We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE MOST LUXURIOUS RESORT AND ROOMS IN MAZATLA'N!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Cid Marina Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Crestline, California
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“THE MOST LUXURIOUS RESORT AND ROOMS IN MAZATLA'N!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I have been staying here since 2003. In The marina, with full resort usage. I now have stayed 3 times in the rooms, all three different. Different buildings and sizes. ALL rooms are outsanding, with Kitchens, stoves, microwaves, sinks plates,cups,silverware, coffee pots. A built in couch. (you know, that cement sytle-built in type) This one was on the ground floor with a patio in front of the main pool. The food here is excellent, for ANY meal, and the service OUTSTANDING. There is no need to waste time finding a NICER resort in mazatan. There are not any. The other El Cid's: Moro,Castillo, Granada, MIGHT have more to offer, and more elaborate pools and tiendas (shops) BUT THIS ONE IS BEST, AND BEST IN MAZATLAN!

Room Tip: They are all great, varying views, but each is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear, Aerovergalineas

Thank you so much for your glowing review of El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. We have been working hard under to impress savvy travelers like you, and the compliments mean the world to us.

At El Cid, our caring staff strives to provide each of our guests with a genuine and authentic experience that is customized, convenient, and comfortable. It is through positive feedback such as yours that the staff and management maintain our top levels of service.

We take pride in personalizing our service to fit your needs. We're so pleased to have provided wonderful rooms and you experience.

We hope to be able to welcome you again, if you choose Mazatlan as a destination for your next leisure trip.

Regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    221
    63
    31
    12
See reviews for
309
383
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is our favorite place to be. The people there are fantastic. Starting with our favorite bellman, Jose Ramon. He picked us up at the airport on his day off. When we got to the hotel we were greeted warmly. At the Calypsos Pool we have our favorite waiters. Miguel(like a son to me), Abraham, Luis,Remberto and Ramon( The Captain). At the Iguana Pool we have Fidel, Ramon, Aaron(best chef)Jose Manual, Joshua, Aldolfo, Saul and I know I am missing one more. At the restaurant we have Francisco who treats us like royalty for breakfast, Angel, Edy, Victoria & Joel. Everyone there is fabulous. My husbands loves the way Lupita makes his eggs. For dinner Ceasar took such good care of us.Oliva(our maid) was fabulous. Patricia( another maid) alway had a smile and hug for us. Special thanks to Jorge who called the doctor when my husband got sick and went out of his way. Christian, the activities director was wonderful also. We love all of you and will see you next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear, seaway49

I wanted to personally thank you on behalf of all our staff for the positive feedback provided concerning your latest visit to Mazatlan. We rely on you, our guests, to let us know how we're doing and if there are opportunities to improve our level of service to our customers.
We are very glad to read about your supportive words and confidence about the staff service during your stay. I am likewise related to your motivating comments about the staff member, , who played a big part in making your stay more memorable. I will share them to the team members, who I believe will be equally elated and inspired.

If you have any pictures that you may have taken while you were in El Cid Marina Beach Hotel we would love it of you would share them with us. Thank you once again and we look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you to back to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Internet 350 pesos /week, gym facilities 130 pesos/day, and add the all inclusive at the "discount" rate of 770 pesos/day/person all totalled would have cost us more than the room added all together. Internet is typically given away even at the lowest end bars you can find in Mexico. No other resort or hotel we've been to in years has charged for gym access, even the basic chain hotels. So El Cid has lowered their standard to below dive bars and low end chain hotels. Why would anyone ever return to this cheapskate, nickel and dime faux "resort"? Why is this place rated so high?

We'll never return to an El Cid property unless they change their basic amenities offered to that of a Motel 6 in the states.

The rooms are spacious though but quite dated and the view can be nice especially if you get an end unit by the beach.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear, Gregmor

Thank you so much for give us a couple minutes of you valuable time to share with the followers of TripAdvisor.

Furthermore, I’m sorry to hear that you experience was not a positive one. I regret that the service like internet WiFi are not in the all inclusive package this is because we have an external company to offer the best and fast service for our customers. Its surprise to me to read that the gym facilities for 130pesos when this is part of the all inclusive maybe it is a confusion.
We work hard day to day and our intention is not to make our customer feel cheated, we offered a lot of options in our fourth hotels.

I sincerely hope to have a second chance to having with us again and I will care of each detail of your stay. If you want to discus more details about this I’m at your orders at mamoran@elcid.com.mx.

Kind Regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

First time to Mazatlan and first time at an El Cid Hotel. I've been to other places in Mexico many times and I've been staying at all inclusive's all over the world for the last 15 years.

Our vacation started with a friendly welcome by El Cid's in house Pronatours which we used for our transfer to the hotel. Our driver was very informative about Mazatlan upon knowing it was our first trip to the area. The ride to the hotel took about 35 minutes.

When we arrived at the hotel we were not disappointed with the welcome, service, quick check in and the Marina View! We were approached immediately after checking in about a welcome/time share meeting, but we informed the hotel representative that we had been travelling for 14 hours on very little sleep and we just wanted to unpack and get next to the pool. She said no problem and that we could arrange to attend at any time. We never did as when on holiday we choose not to ever commit ourselves to ever having a time restricted schedule. There's too much of that when you're at home!

We were driven to our room in one of the shuttle golf carts and given a tour on the way. Our room was in the far block with an incredible ocean view. The one bedroom suite was perfect and we couldn't have asked for more.

It was soon down to the pool for a refreshing swim and then drinks and lunch that lasted 4 hours! This was when vacation mode really kicked in! The drinks, the food and the service was top notch and it remained that way for the rest of the week! Like many other Tripadvisor reviews, it's so easy to applaud the incredible dedication and hard work from Ramon, Jose (We hope your ankle is better!) the wonderful singing and dancing Fidel, Adolfo, Jorge and all of the other support team at the Las Iguana's Pool. We spent the majority of our time around this pool as it was less busy then the "Warm" pool and we really enjoyed the staff and service we received and we never had trouble getting chairs with or without shade.

Service and food in La Marina Restaurant was always great whether for breakfast or dinner. From Lupita's fantastic, fresh to order omelettes or Edy's perfectly made Michelada's Con Clamato to the constant attention from the servers made dining always a treat.

We also dined at La Concha and El Alcazar restaurant's and the service and the food was as perfect as La Marina. The free shuttle between the resorts is great when needed, but most days we would walk to the other resorts and shuttle or walk back.

The quick boat shuttle to the beach was great as was the beach itself and the food and drinks service you received.

And our daily smile and Hola from our maid Lupita was a highlight. The room was always immaculate and much appreciated.

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to my friends and I plan to return for another visit in the very near future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear, H4BS

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with us during your stay at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. I am delighted to hear that we became your home away from home by great combinations from the room size, hotel ambiance, pricing and most importantly our staffs whom must be complimented for being very polite and professional thus, making you stays so enjoyable. It is very important that our staff has a friendly attitude and that they are able to provide information, not only about our property but also about Mazatlan.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback indicating our attentive development towards your previous review since we believed that our guest's opinions are very important and we can be highly improved by their impression.

Thank you again for considering us “Mazatlan´s Best”…your wonderful comments is truly a great new year's gift for all of us here.

We look forward to your next visit and to give you the experience you have come to expect.

Warm regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, BC,
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Immaculately clean, great rooms, fantastic facilities and service. This is our sixth time here. El Cid facilitates performances of the orphans taken care of by the local Salvation Army 's orphanage "Casa Hogar de Ninos" The government of Mexico pay not one cent to the orphanages, and there quite a few here. The richest man in the world, Carlos Slim of Mexico, does not contribute either. These children dance to raise money for their home, food and schooling. The Salvation Army takes care of these children not only by giving them food and shelter and an education but also makes them feel important and worthy, they are proud of what they do when they dance and perform to an audience.
Thank you El Cid for helping out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear, toyoume

We are happy to read how you enjoy our Resort and the Salvation’s Army Performance. We always it’s great to contribute whit this causes and we do with the best pleasure. I’m very touched for your great heart.

On behalf of El Cid Staff our sincerely thanks for these 6 times here, and we hope to having you with us in a not too distance future.

My best wishes,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Beautiful location, fantastic rooms, fabulous service! Take the water taxi to the best beach in Mazatlan. Loved the quiet location, wonderful people. This is our 2nd stay at the El Cid Marina and would not hesitate to stay there again. We stayed in the same room as last time - room 136...close to everything. We walked to Wal-Mart to buy drinks and snacks while there, as we ate out most dinners as there are SO many restaurants to choose from in Mazatlan. You must eat ribs at Fat Fish....to die for. The Water's Edge for burgers, FISH for deep fried fish and chips, and if you really want to dine in style.....the Seafarer Restaurant is fabulous! Don't forget the entertainment.....lots of live music almost every night at the Machada and across from the Malecon. We used to visit Puerto Vallarta at least once a year, but we are hooked on Mazatlan! Can't wait till next year. The only bad thing to say is eventually we had to go home....crying in my beer!

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the bottom floor as you have a huge patio instead of a tiny balcony. Also, onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Kari B

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Let me start of my saying I am loving the title to your review " The only place to stay in Mazatlan" we appreciate you being so fond of our hotel and for giving us the honor to host your first time in Mazatlan for it is a beautiful city filled with breath taking scenery we are blessed with seeing day to day, it’s great you had a chance to further explore and see for yourself. We hope you keep coming back to us for years and years to come we promise to always bring an unforgettable vacation.

Warm regards,
Isaia Gomez,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you're looking for a warm, friendly place to relax and enjoy fresh seafood, beautiful sunsets, excellent service, golf and fishing, in a contained, laid-back environment... this is the place! The service staff is well trained and treat you in high regard as an important customer. I can't say enough about Luis Carrillo, the front desk supervisor..... he goes above and beyond in delivering exceptional customer service! Mitka and Guilleremo are also excellent in seeing you get what you want. The waiters and maid service is way, way above average.....everything is clean-clean-clean. The food is very good in quality and quantity. This was our first stay at El Cid and we will be coming back.... again and again. Our "thanks" to all the wonderful people of El Cid who made our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear William C ,

There is no greater feeling than to read that our staff was a major part of what made your stay
so special. I’m glad my staff went above and beyond to guarantee you had an unforgettable stay rest assure Luis Carrillo, Mitka, Guillermo, and the rest of the staff will be acknowledged for their great service. We work really hard in maintaining our resort in the best of conditions and it’s great when people take notice. We can´t wait to have you here with us again soon.


Kind Regards,
Isias Gomez,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Marina Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and first class services of one of Mexico's finest beachfront properties located just five minutes from the cultural epicenter of Mazatlan's Golden Zonewith attractive shops, restaurants, nightclubsand El Cid Golf & Country Club. This premier Mediterranean-style hotel is the preferred secluded spot for families who want to reconnect or couples looking for romance. Defined by our unparalleled hospitality, amazing marina-front location, inviting swimming pools, tranquil private beach and tantalizing cuisine, El Cid Marina Beach offers an unforgettable vacation experience. • Beautifully Appointed Suites • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Upscale Atmosphere • Secluded Golden Sandy Beaches reachable by a quick water taxi ride • Pronatours Tour Desk • Two pools and a spacious Jacuzzi • Two Snack Bars • Full Service Marina with Aries Sports fishing Fleet • Access to facilities of three nearby El Cid hotels and El Cid Golf & Country Club by complimentary shuttle • WIFI Internet Access • Only 20 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your El Cid Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid
El Cid Marina Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Hotel
El Cid Mazatlan Mexico
El Cid Marina Mazatlan
Mazatlan El Cid
Hotel El Cid Marina Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.