We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Some Rest and Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid Marina Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Sale: Up to 63% Off
Ranked #2 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for Some Rest and Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was the perfect get-away! We went in mid-April and it was not busy or over-run at all. We've been to many AI's in Mexico and this one stands up because basically every meal was plated or cooked to order. We did a reservation dinner at every restaurant possible between El Cid Marina, Granada (AKA Country Club), Moro and Castilla, and my favorite was El Patio for the beautiful atmosphere. We also used the Fitness Center everyday and they had the best gym we had ever seen at the AI's in Mexico too (large selection of free-weights, ellipticals and treadmills). FYI, you will need to catch the free 2min shuttle ride to the gym. We took the free shuttle all the time to get around and it was great. FYI, the Marina does not have a sandy beach unless you take the free water taxi, which takes all of one minute and is easy enough. The beach is great, perfect sand and temperature this time of year. However we mostly hung out at the adult pool. The underwater caves, large hot tub, and huge iguanas kept us happy. Plus the food offered for lunch by this pool was amazing! I didn't expect to get fresh ceviche served poolside! The only odd thing about this place was that we still had to sign a "bill" for any food or drink we ordered despite being on the all inclusive (AI) plan. The bill was zero'd out, but it just seemed unnecessary to wait for the bill when they already took down our room number. I would still recommend this place to anyone and will guarantee that you will love it too.

Room Tip: Room 514 was amazing! Ocean views out of both windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear: Holly B

Thank you so much for your nice words to our Hotel regards to your recent experience, I have no really words to thank you for your opinion posted about your stay at El Cid Marina. I am really proud of every single detail you mentioned and it encourages me to continue working hard daily.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and that on your next visit you will try again our beautiful La Marina Restaurant. With its unique water views, the restaurants at others hotels, pools areas and the same service standards that you have kindly complimented above we do believe it is well worth the experience.

Warm greetings,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    547
    182
    53
    22
    9
See reviews for
236
315
33
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is truly our home away from home. We have stayed at the marina 9 out of the last 11 years and just finished our first reservation for this trip. There have been a lot of noticeable improvements in the last 14 months, more renovated rooms, a new patio by the bar, remodeled restrooms by the shallow pool. (Don't know about the deep water pool, have not made it up there just yet.) nice colorful umbrellas around the pool area, lifeguard and much more. The staff is totally awesome and they really do care about the clients. We had a minor problem with our one bedroom suite and moved us into a different one, just to make sure that we are happy. This is a beautiful resort with beautiful people who always make us feel welcomed. Since we are in a new suit for the remainder of the trip I feel like I should write another review in about ten days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear, Sir
What a lovely review! I want to thank you for your loyalty and for take your time share your wonderful experience during your recent stay in Mazatlan.

Knowing that you noticed all the improvements at our resort gives us another reason to come to work with a big smile and a great attitude. This is a result of a complete team effort, and your comments are an inspiration to us all that really help make El Cid the success it is. We establish an environment where great service is recognized and rewarded and poor service is challenged and rectified. Your review will be shared with all the staff.

We look forward to serving you and your family again soon.

See you soon,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gomez Palacio, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You can find everything in the same resort, excellent food, great shows, and very good friends, you'll feel at home. We like this hotel in Mazatlan becase the location and privacy of the beach, we really rest and enjoy the view of the large marina and the ferry ride, we will go back really soon.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear: Sir or Lady

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. On behalf of our team, we deeply thank your words about our hotel. It gives us an additional motivation to keep improving. We feel proud and strongly recognized for our work.

We serve thousands of guests each and every month and it is rewarding to our team to know that someone such as yourself took the time to provide positive feedback for our operation. We look forward to hosting you in the future and to be able to continue to provide a clean, comfortable, pleasing hotel experience.

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just back from a 2 week stay at this impressive resort. We never felt unsafe there or anywhere in Mazatlan. The grounds of the resort are impressive and extremely well kept. The resort has 3 restaurants, a large marina, 2 large pools, a huge hot jacuzzi, a lovely beach which is a very short (2 minute) ferry ride away, and (one of us used) a medical clinic.

Our unit was spacious and spotless with maid service twice a day. All units seem to have balconies with a view of the marina. The service was always extremely friendly and efficient.
We did the all inclusive for the first week only. There was plenty of food and drink always available. We are not much for drinking but I will tell you the beer was good and cold and the wine was fine. I saw a lot of fancy drinks being delivered pool and beachside.
We found the food at the pool restaurants was good. The breakfast buffet in the main dinning room was also good. The buffet dinners in the main dining room a few of the nights were nothing to write home about. We had 2 dinners at a sister resort's a la carte Italian restaurant(included in the all inclusive) which we really enjoyed. Overall at $45 a day a person not a bad buy. It would have been cheaper if we agreed to sit through a timeshare presentation-we did that before-never to do that again!
We used the spa at their sister resort, The Granada, and that was wonderful. With the massage you can use the sauna and steam bath. The brochure does not mention this so ask just what is included.
The bottom line, El Cid Marina Beach Hotel is a gem of a resort and if you stay there you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear: Lady

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor from your recent stay with us at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I sincerely appreciate you recommendations and extent of our facilities. I shall certainly your great comments regarding to the friendly and efficient service provided from our staff, the food in the pool area and our varied options of restaurant and services in the other complex. We hope to see you again soon. We welcome you back to the hotel anytime!

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. The hotel is very peaceful and beautiful. The staff is friendly and welcoming and goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The hotel is extremely clean and offers modern and elegant accomodations. We were only there for four days, but I could have stayed there much longer. We chose the standard all inclusive package and found the food to be quite enjoyable. The La Marina restaurant had the most beautiful views and you got to choose from a buffet or order off the menu. The pool and beach snack bars were also a great place to eat. Two thumbs up for this hotel and it's great staff.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a view of the Marina or Ocean. We had a jr. suite and it was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear: LoraineV_13

We are so happy to you for informing Tripadvisor users with some details about your experiences at our hotel which are mostly important for travelers. As you have seen we take great pride in what we do at El Cid Resorts, so appreciate greatly such comments.

I´m glad to read that you enjoyed during four days the all inclusive, restaurants and accommodations, also that you found our Hotel cleaned and comfortable, I really appreciated for letting us know our best appraisal our employees.

We look forward to having the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back to El Cid Marina Beach Hotel for a longer stay.

My Best,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went this March 2013 had one really large room with a huge jacuzzi bath, one of the beds was quite hard but main was was fine, i would really recommend this Hotel staff were fab, food excellent , beach was cleaned every day and plenty to do. would love to return, maybe we will,? but so many places to see in the world, but would recommend this to anyone thinking of staying there. :-) Wendy . Guernsey . CI.

Room Tip: Sea views i would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear: Sir or Lady

El Cid Marina Beach Hotel thanks you for posting your comment. We are so pleased you chose our hotel in your recent visit to our fabulous city! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your great experience. We take tremendous pride in our hotel and its employees and it’s nice when a guest has taken notice. We do hear a great deal about our beach and food & beverage service.

We really like to thank you for your recommendation and we are honored to be the hotel of your choice if your return trips to Mazatlan. We really hope to see you again.

My best wishes,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

on our previous visit to Mazatlan, we stayed at the el cid moro and found the location in the tourist zone to be overwhelming. This time around, we decided on the el cid marina for a quieter location (friends of ours own wyndham points). The hotel has rooms overlooking the marina and the ocean although all the ocean view rooms seem to be booked by long stay time share owners. we had a one bedroom room overlooking the marina with a balcony which did not get much sun. the resort is well maintained, clean and staff are friendly and courteous. rooms were cleaned every day. mattresses were a bit hard. the resort has two swimming pools, one is heated and one is not. several poolside activities are available for guests. there is a very small beach with six lounge chairs but you're not right on the water so i would not call this a beachfront property. you have to take a water taxi (few minutes ride) to the actual beach but once you get to the beach, it's quiet and is serviced by hotel staff who serve food & drinks. only one hawker on the beach so it was very pleasant to lounge and relax. they have one restaurant on site and the food was average so we chose to eat all our meals out. shuttles are available to their other resorts and bus service is also conveniently available outside the hotel. we were celebrating my husband's birthday and upon arrival, they sent some chocolate covered strawberries to our room (complimentary).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear: Sir or Madam

We appreciate and we want to thank you very much for your nice words you said about our hotel.

We are more than happy to see so many good comments about our services and about our staff. It is amazing to see that our efforts are reflected to this kind of reviews. There is no greater satisfaction for us than seeing happy and pleased guests.

We promise to keep up and even improve the job we do here for you and everyone else who comes to Mazatlan and wants to convince that El Cid Resorts is the best choice in town!

Thank you all for expressing your opinions here and we really appreciate your suggestions regarding to the hard beds…feedback is extremely valuable to us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cid Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Marina Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and first class services of one of Mexico's finest beachfront properties located just five minutes from the cultural epicenter of Mazatlan's Golden Zonewith attractive shops, restaurants, nightclubsand El Cid Golf & Country Club. This premier Mediterranean-style hotel is the preferred secluded spot for families who want to reconnect or couples looking for romance. Defined by our unparalleled hospitality, amazing marina-front location, inviting swimming pools, tranquil private beach and tantalizing cuisine, El Cid Marina Beach offers an unforgettable vacation experience. • Beautifully Appointed Suites • All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Upscale Atmosphere • Secluded Golden Sandy Beaches reachable by a quick water taxi ride • Pronatours Tour Desk • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Two pools and a spacious Jacuzzi • Two Snack Bars • Full Service Marina with Aries Sports fishing Fleet • Access to facilities of three nearby El Cid hotels and El Cid Golf & Country Club by complementary shuttle • WIFI Internet Access • Only 20 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Cid Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid
El Cid Marina Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Hotel
El Cid Mazatlan Mexico
El Cid Marina Mazatlan
Mazatlan El Cid
Hotel El Cid Marina Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.