restaurants and have not been disappointed. Wait staff are always friendly and don't rush you to leave. Day time tours show you the historic value and beauty of the buildings so that shouldn't be missed either!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    106
    19
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice play to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

walking the old mazatlan for me is remember my childhood, some years ago this area bas abandoned, now is a place that you must visit

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit at night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Plenty of restaurants, shops and vendors to spend some time at this great little plaza. Everything is lit up and there is live music for entertainment. We have tried a variety of the restaurants and must say they are all excellent. This is certainly worth a stop.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“El corezon de Mazatlan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Mazatlan is so much more than beautiful sunsets and great beaches. For those who have only spent their travels in the Zona Dorada, hop on a green bus and head down to the Centro Historico and get to know the city beyond the beach. The Plaza Machado is beautiful, historic, pleasant and fun. The Teatro Angela Peralta is here plus many restaurants and periodic events like the book fair and weekly arts and crafts sales.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Several good choices in restaurants.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I haven't tried all the restaurants yet, but I plan to make this my mission the next time I'm in Mazatlan.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Machado also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Machado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Machado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Plaza Machado to your Saves list