We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

First off, this was the best beach we have stayed at to date. The sand is unbelievably soft and clean and perfect for the kids. The waves further out were excellent, and you could wake board or even take surfing lessons right at the resort. As well, with the all-inclusive package, you could order any drink or food to your spot on the beach without any charge. The only annoying part is that local vendors are allowed on the beach and continuously try to sell their products. They are very friendly though and do not harass, especially if you are polite to them. The pool and pool bar stay open until 8 or 9 pm as well, which is a welcome change from most resorts that close the pool at 5.

The food quality and service was fantastic all around. Enrique especially was an outstanding waiter; extremely patient with the kids and our large demanding family. Cilantros has excellent food and a view of the ocean that cannot be beat! As for restaurant selection, if you get bored of the options, you could always take the free shuttle (15min) to the sister hotel at Emerald Bay, and have a lot more selection there (at no cost with the all-inclusive). As well, just across the street to the hotel are endless options of restaurants and shops. Michael's gallery is a good place to get quality vanilla for a reasonable price. Lastly, we highly recommend going to the Emerald bay for Sunday morning champagne brunch. The food was unreal!

The rooms and decor at PB Mazatlan are somewhat dated but spacious and kept extremely clean. Beds are a little small and hard, but a minor complaint in the big picture. The wi-fi is an issue. Intermittent slow signal and costs $14/ day. If you attend the timeshare presentation, you can at least get the wi-fi for free.

While there are no bars open late at night in this resort, you can venture across the street and there are many options. Being integrated within the city was a nice change from being sequestered inside a remote resort. Many amenities within walking distance, including a highly recommended massage therapy spa. Lots to choose from and the further from the resort you get, the less expensive. We went to "Spa Marina" (3 min. away) every day for a massage for a fraction of the price as the hotel spa.

We took a nearby day trip with an eco-tourism company called "Onca" for whale watching and snorkeling with dolphins. This was truly an amazing experience!

Overall, we would highly recommend Pueblo Bonito. If you want a fantastic beach and excellent location, go with PB Mazatlan. If you want luxury and exquisite pools, go with PB Emerald Bay. Either way, you can take the free shuttle and enjoy both resorts!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pools/ ocean (vs. the front of the hotel which is a busy street).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    156
    51
    25
    11
See reviews for
143
172
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We have been going to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan for several years now and it is absolutely wonderful to be welcomed by Manuel when we arrive!! He always makes us feel so welcomed and makes our stay top notch by helping in any way....dinner suggestions, coupons, fast service and always with a great smile!!! I don't know what we'd do without him or Patty at the front desk, Elizabeth and Gabby in customer relations...and not to leave out Xuan and ALL of the outstanding waiters in the pool and beach area! They work like crazy and still keep on smiling and making you feel so special! This is our absolute favorite place to go and it's not only because of the quaint resort but because of the wonderful people that work there! Thank you once again for another great 3 weeks....see you next March!! Darrell & Sherri

Room Tip: All of the rooms have views of the ocean! We tend to stay on the "activity pool" side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Thank you Pueblo Bonito for a great week. I love the ocean view from my room. Most of all I appreciated all your staff. They made me feel welcome. Pueblo Bonito, Mazatlan has a great location on Camaron Sabalo close to small businesses and the bus stop.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polson, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We have been owners at Pueblo Bonito for 25 years. We look forwards to our visit every year. We were teachers and came every spring break. Now that we are retired we continue to visit to see the friendly faces and big smiles on the familiar employees. A beautiful resort with excellent restaurants and incredible pools. Stay here when you visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbard, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

very nice place very friendly workers great atmosphere and love the activities directors, Samuel & Cindy and Fermin. Been coming here every year since 1993 and will keep coming as long as able. The food at all the restaurants is terriffic and the view from Cilantros is the very best sunset I have ever seen.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I love this place people are so friendly its like a second home the beach is beautiful the only problem is the internet is way to expensive it should be free other then that it is perfect please keep it friendly oh you should also allow smoking atleast on the balconies

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We are here for a week and love this resort, but their wi-fi policy is a real deal breaker. They have no free wi-fi or internet access, anywhere, (although their website says they do in common areas), and if you want it, you must pay a whopping 14 dollars a day for the slowest, most inconsistent service I've ever encountered. You get dropped constantly and its really hard to connect.

Honestly, I simply can't understand why an otherwise wonderful hotel would want to rip off and frustrate their guests like this. It would cost them nothing to provide free wi-fi. Most of the cheaper hotels do. Had I known this, I might have seriously considered going elsewhere, like Torres Mazatlan, which is a very comparable property nearby that DOES offer free wi-fi. Get with it Pueblo Bonito. Find some other way to squeeze a few dollars more out of your guests! And upgrade your system.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.