We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid Marina Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Sale: Up to 63% Off
Ranked #1 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went this March 2013 had one really large room with a huge jacuzzi bath, one of the beds was quite hard but main was was fine, i would really recommend this Hotel staff were fab, food excellent , beach was cleaned every day and plenty to do. would love to return, maybe we will,? but so many places to see in the world, but would recommend this to anyone thinking of staying there. :-) Wendy . Guernsey . CI.

Room Tip: Sea views i would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear: Sir or Lady

El Cid Marina Beach Hotel thanks you for posting your comment. We are so pleased you chose our hotel in your recent visit to our fabulous city! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your great experience. We take tremendous pride in our hotel and its employees and it’s nice when a guest has taken notice. We do hear a great deal about our beach and food & beverage service.

We really like to thank you for your recommendation and we are honored to be the hotel of your choice if your return trips to Mazatlan. We really hope to see you again.

My best wishes,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    555
    186
    53
    23
    9
See reviews for
244
317
33
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

on our previous visit to Mazatlan, we stayed at the el cid moro and found the location in the tourist zone to be overwhelming. This time around, we decided on the el cid marina for a quieter location (friends of ours own wyndham points). The hotel has rooms overlooking the marina and the ocean although all the ocean view rooms seem to be booked by long stay time share owners. we had a one bedroom room overlooking the marina with a balcony which did not get much sun. the resort is well maintained, clean and staff are friendly and courteous. rooms were cleaned every day. mattresses were a bit hard. the resort has two swimming pools, one is heated and one is not. several poolside activities are available for guests. there is a very small beach with six lounge chairs but you're not right on the water so i would not call this a beachfront property. you have to take a water taxi (few minutes ride) to the actual beach but once you get to the beach, it's quiet and is serviced by hotel staff who serve food & drinks. only one hawker on the beach so it was very pleasant to lounge and relax. they have one restaurant on site and the food was average so we chose to eat all our meals out. shuttles are available to their other resorts and bus service is also conveniently available outside the hotel. we were celebrating my husband's birthday and upon arrival, they sent some chocolate covered strawberries to our room (complimentary).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear: Sir or Madam

We appreciate and we want to thank you very much for your nice words you said about our hotel.

We are more than happy to see so many good comments about our services and about our staff. It is amazing to see that our efforts are reflected to this kind of reviews. There is no greater satisfaction for us than seeing happy and pleased guests.

We promise to keep up and even improve the job we do here for you and everyone else who comes to Mazatlan and wants to convince that El Cid Resorts is the best choice in town!

Thank you all for expressing your opinions here and we really appreciate your suggestions regarding to the hard beds…feedback is extremely valuable to us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked a week at the El Cid Marina Beach Hotel through a time share exchange program. It was a great price for us and we have family that live very close to the hotel so it seemed like the best option. Unfortunately my 2 year old ended up getting very sick and we actually had to cut our trip short (we left 4 days early).
As far as the room goes, it had a good view of the marina, however the room was musty and smelly. The bathroom area smelled horrible, i think it was a combination of someone smoking in the room previous to our stay, and the different cleaning products they use in mexico.
The hotel is NOT beach front. You have to take a water taxi to their private beach or go to a public beach elsewhere.
The pools were nice, however the pool closest to our room was heated(we had to walk what seemed like a quarter mile to the other pool), and it felt like I was taking a hot bath. I dont think its neccessary to keep the water that warm in Mexico in March. After we ordered some snacks poolside, my husband had to go stand by the bar and wait to pay- and observed one of the cooks wiping his nose and preparing food in the same stride, ew.
This particular hotel only has ONE restaurant on site, and its a buffet. They do own two other hotels close by with more restaurants so their website included those restaurants and it makes it seem like there are more on site dining options than there really are.
The first night we went to the restaurant we requested a high chair for our child, and the host said they only had one high chair and it was currently occupied. He said they normally have two but someone took the other one to the pool and he didnt know what happened to it. We ended up going back to our room and ordering room service. Each day we ate at the hotel for breakfast and the high chair was NEVER available. We had to struggle eating each day with one of us holding our son on our laps. Why do you only have one (or sometimes two, supposedly) high chair available at the ONLY restaurant in a large hotel? Very inconvenient.
My last gripe is something we frequently encounter all over Mexico at different hotels, getting hassled by "guest services" to take a timeshare tour. We got stopped on our way to our room after checking in, and I was also stopped again that night. I had a chance encounter with a representative in the lobby and she knew everything from my name, room number and even how we paid for our trip off the top of her head... It was creepy and annoying.
The only good thing I have to say about the hotel is that when we left early, we were able to transfer the room into someone elses name(we had a big family event that weekend) so our pre-paid week did not go to waste. I dont know if other hotels would do that and it seemed very accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear: Andrea A

On behalf of Hotel Marina El Cid we want to thank you for your recent review, and for let us know our remarks to your experience, I'm glad to receive a feedback from our customers whether there positive or negative as it helps us to improve our service and strengthen our areas.

Its surprise me to read that we are not we were unable to meet your expectations in our Hotel, I took note of each one of your inconvenience to make them reach each one of the departments involved and take the necessary measures to avoid this from happening again.

I do regret the experience in the pool bar, we are constantly training our employees in handling the food, and we are certified in food control national and international, we will strengthen again with all of them to prevent this situation from happen again. In regards to the child seat, we have ordered for there to be sufficient in our restaurants so there won´t be any problems .

We are constantly looking for ways to improve upon our guest experience and welcome any suggestion. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have been a guest at the resort 4 times in the past 3 years. The staff has been extremely friendly and attentive to our needs. We have been upgraded to the 3 bedroom suite, and a 2 bedroom suite on 2 occasions and could not have been happier. The food was excellent and we took advanatge of all the restaurants at all the Mazatlan locations. Fidel, Abraham and Angel (Luis) have remembered us from previous stays and couldn't be any nicer to us. We will certainly be coming back as soon as we can! Mark and Donna

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear: Mark & Donna

Many thanks for taking time and effort to share your wonderful experiences to the readers of the Trip Advisor.
We are very glad to read about your kind review and nice service provided from Fidel, Abraham and Angel (Luis), specially to know that you enjoyed our hotels. Each guest comment is without a doubt an opportunity to all the team members.
I look forward to welcoming you once again to the hospitality of our hotel and to ensuring your experience with us is once again enriching and distinctive.

Warm greetings

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We prefer El Cid Marina Beach Resort in Mazatlan over the El Moro Tower because it is a newer more modern facility. The food and service are impecable. You can request a room on the ocean although most rooms face the marina and the boats are fantastic. Only downside is the extremely hard mattresses in some of the buildings. Otherwise it would be 5 stars! Be aware that it is a little bit north of the main shopping area, but there are free shuttles between El Cid properties and the pulmanias and bus are also available. We walked it daily, but it may be too far for some.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear: Larndt,

Many thanks for your recent review to El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. I’m so glad to read your recommendation regard your great experience with us, it is so nice to know that you are able to enjoyed our nice rooms and beautiful views to La Marina, also we are so happy to see the food & beverage are on your expectations.

I know that your positive review will be the deciding factor for many guests who are in two minds about where to stay. Reading your review really does make it worth it and I will make sure to post your review in our employee lounge.

We are taking note of all your recommendations regards to the hard beds and the shopping areas to prevent this inconvenience to our future guest:

When you return, please contact me personally if there is anything I can do to make your stay with us more comfortable.

Sincerely,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Rooms exceeded our expectations. Kitchens were small but well equipped. If you are lucky enough to have Alma as your maid, you will return to a room that is maid daily as if you first arrived. A continuous supply of fresh towels are available.
From our patio we enjoyed watching the sunrise, sunset, and the coming and going of yachts and sailboats; tecate in hand with fresh lime, of course.
Armando was the man to make things happen, go directly to him to make sure your stay is ok.
During our stay we had a serious medical situation that the house doctor was able to resolve which prevented us from a Mexico emergency room visit. This was a more ideal resolution opposed to spending the evening in a foreign ER.
Leonardo welcomed us to El Cid. Ask for him when you arrive for a thorough tour of the property and accommodation.
Seek out a minute mart near the hotel as the one on property was extremely high priced-best for your one off needs.
Try to get your hands on a tourist bus map (printed by stores on bus routes in town). Busses were easy to catch outside the resort for 7-10 pesos which was a substantial savings over taxis and make sure you spends at least one day in Centro.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear: sissy1980

I appreciate you taking the time in giving us your honest feedback about your stay for this helps us understand what it is we need to work on as well as letting us know that
We are heading in the right direction. Rest assure that Alma and the rest of my staff will be giving the recognition they deserves for great service, I am glad they

Were able to help you in your time of need especially with the circumstances you were in. It´s good to know you found our facilities to be so great we always try to keep everything in order and work really hard doing so, it feels good when it is taking notice. I hope you come and visit us again soon please let me know if you need help with anything in any future visits I will be more than happy to assist.

Sincerely,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV and Seaside Park, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at El Cid Marina for 2 weeks and enjoyed it very much. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the sun and pool (which was heated). The ocean was too cold to venture in. The activities staff did a great job each day. There was not much variety to the scheduled activities but they did manage to get people involved whether it was darts, water aerobics, bingo, pool volleyball or blackjack. All the staff at the Marina are very pleasant, friendly, cordial and quite helpful. They really try to make your vacation memorable. The resort is very well maintained as well as the units. The only negative is having a lock off next to you. We had a one bedroom unit but had a number of people staying in the lock off next door. The noise, especially with younger children, can be a bit much. We did not do all inclusive since part of the reason of going to Mazatlan is dining out in all the good restaurants available. If you want a more active resort then stay at El Cid Moro Beach or just use their shuttle to get to the other properties.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor so no one will be walking above you or moving furniture around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear: cjmzsc,

It is always nice to be recognized when you put in a little extra work and your wonderful comments can benefit enormously El Cid team's atmosphere. Thanks to positive feedback from our guests who wanted an unforgettable experience, we always try to be different and created new programs or improvised with our customers to offer something for everyone to enjoy. We work hard to maintained our Hotel and constantly make renovations.

Thank you so much for you recommendation, the next time you come and visits Mazatlan, remember we are here to serve you!

Kind Regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Marina Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and first class services of one of Mexico's finest beachfront properties located just five minutes from the cultural epicenter of Mazatlan's Golden Zonewith attractive shops, restaurants, nightclubsand El Cid Golf & Country Club. This premier Mediterranean-style hotel is the preferred secluded spot for families who want to reconnect or couples looking for romance. Defined by our unparalleled hospitality, amazing marina-front location, inviting swimming pools, tranquil private beach and tantalizing cuisine, El Cid Marina Beach offers an unforgettable vacation experience. • Beautifully Appointed Suites • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Upscale Atmosphere • Secluded Golden Sandy Beaches reachable by a quick water taxi ride • Pronatours Tour Desk • Two pools and a spacious Jacuzzi • Two Snack Bars • Full Service Marina with Aries Sports fishing Fleet • Access to facilities of three nearby El Cid hotels and El Cid Golf & Country Club by complimentary shuttle • WIFI Internet Access • Only 20 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Cid Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid
El Cid Marina Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Hotel
El Cid Mazatlan Mexico
El Cid Marina Mazatlan
Mazatlan El Cid
Hotel El Cid Marina Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.