We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful about the Emerald Bay timeshare presentation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
San Dimas, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Be careful about the Emerald Bay timeshare presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Loved Pueblo Bonita Mazatlan with one exception. They pitch visiting the Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay timeshare presentation offering a $200 credit towards spending at Pueblo Bonito, a free breakfast buffet and a Mazatlan tour.

They say that the presentation only takes 90 minutes, but they don't count the time at breakfast or the time the sales person tries to close. In the end, we wasted four hours, the buffet was the worst Mexican food we had in a week in Mazatlan and the sales person was high pressure and didn't understand the meaning of NO!.

Be careful about what is excluded from the $200 credit. We thought we had easily used it up, but came short because of what wasn't covered. And, the city tour was a total waste of time. After 2.5 hrs., we left the tour. At least 75% of that time was spent in places they took us to shop. If we had stayed, in the end they would have taken us to Senor frogs for dinner which of course we would have to have paid for.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    172
    55
    25
    11
See reviews for
180
193
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I know that sounds odd, but.... as soon as you drive up you can smell the hotel before you get through the doors. I investigated, because it smelled so fresh and clean, and found out that Pueblo Bonito makes their own cleaning solution with what appears to be lavender. Yum! The staff here are so friendly and really helpful. The pools are big and clean and right on the beach and you can't reserve beds so there is always lots of room. The pool food is the best we have had in Mexico and good value. The rooms are basic but clean with all amenities. I rated the sleep quality a 4 of 5 because the "pull out bed" is awful (you would get a better sleep on a pool lounger) If you can afford it, Angelo's (the Italian restaurant attached to the hotel) is a special treat!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Has the heading suggests this was a perfect Hotel/Resort
On arrival I asked for the accommodation to be in the older section,it was great the style is very Mexican our view was the Flamingo's and the pool/ocean could not ask for better.
This hotel from the moment you arrive smells amazing my daughter and tried to find out what they use but its made especially for Pueblo Bonito.The lady who cleaned our apartment was really sweet and efficient in fact all the staff were very friendly from the reception,waiters,cleaning staff and Deli girls
Each day they did the usual activities, volley ball,bingo,exercises ,salsa lessons,
Everyday 11-12 & 4-5 was happy hour thats really the only time the drinks are reasonable .......$3 Coke $4.50 Beer $8 cocktail of course half price at happy hour
Lunch is pretty good Sandwiches & Salads between $10-$15.......We didnt eat at the Restaurant its pretty pricey .....Outside the hotel to the right 4 blocks on the left there is a Italian with 2/1 Pizza's very good we had a $30 wine 2 Pizza's 1 Lasagne 2 Ice Cream our bill was $60
El Paraje down 2 blocks on the right they do Lobster Feasts Lobster / Fillet Minion or Ribs inc All you can drink margaritas $25
If you dont need all that food their New York Steak is $10 just ask 1 cooking up ie rare = medium rare,medium rare = medium
To go to the old town its 9 pesos bus outside hotel
Mazatlan does not have a real heart there is the old centre town buts its very local no restaurants really .........There is a Shopping Mall its pretty good lots of different fashions to Nrth America,Good Prices , Food Court with lots of your Favorites .Sushi is big here
There is a Sushi Restaurant 60 peso cab ride from the hotel Sushi Loco its really good they speak no english at all so its very hit and miss . I thought it was pretty expensive their rolls are enormous but 5 rolls ( enormous 10 pieces ) 3 cokes , chicken & veggi plate $80
They have FREE WIFI the desk will give you the code its pretty slow but its fine for checking mail and writing reviews

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Our stay was from April 14- 24 2010. We loved the hotel!
The style is very Mexican – lovely tile, terracotta colours, wood, fish ponds, gardens, aviaries… all surrounded by the sound of the crashing waves – heaven!
I went with my 13 year old daughter, her friend and my mother. The hotel had plenty to offer all of us.
We spent the majority of our days on the beach basking in the sun and playing in the waves. The pools are lovely as well. I found them to be a perfect temperature. There is a hot tub – cute and tucked away with a waterfall. Also a small pool on top of the cascade bar – we only discovered this towards the end of our vacation.
Lots of beach vendors… I didn’t find them to be overly pushy, but I speak a little Spanish and enjoy chatting with them. I found the simple bracelets, wraps and dresses to be less expensive on the beach than at the market.

We stayed in room 4011, overlooking the pueblito pool. We had reserved a 1 bedroom suite and lucked out and received one with a nice view and 2 bathrooms (a huge bonus for 4 women sharing a room!). Bedroom has 2 double beds and a pull out in the living room. The beds are a bit small for 2 adults so I opted for the pull out. It is hard foam, but it was fine for me. Waking up to the sound of the waves and seeing the water when first opening your eyes made up for the bed! The kitchenette is well equipped for 6 people. Margarita jugs and glasses included! Toaster, coffee maker, pots, pans, knives, cutting boards, lime squeezer, coffee filters, etc etc. Soap and towels provided for dishes. The maids do not do dishes, but put them away for you. They will but for a $50 peso cost. We went into town to the large MEGA store for supplies for the week. Small store across the street was good for stocking up our beer and water supplies. The hotel water is purified and you can drink from it. We didn’t use it to fill up water bottles, but brushed our teeth with it and drank it occasionally with out any problems.

Staff at the hotel are really lovely. They are friendly, warm, and speak English if needed. We had an electrical failure in the kitchen one morning (don’t use the stove, coffee maker and toaster all at the same time!!) and within 5 minute of calling the front desk all was again in working order.

Food at the resort is good, but I found it to be rather spendy at the restaurants. We did the timeshare tour at Emerald Bay (lovely resort, but the Mazatlan location and style is more to my liking) The $200 food\beverage credit from that paid for lots of poolside drinks and lunches. Canadians are only eligible for the credit if your stay is booked through a travel agent – not if you’re there on timeshare or have booked through the hotel.

Armando the shrimp vendor is down on the beach in front of the pueblito pool from 7:30 am each day – wonderful shrimp!! Approx $180 pesos per kg and they are fresh, huge and delicious. He peels them for you if you like. Made for a truly great lunch one day.

The location is great – short walks to lots of little restaurants. Chili’s Pepper is good and a 5 minute stroll down the beach. From the main road there is the Purple Onion, El Paraje (the Place) and Los Zarapes all within a 5 min or less stroll. A short Pulmonia cab ride (40 pesos) is the golden zone with plenty more restaurants to choose from. We took the bus into Centro and enjoyed all that the old town and Plaza Machado had to offer. A must if you visit Mazatlan. Also venture over to Olas Altas and walk the malecon at sunset.
Free wifi is available with a code from the front desk. The girls had access to the internet all over the resort (room, pools, beach). They used it with their iPods and found it to be very fast.

Mazatlan is a treasure and after visiting other areas of Mexico, a place I will certainly return to again. Enjoy your stay at PB Mazatlan. It is a great place to call home when on vacation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

I'm sure this is a fixable thing and the resort seems like they will. We stayed in Feb for a week (trade through RCI). Beautiful units although slightly dated. There was a kitchenette with lots of tiny tiny ants. Over any food, plates, pans, etc. The ants extended out into the bedroom too due to little cracks in the caulking. Again, not a huge deal. And resort was excellent in every other way. But....

Funny, we also stayed at El Cid El Moro Towers and El Cid Country Club. We liked this place better even with the ants. Just prettier.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

We are not owners but return to PBM each year for 6 yrs. We first started to visit Maz. in 1983 so have seen lots of changes and have stayed in a variety of hotels. When you step in to check in you are remembered. When you sit at the pool you are remembered. Stop at Cilantros and you are remembered. It is a great friendly place. We always have a night cap at Cilantros and Angel is right on the spot with our drink. Even tho we don't eat there often the wait staff all know us. Ernesto and Miguel were aware that we had a personnel concern. With out hesitation they offered to do us a great favor. All the views are great, the palm trees add to the picture. We find the beds very comfortable. When my husband went bottom fishing the cook fixed our fish for a wonderful dinner. I have been trying to think of a negative and I can't. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We just returned from 10 days at Pueblo Bonito-Mazatlan Resort. Our Jr. Suite was nicely decorated. It's not a brand new hotel so don't expect the Ritz but it has been kept up well. We thoroughly enjoyed having a kitchenette that had a decent size refrigerator. We opted for a Jr. Suite rather than a deluxe suite as the internet room diagram showed the bedroom without windows, but once we were there I did see rooms that the bedroom and living areas both had balconies or patios. So if that is what you are looking for, you'll have to call the hotel direct to get that type of room. Most evenings found us sitting on the balcony watching the most beautiful sunsets. As far as I could tell all rooms have an ocean view of some sort.
Even though it is not an all-inclusive hotel, activities are scheduled at the pool and beach area beginning at 9:00 a.m. each day. The activities staff are a hoot and seem to really love their jobs. Paulina is adorable and so much fun. All activities are free except for Bingo and Blackjack, which are $1 each.
There are some beach vendors, but not as many as there are on the beach at Pancho's restaurant. The vendors on Pueblo Bonito's beach do not approach you unless you motion to them, so the beach was very enjoyable.
There is a special drink each day which is 2 for 1 all day long, and happy hour is 11:00-noon and 4:00-5:00 p.m. each day which means all drinks are 2 for 1 during those hours. We highly recommend the Monkey Bar, which is an adult chocolate banana drink with a nice kick to it.
Negative: We were told upon our arrival that the hotel had overbooked and they were sending us to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay to stay. My husband threw a fit and front desk finally said he would "find us a room" if we would spend out first night at Emerald Bay. Emerald Bay is WAY OUT THERE and not close to anything. So we were sent out by taxi, rather than their making us wait for the regular shuttle. Emerald Bay is brand new and very lovely -- but it is a village unto itself and not what we had in mind at all. To get from there to Centro Mazatlan it would be a $15 taxi ride one way, $10 to Golden Zone. Emerald Bay does have a free shuttle that will take you as far as Pueblo Bonito-Mazatlan and then it's $5 to the Golden Zone or $10 to downtown. When we returned to P ueblo Bonito the next morning at 10:00 a.m., lo and behold, our room was ready so we could check in. Wouldn't that mean they had a room last night??? Obviously, that was very upsetting to us as we felt they had only sent us to Emerald Bay to try to sell us a time-share, condo -- and believe they pushed REAL hard on that. No doesn't seem to be in their vocabulary. Other than the time-share problem (don't answer your phone in your room because that's who is calling!), we thoroughly enjoyed out stay at this resort and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.