We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in Marina - Nice spot to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid Marina Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Staying in Marina - Nice spot to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We used the marina facilities as a visiting sailboat and found them to be very comfortable. There is some surge from the tide however the facilities are excellent and the staff both friendly and helpful. It is a great place to stay and relax for a while.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear: John M

I sincerely hope your visit soon to this Hotel, I'm really sure you will not change your first impression.
As you just all ready described El Cid Marina Hotel it’s a comfortable and relaxing please, we work together for the same proposed that is meet your expectation.
Please contact me if you decide to come to Mazatlan, It will be my pleasure to receive it personally.

Warm Greetings

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    548
    182
    53
    22
    9
See reviews for
237
315
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Arrowhead, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Another wonderful vacation at the El Cid Marina, thanks to the warmth of all the staff, from housekeeping, waiters, front desk, security, activities and even the woman who took care of our laundry! We love being away from the hustle of the tourist zone and having the option of going to either the beach or pool to kick back. And Martin, the pianist, never fails to play our favorite songs each year.

One incident stood out this year, in contrast to a recent reviewer's experience who lost two rings from her room. We left for dinner one night and forgot to lock the safe--as in, we left the cupboard door down and the safe door wide open. We had everything in there--all our cash, jewelry, passports, credit cards, etc. The evening maid turned down our bed while we were at dinner so she obviously had seen the safe wide open, yet nothing had been taken. Lucky? Yes, but not surprised.

We continue to return to this special resort each year, where we are consistently treated like VIPs but more importantly, like family. You might find bigger, fancier resorts with more onsite amenities, but you'll be hard-pressed to find customer service that matches the El Cid Marina. Muchas gracias a todos por otra vacacion inolvidable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear: alison98

First of all I would like to thank you for your loyalty to Marina El Cid Hotel and making us part of your vacation as it already has in previous years.

I'm proud that we meet your expectations and I really appreciate to mention of great job received from our departments, cleaners, waiters, reception, security, activities, laundry and pianist Martin.

Regarding the incident of the previous user, I appreciate all comments each and every one of them negative and positive are helpful to support growth of our company, and let us know our weaknesses and strengths.

Please let us know the next time you’re coming to the sunniest city in Mexico so we can take good care of you at our hotel, hopefully, for a longer stay.

Sincerely,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Don't make the same mistake I made by not using the room safe to lock up your jewelry. Two rings went missing from my room. They were not locked in the safe. In all the years we have been coming to Mazatlan we have never had anything like this happen. Those rings were extremely important to me. I have to say that Armando, the manager, was very professional in his handling this issue.

On a good note, we had an enjoyable experience listening to the musician who plays in the evening at the Marina restaurant. He played my husband's favorite songs. The waiters were very nice and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear: cocoliz

For I can read obviously we can’t meet your expectations, when l read this review I can’t imagine that you are talking about El Cid Marina

Such incidents are not acceptable for any reason, I'm sure it was a misunderstanding; our employees are honest people with many years of service, that is why I am surprised to see your note.

Your same can check with the rest of our comments, is that in truth it comes a misunderstanding and together with the security department we are in the research to find the motive of its lost

Our goal is to make sure that all guests feel as though they belong during their time with us and that each visit is a special one. Your valuable comments only assist us in ensuring that others will experience a warm welcome and 5 star services.

Hopefully in a not too distant future give us the opportunity to serve you again and change your perspective to what is now believes, don't hesitate to contact me if in your next visit come to Mazatlan, I hope I really hope be the hotel of your choice.

Happy Holidays

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just returned from Mazatlan! AGAIN! Happy, Healthy, Suntanned, and ready to go back. If you listen to the news, read the newspaper and hear about all the gangs and violence better look again and confirm where this is all happening...stay home .. We found El Cid Marina a better place to be. The staff the food,the accomodations, all of El Cid's properties are first class.

Room Tip: Not giving away any secrets to the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear: dbayersalmon64

We sincerely thank you for your positive review and for highly recommending our hotel.
all these comments about the violence in our city have been used only to push people away our this paradise is Mazatlan, when in reality it what is happening as you could see, that's why your comment is very helpful to encourage people to visit this great port and feel safe.

It gives me great pleasure and contentment to know that you were satisfied with the service given during your stay. I have conveyed your comments to my coworkers and thanked them for once again bringing satisfaction to our guests.

Enjoy the holidays and thank you for staying with us.

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

For one week, my wife and I received the best of service.
This included the office staff, the room maintenance & cleaning persons, the restaurant staff and the ground keepers.
They obviously enjoyed their work and all displayed a very friendly manner.
This resort is an excellent example of a "service oriented" organization!

Richard Imboden, Clarkdale,Az.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Mr. Richard Imboden

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is through guest feedback that we assess the standard of our service, and therefore amend it, so as to meet and exceed guest expectations.

Thank you also for highlighting the service you received at the office staff, room maintenance, cleaning persons, the restaurant staff and the ground keepers.

Should you make a return visit to Mazatlan (which I hope you do), please contact me directly as I would be most happy to offer you a far superior service to what you previously received.

Kindest regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were vacationing at El Cid Marina when Hurricane Sandy attacked our area. Nothing we could do, but ALL the personnel at El Cid did everything they could to help us out. The loaned us their US cells, checked with the airport for our flight, offered us additional days lodging if we needed it. The entire staff could not have been more accommodating!
LOVE the all inclusive, too!
Snorkeling trip was great!

Room Tip: Bring lots of $1's for tips. MUST have sunscreen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Sue w

I hope that when I get home there and found everything in order that your family is safe.
Our priority is the safety of our customers, that's why we take care of them every moment during your vacation, I like the comment and I can see a positive reaction caused you.
I am glad that our staff was helpful and I hope to see you back in the not too distant future.

My best wishes,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent a week at El Cid Marina through an Interval International Getaway. Our purpose was to practice speaking Spanish and boy did we practice! The staff, from Leonardo who brought us to our first room, to the second Leonardo who was so accommodating to switch our first room to a room with a balcony, to Fidel and Ramon at the Iguana Pool and the newest waiter at the Marina Restaurant, Alberto who went all out to keep us speaking Spanish! The wait staff is beyond reproach. We spent a few days at El Moro beach and the staff there was excellent. Playing Bingo (RIFAS) in Spanish was our biggest challenge! I have to say that the beach vendors were not pushy and even sat awhile and chatted in Spanish even if we didn't buy anything. Our room was very nice, and was cleaned every day. We didn't venture beyond the resort, and the shuttle service from resort to resort was always available. The Mexican Show at El Castilla was FANTASTIC! If you want to speak Spanish as a second language, come here! Even if you don't, don't hesitate because you won't be disappointed. Came back to NJ to face Hurricane Sandy. Good thing we were well rested.

Room Tip: The Marina resort is very quiet. Most of the rooms have a balcony. We originally checked into a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear: Karen P

Hopefully your family are well and safe, truly I really sorry what happened with that terrible hurricane, I truly hope to everything go well soon.

In other hand I want to thank you for your great review which you publish in Tripadvisor regarding your stay in El Cid Marina. I proud know that I have a great team who has helped us greatly to take care on your needs and make a wonderful vacation; Leonardo, Fidel, Alberto and Ramon receive a great mention for their effort.

Is good to know you are in our other hotels enjoying the service, at El Cid work by covering all the needs of our guests, which is why we have a variety of options, we are a team working for the same goal.

If for some reason decides to come to Mazatlan would love to be the hotel of your choice, will be my pleasure to welcome you personally.

Cordially,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cid Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Marina Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and first class services of one of Mexico's finest beachfront properties located just five minutes from the cultural epicenter of Mazatlan's Golden Zonewith attractive shops, restaurants, nightclubsand El Cid Golf & Country Club. This premier Mediterranean-style hotel is the preferred secluded spot for families who want to reconnect or couples looking for romance. Defined by our unparalleled hospitality, amazing marina-front location, inviting swimming pools, tranquil private beach and tantalizing cuisine, El Cid Marina Beach offers an unforgettable vacation experience. • Beautifully Appointed Suites • All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Upscale Atmosphere • Secluded Golden Sandy Beaches reachable by a quick water taxi ride • Pronatours Tour Desk • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Two pools and a spacious Jacuzzi • Two Snack Bars • Full Service Marina with Aries Sports fishing Fleet • Access to facilities of three nearby El Cid hotels and El Cid Golf & Country Club by complementary shuttle • WIFI Internet Access • Only 20 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your El Cid Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid
El Cid Marina Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Hotel
El Cid Mazatlan Mexico
El Cid Marina Mazatlan
Mazatlan El Cid
Hotel El Cid Marina Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.