We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort with tons of Activities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
hh1171
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Resort with tons of Activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

This resort is beautiful! It's a bit smaller than it's sister site, Emerald Bay, but that's why I love it. It's quiet and quaint and the staff are all so friendly, you couldn't ask for a better atmosphere. Plus, they have a free shuttle service to the Emerald Bay Resort so you can enjoy their humongous pools any time you want. This place offers two pools and jacuzzi, with flamingos casually walking around them. The activities staff are great and seem to know all of the guests by name. There's always something to do around the resort. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    152
    49
    25
    11
See reviews for
140
172
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

I've read a few reviews and was a little concerned on arriving that the hotel was on a main road. After checking in, it was off to the room. Room 2020 is a corner junior suite with 2 double beds, a kitchenette, bathroom, lounge, huge wraparound balcony which overlooks the beach and the sea. What a fantastic room location. On entering, the room smelt a littly musty - however it is clearly due to the humidity in the area and after 2 hours of fresh air the smell was gone. The aircon was already switched on and the room was nice and cool.

Off to the restaurant Cilantros for lunch. The menu was a little pricey for the food (although the desserts are well priced and very very tasty).

There are two swimming pools and 1 jacuzzi. The towel service was great and is open from 8am - 8pm.

Went up to the sister hotel, Pueblo Emerald Bay and were able to use the Mazatlan Room number for all of our orders for food and drink. The champagne brunch at Emerald Bay on a Sunday morning is clearly an event and has only the freshest tastiest food around.

Back at Pueblo Mazatlan, every member of staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, right down to a well stocked deli (you can cater for yourself if you want - there are kitchenettes in each room)

Having only been to Cabo and Mazatlan, I would say that Mazatlan is not really the spot for the social single - more for couples, families and people who don't necessarily want to party the night away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

This hotel was beatifully decorated with oldy style mexican walls, paintings, and landscaping. We had a one bedroom suite. Our view was of the pool and ocean.

We walked out on this long walkway thing that is right outside our hotel. You can see a nice view of the other islands along the coast which they call wolf island, bird island and also a nice view of the shoreline.

There were caged iguanas outside by the pool. There were 2 large pools which both had snack/drink bars on the side. One of the bars were located under a swim up waterfall with underwater stools.

We had the giant seafood platter for dinner in the restaurant fronting the beach and watched the sunset. There are many street peddlers on the beach. Just ignore them if you don't want to get your meal disturbed.

We had dinner at the italian restaurant fronting the street. They had live music which was a man singing and also the piano playing. It was really romantic.

The staff was very super friendly and made the trip very enjoyable.

We worked out in the gym. It wasn't so awesome. The treadmill was not up-to-date. There is a skinny winding staircase to get to the tiny second floor area.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN, CA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed from May 2 to May 9 at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan on an RCI bonus week. We had just come from a week at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset in Cabo. What a difference! The Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan is small and charming compared to the sprawling grounds at the Sunset. The view from our balcony was awesome and everything is right there within walking distance. The rooms were done in traditional Mexican flair and they were so cozy! The food at Cilantro's was really good as well as the pool food. The activities were all fun and everyone was so helpful and nice!

The hotel was pretty empty due to the swine flu so I cannot comment on the pool chairs. There were plenty to go around when we were there. You have to have a towel card and they take the serial numbers from the towels they issue and write them down!

The beach was nice and has huts to sit under. My husband was out there when the towel desk opened at 7AM the second day we were there and was able to get a hut on the beach. After that day (it was Sunday) there was always an open hut in the morning. There are alot of beach vendors but just say no and (hopefully) they will go on their way. I think the beach vendors were extra pushy when we were there due to the lack of tourists.

The Las Palomas Restaurant was only open for breakfast and also Mariachi Night on Wednesday. I am not sure if this was due to the flu or not. There are several restaurants nearby. We ate at Chili's Pepper down the street, we started out going to Tony's but upon exiting the taxi a guy came at us and talked us into going to Chili's Pepper. Again I am not sure if they were being this forceful because the flu has tourism down or if it is always like this. We had a platter of shrimp & lobster for 2--it was around 43.00 and included salad and a beer or margarita.

There is a small area across the street where you can buy souveniers. They are pretty reasonable. There is also a small spa there and I had a one hour massage for 28.00! It was not a fancy spa but it was well worth the 28.00! They also do facials and manicure or pedicure.

We had a great time! We are owners at the Sunset Beach in Cabo but we really like how small and charming the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan was. We are going to stay at Emerald Bay in October and we will visit the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan again for the day!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

I was there 9 nights in March 2009. 7 of those was thru a RCI exchange and 2 thru doing the Time Share presentation. I thought it was an excellent place with a great beach and pool. The activities were some of the best I've seen at a timeshare place. The service to the pools and beach was great. The food was good. Couple of drawbacks was you had to get up early to save a chair on the beach under a hut. Otherwise you were sitting on your towell with out any shade. When I mean early, i mean like 7 am. Also, I thought the maid service did not do the best job of cleaning. Just things like the bath tub were not cleaned that well and the floor always looked dirty. But, if you had a different maid, different experience I guess. Also, we kept the doors open to our balcony all night and listened to the ocean waves as we fell asleep. Very peaceful and the view was gorgeous. I would recommend this place again especially if you can get it on an exchange.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Just returned from a wonderful week at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan. Our group of four couples - "50 somethings" that like to have fun.
The hotel....is very charming, rooms w/ a mexican flair. Room 323 has an exquisite view of the sunset through the palm trees. The rooms were clean, staff was helpful and the beds were not the horribly hard uncomfortable things we've experienced in the past. Much time was spent joking with our waiters at the pool as they brought us buckets of refreshments. Although we did not eat at the restaurants on site, we enjoyed poolside sandwiches and snacks which were excellent.
Our first day - we went to the 90 minute timeshare presentation at the P. B. Emerald Bay....warning in advance we would not be purchasing any timeshare. They adhered to the 90 minutes and we were rewarded for our efforts with certificates allowing us to enjoy many cocktails at the pool during the week.
We have been to Mazatlan many times, staying at other resorts including the Hotel Playa Mazatlan......we enjoyed this one MUCH more and would definitely return.
The kitchenettes were used...we purchased fresh shrimp on the beach - 1 kilo for about $13 USD......There are 2 brothers that sell shrimp right on the beach each morning.
Munchkins across the street was a fun place. We dined at the Purple Onion and would not return. Just down the beach is "Chilie's pepper".....great breakfast, overlooking the ocean, fun staff.
Shopping: our favorite place is the Designers Bazaar, which is located down near the Hotel Playa in the golden zone. They have lovely things (decorative things for the home), not the cheap touristy type of items. Also have nice resort wear. We've purchased many items from them for years and are very happy they are still there.

Of all our stays in Mazatlan, we enjoyed this resort the most. The Pueble Bonito Emerald Bay is definitely a more luxury resort, but we enjoyed the charm, hospitality and location of this one much more. This staff was the best.

As a note about the Mexican people.....we left our camera in a plumonia riding from the MEGA to the hotel......we returned to the mega (supermarket). Our driver was not there, we talked w/ the other drivers and also the concierge at the Pueblo Bonito. Of course we could not expect to see it again, but it didn't hurt to make the effort. Two days later - the concierge called the room, the driver would be there between 8-9 AM to return the camera.
He was there........
and very appreciative of our show of gratitude!

  • Liked — location, beautiful grounds, staff,
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

This has been our family spot for about 15 years. We always go back around the same time (between late March and mid-April) for 1 week and the weather is always great! Pueblo Bonito is great because the rooms are spacious, clean and they have a large area which includes two pools, spas and restaurants. It's great for families. The also have a lot of activities during the day such as pool volleyball, bingo and other games. We find that the beach is usually great to swim in, and there are several big palapas for shade. They even offer a happy hour in the afternoon. The food is pretty good as well, but there is a lot of fabulous restaurants in town and for a much better value. The location is a little bit outside of downtown but not nearly as far as Emerald Bay. It's a quick taxi or bus ride. We love going every year!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;