We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for the handicapped as well as everyone else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid Marina Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Sale: Up to 63% Off
Ranked #2 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Napa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic for the handicapped as well as everyone else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We so enjoyed our two weeks at the El Cit Marina Beach Hotel, the entire staff was so attentive to me and my 91 year old father. We had transport by golf cart to the main lobby, a very warm and lovely pool just steps from our room, and the lovliest maids and waiters, not to mention the charming Rogelio Rueda at the front desk, ready to care for any need. The minor inconvenience of being a few miles away from the other hotels was more than offset by the convenient bus stop in front of the hotel and a special parking place at the entrance. The food was superb, as was the service of the spa. We enjoyed our stay and will be back, again and again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2009
Dear raylenet

We are delighted to read of your experience at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel! Thank you so much for the positive review and for saying such lovely things about our associates. We will most definitely pass your kind words along to Rogelio and the Chef.

We take pride in personalizing our service to fit your needs.

With so much left to do and see, we look forward to welcoming you back to Mazatlan for years to come!

Kind regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    546
    182
    53
    22
    9
See reviews for
235
315
33
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

We recently had an extrememly satisfying visit to El Cid Marina in late April. Everyone from Israel, the first bellman we met, to Lupita, our very concientious, go-the-extra-mile housekeeper, contributed to the serenity of the entire trip. All of the staff are so personable and genuinely helpful, the committment to excellence is evident. (I believe the U.S. economy could recover faster by taking a page out of the customer service manual for Marina El Cid and Gus Gus.) Our splendid 5th floor balcony room with panoramic ocean view in three directions was a dream location, perfect. This was my tenth trip to Mazatlan in fifteen years and I will chose to stay here from now on, it was a large part of making this last visit the best so far.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2009
Dear slsongbird

Thank you for your kind notes. We really feel happy that you enjoyed your stay so much… your photo look great, though it’s not difficult with such an amazing view!

Those associates whom you have particularly mentioned will be congratulated and thanked on your behalf! Thank you for taking the time to mention them, we take great pride and importance with such comments.

With pleasure we are expecting your next visit in Mazatlan and our hotel!

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

My husband and I just spent a week at the El Cid Marina and had our best Mexican vacation yet. We have stayed at the Marina before and always get excellent, friendly service. The staff always remembers us. Our favorite bellboy, Edgar, took us to our room and when he opened the door he said " Welcome home". That's what it felt like, too. Rooms and grounds were always clean and well maintained. The service and meals were excellent at the resort restaurant. Other vacationers there for the first time felt the same way. The day we left, we were sent off with hugs and kisses. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2009
Dear SusanOmaha

Simply delighted to hear the excellent comments and to see your stay was a great success.

Thank you for informing Tripadvisor users with some details about your experiences at our hotel which are mostly important for travelers. As you have seen we take great pride in what we do at El Cid Resorts, so appreciate greatly such comments.

I am more than happy that you both had a great time with in and in the city and do hope that you will have the opportunity to return soon…In any case we will always have room for you at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel.

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

We love the accomodations. Our room looks out over the ocean and is very spacious and clean. The staff at the registration counter can't do enough for you. We would like to thank Armando Rios for making sure we got the room we desired for the whole two weeks of our trip. We want to thank Rogelio Rueda, Nadia and Schelly who helped us whenever we needed information about travel, taxi, changing USD into pessos,etc.
We want to thank all the wonderful fellows who came to pick us up in the shuttle everytime we called them. We especially want to thank Avisai Valencia Ordonez (Avi) who was always there for us. We spent our first vacation at Marina El Cid in 2007 and Avi was very helpful and actually he was the main reason we returned this year. He is a great fellow and cannot do enough for y0u. We had wonderful service from the pool staff and the Marina breakfast staff -- namely; Victoria at breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2009
Dear swedengrove

We appreciate the feedback regarding your recent stays at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. Guest Service is our number one goal, as we want to ensure our guests’ experiences are memorable. From the moment of arrival to the time of departure, we want to ensure that everything in between is a “Perfect 10”… our commitment is to guarantee our guest a hassle free and a legendary stay. We also have fun, in a family-oriented atmosphere where a positive attitude and strong work ethic are rewarded; our best reward is our guest satisfaction. I will share your experience with our team members to encourage them to continue improving the service quality and the friendliness with our guest, as you stated a smile will bring back another smile, our team is trained to be hospitable and friendly.

We all look forward to welcoming you back!

With regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMDEN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

The staff gave impeccable service whether it was the hotel, restaurant or housekeeping staff. My very pleasant stay was made more enjoyable by charming employees. The complimentary shuttle to downtown ran frequently and the driver was safe and courteous. The free shuttle makes staying outside of the downtown a possibility.
Loved the golf cart rides to the rooms. Made it much easier for people with disabilities.
The only small thing I would change is the music by the pool areas. I would make one pool area free of music and perhaps alternate days. I found the "noise" bothersome for conversation, relaxing and reading.
I thoroughly enjoyed my first stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2009
Dear 1ready2travel

We appreciate and we want to thank you very much for your nice words you said about our hotel.

We are more than happy to see so many good comments about our services and about our staff. It is amazing to see that our efforts in offering a "home away from home" to our guests are paid off. There is no greater satisfaction for us than seeing happy and pleased guests.

We promise to keep up and even improve the job we do here for you and everyone else who comes to Mazatlan and wants to convince that El Cid Resorts is the best choice in town!
Thank you all for expressing your opinions here and we really appreciate your suggestions regarding the music by the pool area…feedback is extremely valuable to us.
We look forward to your next visit.

All the best from Mazatlan.

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

Awesome resort...great rooms; excellent location; great service; friendly people!
We stayed in a 3 large-bedroom with almost 2500 ft2 and 5 balconies.... 3 full baths, all KIng beds and 3 walk-in showers onthe 5th floor... the setting was one of the best and most luxurius in the world... I would not eat at this resort as the food is .... average to mediocre at best and expensive. Really great food can be has in town or... get yourself some great groceries and cook in in the full-service in-room kitchen, grab a glass of wine and take in the vista from your private balcony on the sea.... It doesn't get any better.
The one thing though... is the timeshare scam... nice to own if you can afford it and can pay cash...they give nothing away..charge 12% interest for all balances and the mtc. fees are high at USD$850 and up per year.... if you don't have the ready cash...stay away from the time share guys...it does sound to good to be true... and is.
I would return to this resort AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN. I own here and paid up front.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2009
Dear livingevenbetter

El Cid Marina Beach Hotel thanks you for posting your comment. It is apparent you felt our staff was exactly what you were looking for. We do have a fun, energetic, and eager team and we all take pride in making our guests feel most comfortable while away from their home.

However, your critical opinion is very much appreciated and it will help us improve our services and to exceed your expectations when coming next time to Mazatlan. Our owners, like us, value the opinion of our clients so we can continue to improve our product to meet the expectations of our guests. As you can see from our rating on Trip Advisor we have accomplished this more often than not. Unfortunately we fell short with this client and the feedback that they have provided will be useful to continue to move forward with providing a quality on food & beverages service that El Cid has a reputation for.

Thank you and again, we truly appreciate your business and comments.....

Kind regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Stay Dates: April 5-10, 2009.

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay here with our Wyndham Points and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will definitely return here for our next vacation in Mazatlan. Check-in was very fast and easy. There was a brief conversation with a time-share representative as part of the check-in process, but after a quick and polite “no, thank you,” we were not approached again at the resort for any time share presentations.

Once in the room and unpacked, we realized the in-room safe would not work. I called the front desk and a bellman arrived within 5 minutes. Once he verified that the problem was not user-error he called maintenance and a technician arrived a couple of minutes later. This minor problem (and the only problem we encountered with the room during our stay) was corrected in under ten minutes. Excellent service at this resort.

We stayed in a 1BR overlooking the heated pool (the one with the swim-up bar) and it was quite large and clean. Small kitchenette had everything we needed – blender, toaster, coffeemaker, small fridge and a two-burner cook top along with plenty of cups, plates, utensils, etc. Dining table with 4 chairs. Large living room. Separate bedroom and two separate vanity areas. Nice large shower. Television in both the LR and the BR, but we never turned them on to see what was on (or even if they worked!). Balcony off both the BR and the LR – small, but adequate – one balcony with no chairs and one with 2 chairs, but no table to place your drink on (minor annoyance).

Grounds were very well maintained. Two pools – one heated (too warm for us) with a swim up bar. One not heated, but felt to be at least in the mid-70s. Lots of families and this is a very family-friendly resort. The resort seemed to offer a lot to keep the kids busy – we will definitely return with our kids next time. We loved the beach at this resort and access via the 3-minute water taxi was never a problem. We stayed during Semana Santa and the crowds in front of the other El Cid hotels (and generally all over the Golden Zone and south) were thick in the afternoons. It was nice to have a quiet beach to retreat to in the afternoon (and very few vendors there too!).

We only ate at the resort twice. Once for dinner at La Marina, which was disappointing. In my opinion La Marina offers a nice view, but the restaurant itself is quite drab. Food is overpriced and marginal. I had the Mexican platter and it was luke warm and bland. Wife had shrimp brochette nicely presented in a flaming pineapple, but I felt like we were paying for the presentation, as the food itself was underwhelming. On the other hand, we enjoyed lunch poolside on our last day and loved the shrimp quesadillas.

The location of this resort was perfect for us: close enough to the Golden Zone (and the free shuttle to the El Cid Complex is a great service), but far enough north that we felt like we could escape the crowds and chaos.

Overall I would definitely recommend this resort for just about anyone staying in Mazatlan. We will certainly stay here next time we get the chance. It definitely satisfied all of our needs and expectations.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2009
Dear LookingToEscape

Thank you so much for your detailed review of our hotel. We are pleased that you found our location ideal to fit your needs and that overall you found your stay to be a positive experience. We realize how busy everyone is and quality time for friends and family are so important. Thus when you have the opportunity to get away, you appreciate having a hotel that provides exceptional service. I couldn't agree more that our energetic team does aim to please.

Additionally, I thank you for your careful critiquing of La Marina Restaurant, I have forwarded your feedback about your dinner experience to the F&B Manager and rest assured that on your next visit you´ll be surprised with the improvements.

I will be sure to share your enthusiasm with our team. Please make sure to visit us whenever your travel plans bring you to Mazatlan. Thank you very much.

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cid Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Marina Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and first class services of one of Mexico's finest beachfront properties located just five minutes from the cultural epicenter of Mazatlan's Golden Zonewith attractive shops, restaurants, nightclubsand El Cid Golf & Country Club. This premier Mediterranean-style hotel is the preferred secluded spot for families who want to reconnect or couples looking for romance. Defined by our unparalleled hospitality, amazing marina-front location, inviting swimming pools, tranquil private beach and tantalizing cuisine, El Cid Marina Beach offers an unforgettable vacation experience. • Beautifully Appointed Suites • All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Upscale Atmosphere • Secluded Golden Sandy Beaches reachable by a quick water taxi ride • Pronatours Tour Desk • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Two pools and a spacious Jacuzzi • Two Snack Bars • Full Service Marina with Aries Sports fishing Fleet • Access to facilities of three nearby El Cid hotels and El Cid Golf & Country Club by complementary shuttle • WIFI Internet Access • Only 20 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Cid Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid
El Cid Marina Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Hotel
El Cid Mazatlan Mexico
El Cid Marina Mazatlan
Mazatlan El Cid
Hotel El Cid Marina Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.