We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Weeks at El Cid Marina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid Marina Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Look for Fine Dining
Ranked #1 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Alamo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Memorable Weeks at El Cid Marina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent two memorable weeks at El Cid Marina. Our two room suite looked out over the marina and we enjoyed watching the activities there each day. Service was excellent and the rooms were maintained in a spotless condition. The pool and other facilities were excellent, but we missed having a fitness Center. The resort is far enough away from the tourist zone to provide a peaceful stay, but the Golden Zone and the Old City are easily accessible via the El Cid shuttle or the Green Bus (10 peso per trip). We are walkers and found the beaches north and south provided beautiful scenery and interesting activities. There are a number of good restaurants along the way. Try the Shrimp Dinner for 2 at La Casa Marinara or the Shrimp Fiesta by the ocean at the El Moro. For lunch or light dinner, Pancho's and El Fish Market are only a short walk away. We found the old City of Mazatlan to be an unexpected bonus to our vacation. It is only 10-15 minutes away via the Green Bus and offers a variety of sights, sounds and things to do. We took the City Tour early in our stay and it provided a good education on the old city. The Plaza Machado offers a sense of the city's life, the Cathedral gives a feel for its heritage and the Opera a view of its culture. For shopping, Casa Etnika and Michael's offer unique Mazatlan art. Topolo and The Water's edge provide great dining. The Panama Bakery and the Molika Bakery offer outstanding treats. We felt completely safe in the Golden Zone and the Old City, even in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor or above for an ocean view. A room on the Marina side will put you further away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear: PJOAlamo
What splendid reading...very pleased that you enjoyed all that we and the area have to offer. We have worked hard to appreciate our guests and visiting El Cid El Marina should be like returning home.
I am glad to note that our convenient location, facilities and friendly staff exceeded your expectations; we realize we are in a competitive market and customer needs must remain top priority. We take pride in offering a high quality standard of service to you our guest.
Also I am glad to read the very detailed and objective comments of the real life of Mazatlan the city tours, restaurants and walks around old city…great tips for future travelers.
Should your future travels bring you to Mazatlan, we would welcome another opportunity to provide you with a flawless vacation experience. Until that time we send our warmest regards!

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    556
    187
    53
    23
    9
See reviews for
244
319
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel could be much better if it was remodeled where it needs it the most.
Good food at the restaurant with fair prices. Good service, people try their best to make you feel comfortable and that is a plus.
There is no gym at the property, they take you in a shuttle to one of the other cid but you still you have to pay 10 dollars to use the facility. Internet access has a charge also.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building at the end should be the best ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear: cmxc5

Thank you for review at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. We are very glad to be rated by experienced travelers and you found our staff nice and helpful. We enjoy our guests and are always courteous. We have numerous repeat visitors and a large clientele based upon word of mouth. Many of them have posted very positive reviews on this and other web sites.

We keep working in renovations we have a new outside bar front the dock, renewed the bathrooms and other areas. We are constantly monitoring our performance against the high service and standards indicative of El Cid Resorts and we will insure these areas are restored to approve upon these concerns for future guests.

Sincerely,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was the perfect get-away! We went in mid-April and it was not busy or over-run at all. We've been to many AI's in Mexico and this one stands up because basically every meal was plated or cooked to order. We did a reservation dinner at every restaurant possible between El Cid Marina, Granada (AKA Country Club), Moro and Castilla, and my favorite was El Patio for the beautiful atmosphere. We also used the Fitness Center everyday and they had the best gym we had ever seen at the AI's in Mexico too (large selection of free-weights, ellipticals and treadmills). FYI, you will need to catch the free 2min shuttle ride to the gym. We took the free shuttle all the time to get around and it was great. FYI, the Marina does not have a sandy beach unless you take the free water taxi, which takes all of one minute and is easy enough. The beach is great, perfect sand and temperature this time of year. However we mostly hung out at the adult pool. The underwater caves, large hot tub, and huge iguanas kept us happy. Plus the food offered for lunch by this pool was amazing! I didn't expect to get fresh ceviche served poolside! The only odd thing about this place was that we still had to sign a "bill" for any food or drink we ordered despite being on the all inclusive (AI) plan. The bill was zero'd out, but it just seemed unnecessary to wait for the bill when they already took down our room number. I would still recommend this place to anyone and will guarantee that you will love it too.

Room Tip: Room 514 was amazing! Ocean views out of both windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear: Holly B

Thank you so much for your nice words to our Hotel regards to your recent experience, I have no really words to thank you for your opinion posted about your stay at El Cid Marina. I am really proud of every single detail you mentioned and it encourages me to continue working hard daily.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and that on your next visit you will try again our beautiful La Marina Restaurant. With its unique water views, the restaurants at others hotels, pools areas and the same service standards that you have kindly complimented above we do believe it is well worth the experience.

Warm greetings,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
411 reviews 411 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is truly our home away from home. We have stayed at the marina 9 out of the last 11 years and just finished our first reservation for this trip. There have been a lot of noticeable improvements in the last 14 months, more renovated rooms, a new patio by the bar, remodeled restrooms by the shallow pool. (Don't know about the deep water pool, have not made it up there just yet.) nice colorful umbrellas around the pool area, lifeguard and much more. The staff is totally awesome and they really do care about the clients. We had a minor problem with our one bedroom suite and moved us into a different one, just to make sure that we are happy. This is a beautiful resort with beautiful people who always make us feel welcomed. Since we are in a new suit for the remainder of the trip I feel like I should write another review in about ten days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear, Sir
What a lovely review! I want to thank you for your loyalty and for take your time share your wonderful experience during your recent stay in Mazatlan.

Knowing that you noticed all the improvements at our resort gives us another reason to come to work with a big smile and a great attitude. This is a result of a complete team effort, and your comments are an inspiration to us all that really help make El Cid the success it is. We establish an environment where great service is recognized and rewarded and poor service is challenged and rectified. Your review will be shared with all the staff.

We look forward to serving you and your family again soon.

See you soon,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gomez Palacio, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You can find everything in the same resort, excellent food, great shows, and very good friends, you'll feel at home. We like this hotel in Mazatlan becase the location and privacy of the beach, we really rest and enjoy the view of the large marina and the ferry ride, we will go back really soon.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear: Sir or Lady

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. On behalf of our team, we deeply thank your words about our hotel. It gives us an additional motivation to keep improving. We feel proud and strongly recognized for our work.

We serve thousands of guests each and every month and it is rewarding to our team to know that someone such as yourself took the time to provide positive feedback for our operation. We look forward to hosting you in the future and to be able to continue to provide a clean, comfortable, pleasing hotel experience.

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just back from a 2 week stay at this impressive resort. We never felt unsafe there or anywhere in Mazatlan. The grounds of the resort are impressive and extremely well kept. The resort has 3 restaurants, a large marina, 2 large pools, a huge hot jacuzzi, a lovely beach which is a very short (2 minute) ferry ride away, and (one of us used) a medical clinic.

Our unit was spacious and spotless with maid service twice a day. All units seem to have balconies with a view of the marina. The service was always extremely friendly and efficient.
We did the all inclusive for the first week only. There was plenty of food and drink always available. We are not much for drinking but I will tell you the beer was good and cold and the wine was fine. I saw a lot of fancy drinks being delivered pool and beachside.
We found the food at the pool restaurants was good. The breakfast buffet in the main dinning room was also good. The buffet dinners in the main dining room a few of the nights were nothing to write home about. We had 2 dinners at a sister resort's a la carte Italian restaurant(included in the all inclusive) which we really enjoyed. Overall at $45 a day a person not a bad buy. It would have been cheaper if we agreed to sit through a timeshare presentation-we did that before-never to do that again!
We used the spa at their sister resort, The Granada, and that was wonderful. With the massage you can use the sauna and steam bath. The brochure does not mention this so ask just what is included.
The bottom line, El Cid Marina Beach Hotel is a gem of a resort and if you stay there you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear: Lady

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor from your recent stay with us at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I sincerely appreciate you recommendations and extent of our facilities. I shall certainly your great comments regarding to the friendly and efficient service provided from our staff, the food in the pool area and our varied options of restaurant and services in the other complex. We hope to see you again soon. We welcome you back to the hotel anytime!

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. The hotel is very peaceful and beautiful. The staff is friendly and welcoming and goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The hotel is extremely clean and offers modern and elegant accomodations. We were only there for four days, but I could have stayed there much longer. We chose the standard all inclusive package and found the food to be quite enjoyable. The La Marina restaurant had the most beautiful views and you got to choose from a buffet or order off the menu. The pool and beach snack bars were also a great place to eat. Two thumbs up for this hotel and it's great staff.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a view of the Marina or Ocean. We had a jr. suite and it was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear: LoraineV_13

We are so happy to you for informing Tripadvisor users with some details about your experiences at our hotel which are mostly important for travelers. As you have seen we take great pride in what we do at El Cid Resorts, so appreciate greatly such comments.

I´m glad to read that you enjoyed during four days the all inclusive, restaurants and accommodations, also that you found our Hotel cleaned and comfortable, I really appreciated for letting us know our best appraisal our employees.

We look forward to having the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back to El Cid Marina Beach Hotel for a longer stay.

My Best,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Marina Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and first class services of one of Mexico's finest beachfront properties located just five minutes from the cultural epicenter of Mazatlan's Golden Zonewith attractive shops, restaurants, nightclubsand El Cid Golf & Country Club. This premier Mediterranean-style hotel is the preferred secluded spot for families who want to reconnect or couples looking for romance. Defined by our unparalleled hospitality, amazing marina-front location, inviting swimming pools, tranquil private beach and tantalizing cuisine, El Cid Marina Beach offers an unforgettable vacation experience. • Beautifully Appointed Suites • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Upscale Atmosphere • Secluded Golden Sandy Beaches reachable by a quick water taxi ride • Pronatours Tour Desk • Two pools and a spacious Jacuzzi • Two Snack Bars • Full Service Marina with Aries Sports fishing Fleet • Access to facilities of three nearby El Cid hotels and El Cid Golf & Country Club by complimentary shuttle • WIFI Internet Access • Only 20 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Cid Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid
El Cid Marina Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Hotel
El Cid Mazatlan Mexico
El Cid Marina Mazatlan
Mazatlan El Cid
Hotel El Cid Marina Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.