We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minnnesota Friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Cid Marina Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Minnnesota Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

This was our 5th year in Mazatlan staying at the Marina El Cid hotel. As usual we had an outstanding time. We were a little disappointed when we first arrived because our favorite bell man, Rafael Ramos, was working nights- but he soon showed up during the day and privided his outstanding service as he always does. Between Fidel and staff at the pool and Rafael working up front- they made sure our vacation was everything we wanted it to be and then some. We will definitely return to El Cid Marina- but mostly because of the oustanding work of Rafael and Fidel. They made 9 Minnesota women perfectly happy! Thank you El Cid!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    221
    64
    31
    12
See reviews for
309
384
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fairbanks
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We had the best vacation ever the rooms were very nice and clean and a great view the friendlest staff I have ever been around the food was great and it was a family atmosphere. I didn't want to leave there, they treated us so well. Thank you from Fairbanks Alaska we will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
Dear twilabart

Thank-You for your gracious review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay here at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. We strive to deliver THE best customer service in Mazatlan. Each team member is here to serve every guest, every day, every stay. I am really glad that you experienced this while you were our guest.

If you are ever in the area again, please choose our hotel for your lodging needs. And thanks again for your kind comments!

Kind regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

The Marina El Cid was more than we ever expected. On arrival we were met by Alex out front to help with our bags. This young man was a joy and a help with anything we needed. Always asking to help. We were not used to this type of treatment.
The rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful, but I don't remember their names.
The only drawback we see is the timeshare push, but we understand they need to do their jobs too. And we had a wheelchair with us so we had to pull him up stairs to get to the restaurant. The staff did offer dinner menus to us in the bar to save our backs. LOL
We went to the other El Cid properties to party and came back ( home ) to the Marina to relax. Free shuttles between properties, can't beat it.
We will return but only after we check out the Cancun ElCid.
Thanks Alex, for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
Dear sweetmn55

We very much appreciate your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. It sounds like you had a very good experience from start to finish.
Coming to your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do appreciate all the positive feedbacks you have given us, a couple of points which caused you a little inconvenience is highly regretted.

We are only as good as what our guest tell us we are. We pride ourselves on having a clean hotel and are glad that you would chose us again.

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Stayed for 2 weeks. We got a great deal on a package from Sask. for less than $1900 Can$ each all incl. Has a lot of good points but also some bad ones. When compared to our last years resort on the Mayan Riveria this one comes up short in a lot of ways but comparing other resorts in Mazatlan for the price it seems to be the best one if you can get a deal. Well here is my list of good points:
1. Nice view - all rooms have a view of pools, marina and ocean.
2. Each building has an elevator - they all appear to be no taller than 4 floors except the last building believed to be timeshare/owner building.
3. Only onsite restaurant was great in service, they were above and beyond to please us. Food was good to very good depending on if you ordered off the menu or off the morning buffet.
4. Waiters at the pools were very courteous and aimed to please as well.
5. Rooms were quite large, 2 double beds, kitchenette, balcony , couch, in room safe, fridge, blender, coffeemaker, dishes., fans, tv,, but no clock radio( but we asked for one at the main desk and they gave us one to use while we stayed there) Main desk help and assistance was excellent - service was quick and satisfactory no matter what we asked for.
6. Quick shuttle service to other El Cids, usually within 5-10 minutes. They use two VW vans, 10 pass( one squeaks quite loudly the other doesn't)
7. Never had to reserve a beach chair because there was never enough people around that there was a demand.
8. very large hot tub, two large pools, watch for iguanas near your food.
9. Drinks appeared to usually use premium imported brands.
10. Ability to reserve alacarte meals at participating restaurants every night if desired( no limit) book anytime by phone.
11. Reps and information desk available to answer your questions. Very helpful-though info desk people are also on commission for timeshares, so they will try to pressure you to come to their meetings.
12. Even though beach was across the channel, the water taxi was never too long to wait. Though it only runs till 6pm.
13. Beach was great, lots of sand.lots of palpas, beach chairs. Some beach vendors but they never pressured anyone.
14. bus service right outside of hotel to go to megamall, walmart, old town(el centro), etc.
15. In general an older crowd, less crowded than other resorts on the northern tip of golden zone but on the main drag. Nice gym at Country club. Best al a carte was Argentina at Granada and Italian at Castille. Ate many times for lunch at Mexican Restaurant in El Moro - very good.

Bad points:
1. All inclusive wristbands - stuck on with some kind of button it is somewhat sharp. I am sure they could find a better way of attaching the bands to peoples wrists.
2. All inclusive - Everytime a drink was ordered your 6 digit wrist band number needed to be recorded and your room number. Somewhat of a pain in the a**. During meals/ food wrist number, room number recorded and then you needed to sign a bill and also put your room number on it again. Guess they are paranoid because of abuse of all inclusive members getting food and drinks for timeshare/owners, and hotel guests or people using old wristbands. ( also had to give wristbands back before we left or get charged $50 or so bucks)
2. Room entrances onto an exterior hallway along busy main drag street. Our suite door appeared to have good rubber gaskets to seal the door But when closed from the inside we could see light all the way around it, and nothing to seal the door to the floor. So because of this noise was heard when vehicles with loud stereos were driving by. Two bathroom sinks in room but both popups would not stay down. Maid service not of high standard- two quilts had covers on them but both zipped covers broken, and not changed for days. did not give any spare handsoap. Had to ask for coffee filters. Airconditioning was very loud so used the fans at night with the balcony door open.( luckily we were on a high floor) Balcony door latch had too much play- during a windy night the door rattled all night. Maids did not appear to be happy. Rambling around on the cobblestone walkway till 11pm.
2. Bars at pool opened late morniing. Can't order a drink directly from the bartenders because they don't know english and because of above recording policy. Also ordered a mohito from the pool bar- worst mohito I have ever had. Also ordered a rum and cokelite( mexican version of diet coke) bartender did not have any coke lite so substituted regular coke Without my permission- I was not impressed. Bar food also poor quality. stay away from chicken wings- very fatty. Would be nice if they blended their drinks more, only done when you specifically ask for it else its not done.
3. Buffet selection at Marina was small except for Sunday brunch and was basically the same everyday. They do have some smoothies that you can order off the table cards when they are given. Usually have live music every morning- very classy from harp to mariachi band.
4.Water bottle business- water bottles in the room with a card saying that 10 pesos( $1) for each bottle with the money given to a charity. At that high price per bottle we were forced to buy 2 large bottles of water from Mega Mall and haul it back to room to drink. The strange thing is we used four of these bottles but were never charged for them- not sure why. Would have been nice if canned beer was provided for every room- most other resorts have this. Also room service is not free for all inclusive. Free water should also be given.
5. Was told by more than one information desk attendant that we could NOT eat at the international restaurant at El Moro- I thought all restaurants were available except steakhouse in Country Club. Japanese restaurant not recommeded.
6.Entertainment at Castille theater/buffet was better than average. Great talented , costumes, dancing, girls, seen Alladin and Mexican night - both highly recommended
7. Since all the bars are closed at Marina by 11pm you would have to go to Castille or El Moro to continue in their lounges. BUT the shuttle service quits at 1045pm. So you have to pay to get back to Marina. Shuttle service should be available till at least 0200hours for people to enjoy the nightlife.

All in all some improvements could be made to make this a truly 4 star resort. But checking other Mazatlan resorts at the price we managed to get didn't appear to be better in quality. Weather both days and nights were far better than Mayan Riviera but resort wise need to be improved.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Fidel and Miguel and the other servers at the La Gruta Pool Bar couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. Our room had a beautiful view and everyone there seemed truly to enjoy their jobs. What a pleasure. The pools, grounds, and beach were clean and comfortable. Food was ok, but not great. There is a spa and fitness room, but they are not on site. Free shuttles are offered to the other El Cid resorts in the area. The drivers are helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2010
Dear TekPa

I guess there is little else to say but: "thank you". You sum up in a few words how most of our guests feel after a stay at our hotel and it is great to see that you have taken the time to place that comment on Tripadvisor. We look forward to hopefully meeting you again in the future.

All the best.

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

This was our first trip to Mazatlan and I am glad we started at the El Cid Marina. The rooms were a bit dated, but bright and clean and good sized, however the beds were hard and uncomfortable. The staff was wonderful, kind and friendly but there was a bit of a language barrier at the front desk which surprised me. The median age at this resort was over 50 for the guests which was fine. A few families were there however most guests were time-share veterans and repeat customers. The atmosphere was cozy and peaceful. There was no traffic noise, the rooms were all marina, pool or ocean view. The food was very good in the restaurant - just OK at the pool venues and the bar. The pool bar & grills opened later - around 11 or 12 noon so don't expect food or drink outside of the restaurant before then. The Deer Island Tour is a must-see, the City Tour isn't all that great - very rushed. AVOID THE TIMESHARE PRESENTATION - very pushy to the point of obnoxious and the "free stuff" isn't worth it. All in all a nice place to stay - we would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
Dear OregonCoastGirl50

Thank you for the kind words about our team. We are extremely proud of the service culture we have been able to create. The dedication and commitment of the team make it easy!

We spend many hours reviewing all of our guests’ comments and concerns and I promise that our management team has reviewed your comments and action plans have been created so that we may make improvements on the deficiencies that you have experienced.

Again thank you for your time and I hope that we may have the opportunity to perfect your next stay with us.

Thank you for giving us a shot and glad to know you will be back again. We look forward to your future visits!

Kind regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jemorris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We loved the view from our balcony of the ocean, marina and pool area. The staff were excellent in accomdating us with whatever we wanted. We enjoyed the specialty restaurants and the buffets had more than anyone could possibly want. The maid service was superb and the servie bar service as well. We spent alot of evenings in the lounge area and were treated very well especially by one waitress, who took care of us whether we were sitting inside or outside. My only brief complaint was that the pool wasn't heated and we found the ocean temperature warmer than the pool. Although the rooms were nice and comfortable, noise could be heard from the hallways outside and also from the room next door. This was only a real problem our second night when a very loud group decided to stay up til 5am in the morning. Besides that I would highly recommend the El Cid to others.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
Dear jemorris

Wow! Thank you for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience in such detail.

I am so glad to hear about your stay and am glad that is was memorable! Thank you for the kind words about our team. I love to hear great feedback like this. I'm happy to hear specifically about the service you enjoyed. Our goal is to provide a comfortable, stylish and guest focused experience without pretense. I'm glad you experienced this.

Sorry to hear about the pool temperature. I will reach out to you directly to get more specific feedback so we can improve.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mazatlan in the future!

Sincerely,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Marina Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and first class services of one of Mexico's finest beachfront properties located just five minutes from the cultural epicenter of Mazatlan's Golden Zonewith attractive shops, restaurants, nightclubsand El Cid Golf & Country Club. This premier Mediterranean-style hotel is the preferred secluded spot for families who want to reconnect or couples looking for romance. Defined by our unparalleled hospitality, amazing marina-front location, inviting swimming pools, tranquil private beach and tantalizing cuisine, El Cid Marina Beach offers an unforgettable vacation experience. • Beautifully Appointed Suites • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Upscale Atmosphere • Secluded Golden Sandy Beaches reachable by a quick water taxi ride • Pronatours Tour Desk • Two pools and a spacious Jacuzzi • Two Snack Bars • Full Service Marina with Aries Sports fishing Fleet • Access to facilities of three nearby El Cid hotels and El Cid Golf & Country Club by complimentary shuttle • WIFI Internet Access • Only 20 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your El Cid Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid
El Cid Marina Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Hotel
El Cid Mazatlan Mexico
El Cid Marina Mazatlan
Mazatlan El Cid
Hotel El Cid Marina Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.