We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach, Clean Resort, Close to town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Beach, Clean Resort, Close to town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This was our second visit to Pueblo Bonito and we loved it. The hotel is clean, the staff are wonderful and the resort is a manageable size. We have visited the emerald bay location, but prefer this as it is close to town and has a much better beach. The surf was great and the beach is the best and cleanest along the zona dorado. The rooms are clean, a bit outdated, but doesn't bother us. There was considerable street noise, but we were there over the New Years holiday. There are many local restaurants and shopping close by and it is easy to grab a taxi (pulmonia) or a bus to downtown or to the grocery store (Mega).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    230
    66
    28
    13
See reviews for
421
245
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spiritwoodsaskatchewancanada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

we travelled to mazatlan with three young adults and two more met us there from their journey from other parts of mexico.The hotel had everythig we wanted to keep us all happy extened family also met us there there was 11 all toghther and that is no easy task :) let me tell you.The service was great from the lobby to the food and pool and all services in between.A big thank you for making our first real family get away a success and our next one as great as we will be there for 16 days the first part of january cant hardly wait to be back at the hotel and enjoying everything they have to offer

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

my wife and i spent a week at PB mazatlan in early december. i had spent a ton of time researching places including reading the TA reviews. here is the deal. if you are searching for a place in mazatlan that provides top notch (not the glitziest; try emerald bay if that is your thing) accommodations and service, this is it. everything is neatly packaged right in front of you. every room has a very nice balcony and great ocean view. the rooms are spacious and very well taken care of by a wonderful service staff. the ocean and a great beach are only steps away. you cannot beat the service. folks are genuinely nice, pleasant and very helpful. here was our biggest surprise: the restaurants provide the best food we've experienced anywhere at a resort. it is wonderfully prepared and generous, especially the breakfast restaurant. to be honest, i have always thought that trip advisor was a good resource but one that you need to read carefully and completely. being slightly cynical, i have thought it was quite possible to drop in negative reviews if a competitor wants to dump on a spot and it's possible to drop in good reviews if you want to boost your own ratings. my wife and i do not fall in either category. we recently stayed at st. regis in punta mita and it also was lovely but much more expensive. we have stayed in other spots in puerto vallarta. pueblo bonito mazatlan is our favorite. do your own research and stay tuned to spots like orbitz way ahead of time so you get the best deal. if we had made our reservation two weeks before going, it would have cost us twice what i paid by making a reservation several months ago for air and hotel. you will love this spot. we will return. pg

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Pueblo Bonito is a real oasis. It is always beautifully cared for and decorated. The gardens, pool, lobbies, restaurants are gorgeous. Lovely just to walk around. Though others have said the rooms need to be "updated," I think it would be tragic to alter them too much. The pueblo-like architecture is charming. I think every room has a lovely balcony and ocean view. The beach is always clean and usually safe for swimming, as it's a bit protected by jetties and by a small island. I'm always glad to get back there after sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We booked two hotels in Mazatlan for our stay, Pueblo Bonito was our first...at the end of the visit we didn't want to leave!! The rooms were clean and warm, we had a nice private balcony, stunning views and excellent bathroom facilities. The local staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside was it was difficult to get a seat near the pool and the english speaking help-woman in the lobby was pretty rude. These minor things aside, it was a beautiful, authentic feeling hotel and will definitely be where we come back to in Mazatlan.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

We just tonight returned home from a 17 day stay in Mazatlan. We stayed at the Pueblo Bonito and loved every second of it. The rooms, heck, the entire hotel is sparkling clean but the pool area is the real gem here. It's the best we've ever experienced in Mazatlan and we have been there and stayed at other places numerous times. It has an amazing swim up bar shaded by a waterfall, and several smaller private terraces around the pool to lay in the sun. The grounds are beautiful and impeccably maintained and the beach is easily the BEST beach in the Golden Zone by far.

We had a 4th floor room (#423 junior suite, huge with a great sitting area inside and large balcony outside, kitchen) overlooking the main pool area and the view was to DIE for. Palm trees, pool, Bird Island and an amazing sunset each night. Just gorgeous. Internet service was pretty good, only slow at times when the connection was 'low'. Also, there are SO many great eating places, many are very close by and you can walk to them. One is 'Fat Fish'. Awesome ribs/steak and the best hamburgers ever for VERY cheap! They have a special that we partook in several times...ribs, steak or shrimp with potato, salad etc. two entire dinners for 160pesos (less than $16USD!!!) Definitely one of the best deals and VERY close to Pueblo Bonito. A must try! Great food places abound in Maz, just ask a few locals or maybe the gringos you meet that live here long term. We never ate at any of PB's restaurants as we like to get out a lot and try places that are off the beaten path. We also never ordered room service as it is kind of pricey and we stocked up with munchies and breakfast stuff (cereal, milk, fruit, yogurt) when we arrived. Another GREAT restaurant that we found is down on Olas Altas, along the seawall called "Cueva De Leon" (The Lion's Den) Best tortilla soup you will ever have if that is your thing. We would never have experienced it if we hadn't met/chatted up an ex-pat while riding the bus!!! Thanks Joel! ;) "Topolo's" in Centro is fabulous, and the atmosphere and food are amazing. It is THE place for a nice romantic dinner. "Il Mosto" at the Machado also has great food and it's lovely to eat outside at tables on the square itself with the trees all lit up.

Another tip..Although the pulmonias are fun and convenient, the busses are just as easy and cost mere pesos. Any bus that says 'sabalo' on it will take you all the way down to the hisotric Centro area and the Mercado. You don't even have to be at a bus stop, you can flag them down anywhere you happen to be walking and they will stop for you. It doesn't get any easier! We saved tons by taking the bus a lot. Very very easy, don't be intimidated to do so. They stop every few minutes. The older non air conditioned ones are I believe it was 7 pesos and the newer green busses have air conditioning and are I believe 9 pesos (less than a buck) EASY way to save quite a bit of cash ;)

The service here at PB is unbeatable. All of the employees the bellhops, maids, pool attendants, concierge, front desk...all of them are there to make you happy and to insure that you have a relaxing stay. Oscar at the pool treated us like royalty and was so much fun to interact with. In fact ALL of the pool staff are great at their jobs and seem to really enjoy interacting with the guests. As for the timeshare push, this occurs EVERYWHERE in Mazatlan, on the sidewalks, in the hotels, some restaurants, heck cars will even stop and they will jump out at you and ask you to attend a presentation. Nowhere will you be immune. A simple 'No Gracias' or 'No Thanks' will suffice and then just keep walking. It's really no big deal and doesn't hurt anybody's feelings etc. Heck, we saw the same folks a lot and had several funny conversations/interactions with many of them. It's just part of Maz. Just decline and move on, don't let it ruin your day. :) You get better at this the longer you are there.

The only suggestion I have is SO minor I almost don't want to mention it, BUT...It would be nice if they could flip the mattresses in the rooms!...Silly sounding I know, but both of the beds were so concave on the side next to the nightstand, that you were continually rolling to the one side of the bed. I do have to say though, that even with that minor complaint the beds are still MUCH better than the beds we have had in other hotels. In our experience VERY VERY hard beds are the norm at many resorts here....Sheets were clean/fresh and they will change them and the towels as often as you wish. Great shampoos/soaps from Bath & Body Works too. The rooms are pretty sound proof as far as other guests, the only noise we heard at night was fireworks at the neighboring hotel and that was only once or twice and it wasn't that late. You will also hear during early evening hours some traffic noise/horns etc from Cameron Sabalo but it isn't bothersome in my opinion. The kitchen is well stocked too with all of the basics. We had a cooktop, full size fridge and microwave, blender, toaster, dishes, silverware, glassware etc......Everything we could need. Highly reccommend that you catch the bus to the 'Mega' store to stock up on snacks etc for your room. Is a wonderful grocery/variety store, way cleaner than most I've been to in the states. There is also a Sam's Club and of course WalMart, both are easy bus rides.

Another tip...there is another restaurant very close by, called "Heather's Place", run by a Canadian ex-pat. The food is okay, not great.. but what is really cool is that she has a TON of paperback books on shelves inside that you are free to take with you to the beach, your hotel etc and read. It's a large book exchange, free to take and leave books as you wish. Otherwise it isn't easy to find paperbacks in English in the area. I know, I've tried!

Oh, almost forget, another high point of PB for me was the fitness center. Wow...Very clean and kept cool and top of the line equipment, recumbent bikes, some weight machines/free weights and awesome treadmills that appeared almost new with built in tv's and fans. Haven't seen this nice of a fitness facility in any other place I've stayed in Maz..

So, that is it...We have been fans of Costa De Oro (a bit more casual a place) for a very long time and were skeptical that we would like this place as well as we did Costa. Well, sorry Costa, but we are now converts to PB! It will most definitely be our home base on our next Mazatlan vacation. Other than flipping the mattresses don't change a thing!!! Great job you guys!!! :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed at PBM the first week of a 2 week vacation in Mazatlan as an RCI exchange and were extremely pleased with this resort. The contributions to Trip Advisor helped make our vacation enjoyable (check out the forum, too!)

Here are a few comments and suggestions:

-E-mail a request about a week prior to your visit for your room choice. We stayed in a studio on 4th floor of older section and it was great. Preferred it over a Master Suite for just the 2 of us.

-After checking in, take a bus to Mega to stock up on snacks and beverages and then take a taxi back.

-We were fortunate to hook up with an American/Mexican taxi driver named Freddy! You can e-mail Freddy at [--] or call his cell at [--] to make prior arrangements. He was very dependable, honest and informative!

-As suggested by a previous contributor, rent a boogie board from one of the beach vendors. We rented 2 for 300 pesos for the entire week. It was so much fun!

-Do not be afraid of the timeshare presentation for PBEB. We were given a $150 credit for resort charges and it was not too much pressure once they realized we were not interested in purchasing.

-Speaking of timeshare pressure, once you are outside of EB, you will be bombarded by offers for free breakfasts and $$$ to take tours. If you are not interested, you can tell them you live in Mazatlan or are leaving tomorrow.

-If you do purchase a timeshare and regret it, head to profeco downtown within 5 business days to officially rescind your purchase. Read the forum regarding scams!

-Cilantro's, right at the resort, has one of the most amazing views of any restaurant at sunset---and good food, too! We also frequented the deli for pretty inexpensive meals and then dined on our balcony!

-There are many other restaurants within walking distance. One of the best and least expensive was Juanita's across the street and down a couple of blocks. Not fancy but authentic! Fat Fish a little farther down has great ribs! Walking the beach you will find Diegos, Locos Locos, Tony's and Chili Peppers.

-Happy Hour is 11-12 and 4-5, I think. There is also a drink of the day, 2 for 1 all day. You can discretely take your own drinks to the pool and beach also.

-WiFi in rooms if you bring your laptop or there is an internet cafe across from the deli.

-You can take the free shuttle to PBEB and enjoy the amazing pool there.

--Hope this helps and have a great time at a wonderful resort!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#7 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
#25 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#30 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 647 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#8 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.